Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2021, 06:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Dutchstar411's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 629
Is there a splitter for exterior campground cable input?

I can get the cable from the campground to work with the Televator TV but not on any of the other three. Where is or is there a splitter for this?

2015 Dutch Star 2018

Thanks
__________________
Ted & Nancy plus our fur kids Mr. Vincent & Miss Daisy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 3852
Dutchstar411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-01-2021, 09:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Metamora, MI
Posts: 4,639
Do you have a "Box of Buttons" where you select which cable source goes to which TV? Typically in the front overhead compartments.
__________________
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire Limited 4370 w/ Spartan K2 and Cummins 500hp
ASE Master Certified (a long.....time ago...)
Dav L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 02:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dutchstar411's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav L View Post
Do you have a "Box of Buttons" where you select which cable source goes to which TV? Typically in the front overhead compartments.
Not like what we used to have in our 2002 Dutch Star. I wish it was that easy. I do have the cable inlet in our power reel storage similar to our previous 02 Dutch Star but thats where it ends. Hopefully there is a splitter location I can connect the other tv's to.
__________________
Ted & Nancy plus our fur kids Mr. Vincent & Miss Daisy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 3852
Dutchstar411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dutchstar411's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 629
In my basement on the back wall there is a splitter with one in and three out. All my tvs are connected to a coax cable but only the televader works with the coax. Must be another splitter somewhere else.
__________________
Ted & Nancy plus our fur kids Mr. Vincent & Miss Daisy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 3852
Dutchstar411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 07:14 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach & Key West , FL
Posts: 2,761
On ours, the bedroom tv gets all the channels, the televator some, the one above the dash only a few, it think the outside one is about the same as the televator.
I found a splitter under the sink, way back near the slideout wall. Instead of a 2 way, they used a 4 way and didn't terminate the unused 2. I put terminator caps on those and it helped. But, somewhere there must be another 1 or 2 splitters that I haven't found.
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 08:08 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 129
My '04 DSDP has a splitter in the compartment with the inverter. I was having issues with trying to use the outside cable connection for my Wally Dish and it was a crap shoot. The splitter had a built in 10db pad and was dropping signal. I bypassed it and that helped. Didn't cure the problem totally but it did help. I don't use the cable input for regular TV anyway so repurposing it was the best option.
Fefanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 05:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Mr.Goodbar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 453
Our front TV and bedroom TV are the same brand, but operate slightly different. The front one, you just go into the menu and "Find channels" regardless of the input. The bedroom TV, you have to choose "cable" or "over the air" and then do the find channels.


Last week, I happened to remove the plastic cover at the top of the pegboard in the compartment, below the kitchen slide (passenger side) and there was a splitter for coax cable. The coax cable connection is in the shore power compartment.
__________________
Tom, Kathy & 2 Goldendoodles, Sandy & Lucy
2019 Newmar Ventana LE 3412, Freightliner XCR, Cummins ISB6.7, 2014 Honda CR-V FWD
Mr.Goodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:14 AM   #8
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Ga.
Posts: 48
Does anyone know where the "Box of Buttons" are on a 2017 DS or can you use cable if you have a satellite box installed?
__________________
Arty
2017 Dutch Star 4369
2011 GMC Canyon, 2006 Jeep Wrangler TJ Golden Eagle
Arty1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jabber Jaw's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: St. Augustine Fl
Posts: 378
Two recommendations; which came from a friend with a Ventana.

First; signal loss occurs through and "open end" on a splitter, so place a cap over it. And more important; the "gold plated" splitters have a better connection & little, if any, signal loss. Example below:

https://www.amazon.com/ANTOP-Antenna...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==


https://www.amazon.com/Ancable-Termi...4948654&sr=8-1



Second; most TV's today must have channels programmed into them.
Go to "broadcast" (or similar), channel scan, select cable (or OTA or Satellite), then scan. It will scan & place the channels into memory, & you should be good to go
__________________
Al & Mare, St. Augustine Fl,
2020 Newmar Canyon Star 3710
2017 GMC Terrain(toad) 2017 Colorado ZR2(toad too)
Jabber Jaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach & Key West , FL
Posts: 2,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty1313 View Post
Does anyone know where the "Box of Buttons" are on a 2017 DS or can you use cable if you have a satellite box installed?
No "Box of Buttons" on new coaches.... you select the input mode on the TV menu. Yes, you can use cable with satellite. Just select the input mode you want on the TV. Also, make sure the over the air antenna booster switch is in the off position if you are viewing on cable. The boost switch on our '13 DS is right behind the passenger seat in a very awkward are to access. Great thinking Newmar ! I hope newer ones are better located so you don't have to be a contortionist to switch it .
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 08:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,082
I haven’t traced the coax...but if I had to guess...

From your CABLE input in the cord reel bay...it travels to the Wineguard antenna booster panel. Then goes into the basement to the splitter... from that splitter...it goes to the different TVs.... Televator, Bedroom, (opt) Front Overhead, (opt) Outdoor, and a basement connection, next to HDMI port. If one TV works...I think most of the run is good...just individual coax from splitter to TVs. Also check INPUT selection on TVs... I have a coax tester...but I just used it to map my optional Carryout Dish cables so I could label them. I actually haven’t deployed my Carryout dish...but use the bedroom run frequently to carry the signal from the antenna to amplifier on my WeBoost RV65.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 08:49 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dutchstar411's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Martin View Post
I haven’t traced the coax...but if I had to guess...

From your CABLE input in the cord reel bay...it travels to the Wineguard antenna booster panel. Then goes into the basement to the splitter... from that splitter...it goes to the different TVs.... Televator, Bedroom, (opt) Front Overhead, (opt) Outdoor, and a basement connection, next to HDMI port. If one TV works...I think most of the run is good...just individual coax from splitter to TVs. Also check INPUT selection on TVs... I have a coax tester...but I just used it to map my optional Carryout Dish cables so I could label them. I actually haven’t deployed my Carryout dish...but use the bedroom run frequently to carry the signal from the antenna to amplifier on my WeBoost RV65.
Thanks for that. Where is the Wineguard antenna booster panel? I have an HD antenna on the roof that needs to be off in order to show the campground feed into my Televator TV. ALL TV's are set properly for shore cable input but only one works. My three interior TV's are all Sony's and work the same. My Outdoor TV was changed by me to a Vizio for fit purposes once I changed out the Wall Mount Bracket to extend to 90 degree turns for front and rear viewing while outside. There is a three way splitter on the basement wall that I found. I was told that there might be a splitter under the kitchen sink which there IS NOT. So somewhere from the cable input there is another splitter, like you mentioned, maybe where the HD antenna input is.

Also roof mount HD antenna works on ALL TV's so the coax cable runs are good, at least for the HD antenna.
__________________
Ted & Nancy plus our fur kids Mr. Vincent & Miss Daisy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 3852
Dutchstar411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 12:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchstar411 View Post
Thanks for that. Where is the Wineguard antenna booster panel? I have an HD antenna on the roof that needs to be off in order to show the campground feed into my Televator TV. ALL TV's are set properly for shore cable input but only one works. My three interior TV's are all Sony's and work the same. My Outdoor TV was changed by me to a Vizio for fit purposes once I changed out the Wall Mount Bracket to extend to 90 degree turns for front and rear viewing while outside. There is a three way splitter on the basement wall that I found. I was told that there might be a splitter under the kitchen sink which there IS NOT. So somewhere from the cable input there is another splitter, like you mentioned, maybe where the HD antenna input is.

Also roof mount HD antenna works on ALL TV's so the coax cable runs are good, at least for the HD antenna.
I think we are probably different in that regard. I have the Winegard batwing crank-up antenna. My booster is on the sidewall, close to the floor, behind the passenger seat. Your electronic winegard...may be the same as the switch you flip to select OTA antenna vs Cable.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 01:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,082
If your HDTV antenna is a Rayzar...it is still very similar. The panel with the switch is a meeting point. Antenna IN+ 12vdc + cable IN + TV OUT all meet there. The TV out should go to the splitter in the basement...then branch out to every TV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F6E5051D-DA60-4475-8699-05BA6D9C3248.jpeg
Views:	3
Size:	146.8 KB
ID:	320206  
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, campground



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from three-way splitter to two-way splitter NanaJ Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 06-13-2018 10:42 AM
Cable splitter persei8 Toy Haulers Discussion 1 12-31-2012 06:07 PM
direct tv cable splitter box Bellboy61 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 12-13-2012 07:11 PM
Is there a Dish DVR with cable tv input? Rockhouse Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 07-10-2010 08:35 AM
Rooftop antenna cable to a splitter? HUGHP Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 02-07-2010 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.