RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2018, 04:58 PM   #1
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 508
Induction cook top

Discovered something new to me today concerning the two burner True Induction cook top as far as temperature settings. The settings can be set 1 thru 10 or 150-450 degrees. The discovery today was you cannot set both burners to the maximum temp. For example, if using the number scale, you can only set it so both burners equal 10 or less. Example: one burner set on 7 means the maximum the other burner can be set is 3. Trying to get two pots to boiling at the same time is challenging.
Most likely it is designed this way to prevent excessive amperage draw. IMO
__________________
John & Deb
Full Time since 2016
2016 Dutch Star 4369
Webz is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-20-2018, 05:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,632
From my own testing, a single burner will use up to 1540 Watts. With both of them running, I saw 1840 Watts on my Kill-A-Watt.
__________________
Mike
2000 HR Endeavor 40PBD, Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
Gut/Remodel Thread
slowmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 05:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ann n Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Posts: 4,629
Our 2016 Entegra is the same, 120 volt power is a limiting factor they tell us.
__________________
2019 Newmar New Aire
2017 Ford F150 King Ranch
Ann n Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 06:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bushy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webz View Post
Discovered something new to me today concerning the two burner True Induction cook top as far as temperature settings. The settings can be set 1 thru 10 or 150-450 degrees. The discovery today was you cannot set both burners to the maximum temp. For example, if using the number scale, you can only set it so both burners equal 10 or less. Example: one burner set on 7 means the maximum the other burner can be set is 3. Trying to get two pots to boiling at the same time is challenging.
Most likely it is designed this way to prevent excessive amperage draw. IMO
I, too, was a bit bummed when I learned that the TOTAL max is 10, not EACH 10. Still, when considering the speed at which it cooks and the remarkably easy cleanup, we still love the induction technology. We have grown so fond of induction in our RV that we changed out our electric conduction cooktop at S&B with a new induction cooktop there. It does not have the same limitation described by Webz. Love it!

RB
__________________
RB - North Dakota
2016 VTDP 3709
dragging a 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK Sahara
Bushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 06:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,433
I had an extra outlet installed as a special and installed two single units.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 08:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,285
Hi Winepress,

When you get a chance please take a picture. How did you get both plugs on separate breakers? Just ask or specify in the special?

Thanks
Canuck53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 09:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 261
It is my understanding that there are 240v versions of the double cooktops and a way to wire for them. Clearly easiest during construction. These versions don’t have the limitations of the 120v versions.
__________________
2005 Airstream 396 XL Land Yacht with Cat 330 C7
2016 Grand Design Solitude 369RL-R 5th Wheel
Wobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 09:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 37,006
Yep, that's the way the 120 volt True Induction units work. That's so they can run off a normal 15 amp circuit.
I have 240 available in my rig due to the 240 volt dryer it came with so I suppose I could use a 240 volt cooktop and do some rewiring but then I'd always have to be on 50 amp service or run the generator.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft, HWH Active Air
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 09:37 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
I also installed a 2nd 15 amp Kitchen circuit though I only have one induction burner.. like it, very nice, also have one Resistor type burner (Traditioanl electric) and a "Instant Pot" multi-cooker.. Liking those thigns. and a Air Fryer too.. Still do run into the occasional "More than 15 amps) issue though.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:01 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck53 View Post
Hi Winepress,



When you get a chance please take a picture. How did you get both plugs on separate breakers? Just ask or specify in the special?



Thanks


I am away and not with the DS right now, but it is just another outlet next to the original one. When I ordered it I specified the extra outlet to be on the opposite line of the existing outlet. They wired the extra outlet to be on the inverter circuit.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:17 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winepress View Post
I am away and not with the DS right now, but it is just another outlet next to the original one. When I ordered it I specified the extra outlet to be on the opposite line of the existing outlet. They wired the extra outlet to be on the inverter circuit.
Thanks when ever you get a chance then send me the picture via PM or post here.

Have you used the burner on the inverter?
Canuck53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 06:25 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
TWINCAMSAM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Yorktown
Posts: 413
Our 2014 MA has the conductive glass cooktop. Would it be wire differently making the the conversion to inductive easier? Perhaps two singles?
TWINCAMSAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True induction cook top problem Newmar 14 Newmar Owner's Forum 25 09-07-2020 10:39 AM
Induction Cook Top Michman66 Newmar Owner's Forum 46 10-30-2014 09:31 AM
NuWave Induction Cook Top, Beware! wil01 iRV2.com General Discussion 15 12-26-2013 12:10 AM
Electric or Induction Cook Top? bbott Entegra Owner's Forum 19 10-14-2013 05:44 PM
Induction Cook-Top Question JewelMcD RV Systems & Appliances 27 04-10-2013 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.