Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2021, 11:10 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,366
<< wasn't the fridge that made the batteries go flat. It was in fact a space heater set at 1Kw that I forgot was on.>>
Can I suggest you identify/ label and make it a practice to NOT Plug loads like heaters into Inverter supplied receptacles? Limit their source to shoreline/ GEN?
__________________
(TerryH.) 2000-GS Conquest Limited 6266 Class-C 99-E450SD V10
THenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-27-2021, 12:33 PM   #44
Junior Member
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Somerville Tx
Posts: 9
We just spent 3 days in 20-50 degree weather because 12v batteries would not charge no amps going to batteries
Inverter showed charging but no amps to batteries
Service dept told me to turn 50 amp house breaker off and disconnect shore power then disconnect neg side of inverters for 60 secs there will be small sparks

This resets inverters

It fixed my problem all works great now

House bat must reach min 13+ volts before BIRD switches inverter to charge chassis battery
If not at 13 v min bird will not charge
If house batteries are below 12.6 DC controllers will not activate any ac or dc components
__________________
Gary & Tammy

2016 Newmar King Aire 4519
GTS09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 11:00 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
rodekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,149
It's been a fun week. I continued cleaning connections, and replaced the battery disconnect (salesman switch) relay. The area lost power again last night during a sustained gale/deluge. My coach didn't miss a beat.

I knew exactly when the smoke came out of the wires along the highway because the event was accompanied by a window-rattling explosion and fire as a transformer in sight of the property failed. Then the lights started pulsing like they did the first time, just before everything went bad in the bus. I went outside and saw that it wasn't the coach, but the shore power that was "throbbing." I could smell it strongly, and the entire street was humming. Apparently a phase or two of the 2-phase transmission lines was/were still continuous. I ran to my sister's house and threw her main breaker, stopping the bad voltage. Then I called it in.

The transformer and pole burned despite the wind and rain until the fire department came and put it out. The smell is still out there this morning, despite the gale force winds.

But as usual, I digress. When I heard the transformer blow I knew what it was immediately. The lights in the house never flickered -- transfer to the inverter was immediate. I did the drill -- shut down all nonessentials, secured water, and checked the inverter control panel. All seemed normal for boondock mode. I gave it an hour and then started the genny. It fired up with no issues and the inverter reported good AC. Power transfer during genny on/off was also seamless. I ran it long enough to warm it up and shut it down for the night.

This morning I used the electric coffeemaker before I restarted the genny. Plenty of juice for the job. I ran the generator for a couple of hours and the batteries floated at some point during the session. Then shore power was restored and the coach transferred smoothly.
__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 11:27 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
rodekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,149
About the fridge:

I sold the still-working Dometic absorption fridge last summer in favor of a residential unit. There were a lot of reasons aside from the failing door gasket for doing that. Among them were energy efficiency, my perceived tradeoff of fire hazards, self defrost, larger overall storage capacity, and larger freezer. The 2006-vintage Dometic paid for the new Frigidare, and the Craigslist buyer helped me swap units. The new unit does a better (and quieter) job of keeping things cold in the summer.

I agonized over buying residential for the obvious reason -- it needs AC all the time. That's the only downside I could see. But I decided to take the tradeoff for more space and efficiency. I don't regret it. I like being able to store an eskimo pie without having to throw out the soup, and I like not having to ferry propane tanks to and from the filling station.

What I was not expecting was that the outlet in the refrigerator nook is only connected to shore power. That kind of defeats the purpose. So between rainstorms today I'm going to try tracing that circuit and moving the wires to the boondock side of my AC panel.

I see that on my Intellec relay there is a connecting lug marked "generator." I suspect that's a signal line to autostart the genny at some predetermined battery voltage. There is nothing connected to that lug, and I don't see a wire nearby that may have been there. So I'm assuming that my coach isn't presently equipped to do an autostart. What would I need to do in order to add this function?
__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 11:35 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
rodekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,149
I should add that I'm a full-timer, so I'm generally nearby when the shore power fails. If my systems are working I'm not too concerned about drawing the batteries down flat by running the fridge. If the systems fail -- as they did, then I've got a problem. So I see the solution to be improving my systems rather than downgrading the fridge.
__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 12:13 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
rarebear.nm's Avatar
 
Excel Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 5,882
Sounds like you've got the problems solved mostly. Good work and trouble shooting.

As to the generator autostart, I'll leave that to those who have installed this feature, I do not have it in either RV. May or may not add to the MH in the future. In my case, we are often camped in places where generator usage is prohibited totally or for stated hours. I know some makes/models have options to set for this lock out period. That would be good if stayed out somewhere long enough to get that task done. But when we're on the move every day or two, I do not want to being doing that all of the time. For many other folks it would make lots of sense to have and set it up.

The change over of the refrigerator plug should be straight forward and sounds like you have that under control. I'm still going to be doing the exact opposite of taking it off the inverter and make it shore power only. But I have a 3-way frig and it will fail to propane or 12 Volt on it's own. Just different solutions for different needs.

Good luck

Have fun and be safe....
__________________
Fred & Denise (RVM157) New Mexico
2007 Excel Classic 30RSO & Coach House 272XL E450
2007 RAM 3500, Diesel, 6Spd Auto, SWD, 4x4, CC & LB
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
rarebear.nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 01:25 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
edge68474's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,522
WOW!!
What a project and circumstance for you rodekyll.
And kudos to you rarebear, and others, for your expertise and sharing that with us and rodekyll. I like reading these kind of problems and their fixes. Electrical is NOT one of my qualities. But, I do have a book on the basics for RV's. Interesting read and I thank you for sharing.
YES, it's been wet and windy in these parts lately, more so up your way.
Seems you are somewhat set for now, that's good.
Take care.
__________________
Larry & Sheree & KD the CAT
2009 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30SFS Lewis County, Wa.
USN 1964-68, USS LEXINGTON CVS-16
edge68474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 01:42 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,737
Rodekyll said,

I see that on my Intellec relay there is a connecting lug marked "generator." I suspect that's a signal line to autostart the genny at some predetermined battery voltage. There is nothing connected to that lug, and I don't see a wire nearby that may have been there. So I'm assuming that my coach isn't presently equipped to do an autostart. What would I need to do in order to add this function?

Twinboat said,

That terminal can gets a signal from the generator running and tells the BIRD not to combine the battery banks if the engine charging system is also charging. That prevents the nuisance alt fail light some get.

If the gas/electric fridge had inverter power all of the time, it wouldn't switch to gas, when shore power was pulled. That would put a heavy drawn the battery bank.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2021, 02:10 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
rodekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,149
Finally got a day with no rain, so I got the camera out. Here are pics of my electrical bay. I don't know what these two converters are supposed to do. Note that the pictures are rotated 90*.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20211129_125505.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	260.5 KB
ID:	350116   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211129_125609.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	456.1 KB
ID:	350117  

__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2021, 03:25 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,737
They charge the batteries and power 12 volt stuff if getting 120 volts from shore or generator power.

Are they plugged in ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2021, 07:29 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
rodekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,149
Yes, they are plugged in. Are they redundant to the xantrex inverter?
__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:43 PM   #54
Junior Member
 
BrigitteM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 23
Rodekyll;
I ran into a similar problem from the same storm.. What I eventually found, was I had tripped a 12v circuit breaker... It hit one evening a few nights after the storm.... I went checked my EE Bay, ran my fingers across just behind the wires/lugs on the bottom of my row (just like yours) 12v circut breakers, and BINGO.. one had tripped. I reset it and Hot Dsng if I didn't hsve 12v inside the coach again..... Oh Happy Me... You might also check the 12v circuit breakers in your front EE Bay as well due to that you also lost 12v to the chassis..
__________________
Brigitte (K7SSC) & Liz Hazelmyer 1994 Kountry Star 38CBSA,DP, pulling a '97 Miata "M edition"
Were making the "Lady" Pretty again bit by bit
BrigitteM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, need help, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All three tv areas, no 120 volt power. Help Captron333 Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 5 07-19-2019 06:10 AM
Urgent please help me lost all 12 volt RV is going to freeze MonacoMan84 RV Systems & Appliances 64 03-24-2019 02:12 PM
Help! 1999 Diplomat - Lost All Power to A/C, Outlets, Slide ereadingrv Monaco Owner's Forum 3 06-25-2015 08:31 PM
HELP!! Lost power to all outlets inside jorez Travel Trailer Discussion 14 11-11-2014 05:59 AM
Lost 12 Volt Power Hugh G Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 11 04-29-2011 02:48 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.