Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2021, 06:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 63
Interconnect Battery Cable Size

2016 DS 4369 on a FL Chassis with 8 ea 6v wet cell house batteries- I need to replace a couple of rotten battery interconnect cables on my house battery bank.

Does anyone know the wire size of those cables ?

1/0 AWG or 2/0 AWG

Thanks for any input on this :-)

Cheers,

Curt
flyingcash is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2021, 08:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ftharrisiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 287
The battery cables are 3/0 on my 2016 DSDP 4369.

My coach has 8 Discovery AGM batteries.
__________________
Tom & Linda
2016 Dutch Star 4369
2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
ftharrisiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 10:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,415
The jumpers between each pair of 6 volt batteries are about 1 ft long, so no need to be 3-0.

They carry 1/2 of the pairs amp draw and only 1/8 th of the total draw, so no need to be 2-0.

I would cut one in half to confirm but most likely 1-0 will be fine.

If your talking about the longer jumpers between each 4 battery bank, then 2-0 would be better.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 07:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 2,369
Here's a good source for replacement cables.

https://www.batterycablesusa.com/
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial, RR8S Chassis
Cummins 6C8.3 mechanical engine, 325HP, 3060 Allison
Towing 2014 Ford Explorer
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 12:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,149
What ftharrisiii said…

When I went with Lifeline AGM’s I replaced my cables with copper bar…. But…still have all the Newmar jumpers in a bucket in my garage. Peeled open the split loom and 3/0 welding cable 105 degree C cable was used by Newmar.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 12:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
redbaron73's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,437
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Martin View Post
What ftharrisiii said…

When I went with Lifeline AGM’s I replaced my cables with copper bar…. But…still have all the Newmar jumpers in a bucket in my garage. Peeled open the split loom and 3/0 welding cable 105 degree C cable was used by Newmar.

What thickness of copper bar did you go with? Did you make additional provisions for use as a busbar?
__________________
2022 London Aire 4551 * 2022 GD Imagine 2800BH * 2021 RAM 3500 DRW * 2020 Wrangler
HAM: WD4LOW NHSO (Newmar Hoot, Sevierville Original)
Kindness Matters
redbaron73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 07:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingcash View Post
2016 DS 4369 on a FL Chassis with 8 ea 6v wet cell house batteries- I need to replace a couple of rotten battery interconnect cables on my house battery bank.

Does anyone know the wire size of those cables ?

1/0 AWG or 2/0 AWG

Thanks for any input on this :-)

Cheers,

Curt
The fuse or circuit breaker on the output of the battery bank is sized to protect the cables. The breaker is intended to trip before damaging current is exceeded.

The first step in the design is to determine the system load. In this case power flows both ways. The larger of the two is used.

The second step is to choose the wire size needed to support the load.

The third step is to choose a circuit protector for that wire size.

The fuse or breakers then reflect the wire size to use.

What is the size of the output breakers? Are there more than one and if so what sizes are they? If complicated, please lay out the output configuration.
__________________
Paul Bristol
Kodiak Cub 176RD
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
Persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 06:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbaron73 View Post
What thickness of copper bar did you go with? Did you make additional provisions for use as a busbar?
I used 0.1875” x 1” Rectangular copper bar. It is overkill for the ampacity needed.

I would caution. What I did may bite me in the @$$. If you are using LiFePO4 then your terminals are probably wired to the cells…so torsional forces won’t damage the batteries. My Lifelines are probably a solid connection from the terminals to plates. The copper bars don’t flex like cables do…so this can be transferred to the terminals while bouncing down the road. I hope it does not someday cause a post to fail. So far, so good.

I did use a piece of the same copper bar on a bus bar barely visible below my 12v+ cutoff switch to the Magnum Inverter seen on the right (rear bulkhead). I sandwiched it between the dinky bar that came with the bus bar and my terminals rings…
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FEB2D8B1-FB54-45C5-9F13-66DFF79A1F7C.jpeg
Views:	7
Size:	299.9 KB
ID:	350854   Click image for larger version

Name:	EA1B880C-8580-4FC1-A6CA-A8457A88BF5A.jpeg
Views:	6
Size:	281.9 KB
ID:	350855  

__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, cable



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery interconnect cable NUTZ Maj.kangaroo Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 01-02-2016 09:19 PM
Hot battery interconnect relay mrk National RV Owner's Forum 7 07-05-2015 11:50 PM
Battery interconnect relay question IASM Country Coach Owners Forum 10 12-03-2014 09:56 PM
Battery Interconnect (Emergency Start) stays energized gorwig RV Systems & Appliances 8 08-23-2012 10:13 AM
Battery Interconnect Solenoid WSRG National RV Owner's Forum 8 03-12-2010 06:15 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.