RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2020, 07:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 69
Lost 110 power in the storage bays

Greetings all,I was powering a small compressor with a storage bay 110 outlet and lost power to that outlet as well as nearby outlets(which power the Girard awnings)I went into the half bathroom expecting that gfi to be the problem....and have a red light that flashed when I hit reset....I replaced that gfi thinking the gfi unit had gone bad...the new gfi does the same thing....no power to the outlets down below...and when I press reset in the gfi momentarily that outlet has power.....but only for a split second.....Am I missing a fuse or breaker or reset somewhere???also,one thing I have noticed is the silver leaf says the second inverter is in standby,where the first inverter is active when I disconnect shore power Thanks joe b 2019 king aire
__________________
Joe B 2019 King Aire
Joedoggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-28-2020, 08:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,863
I had this problem. Water had gotten into one of the outlets on that circuit and caused corrosion. There was a short. It could not be seen without removing the face plate on that outlet. I had thought it was an inverter problem but the tech that I hired found it. There are other possible reasons and others will have suggestions too.
__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 12:58 PM   #3
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,573
Joe....you have a short, causing the GFI to trip. I would start by looking inside that outlet that was powering the compressor. It may have gotten warm enough and melted some wire covering, causing it to short against the box.

Second, if there is anything plugged into any of the basement outlets, including the awnings, unplug the all and reset the GFI. If it holds, start plugging things back in.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 07:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 69
Lost power in 110 outlets

Greetings and thanks for the input...after resetting that xantrex 3012 inverter..everything is happy again...there is a reset button on the bottom of the inverter..hold it in for 15 seconds and away you go...thanks again for the help.joe b 2019 king aire
__________________
Joe B 2019 King Aire
Joedoggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 05:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
96kpmjmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 390
What do you think caused it to have to be reset?
__________________
Kevin
2020 London Aire 4543
2019 Dodge Ram 1500. Emerald Isle NC
96kpmjmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 07:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 69
Lost 110 power

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96kpmjmm View Post
What do you think caused it to have to be reset?
Good question,I was powering a pancake compressor for an hour or so plugged into one of the outlets in the basement,but also run through an extension cord....it was pulling about 14 amps as it heated up....so it seems that overloaded the system.....at least that seems to be what happened.....joe b 2019 king aire
__________________
Joe B 2019 King Aire
Joedoggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, storage



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost power on some 110 outlets Vandave Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 07-07-2017 09:14 PM
Lost 110 power to several outlets AccessMaster RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-19-2016 02:04 PM
Lost 110 Power ????? Tabors Travel Trailer Discussion 2 03-28-2016 06:42 AM
Lost power to 110 outlets DoubleCK Country Coach Owners Forum 10 07-13-2012 09:28 AM
Lost 110 Power DonGee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 07-05-2008 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.