RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2020, 09:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 403
Magnum ME2012 Replacement

I would love to replace my ME2012 with a better unit that is at least PureSine. I have found a really good sounding deal for a MSH3012M magnum with a monitor and an ARC-50. Would this be an easy plug\play exchange if I purchased it?

I would definitely want to test it somehow before I laid out the cash....

Thanks for your thoughts!
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2018 Jeep JLU Sport 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-28-2020, 10:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 340
Yes, I have researched this also. The MSH3012M will hook up the same as the ME2012 you currently are running. The ARC-50 remote panel uses the same data cord as the RC-50 (assuming you have the RC-50 currently as I do).

Good Luck !
__________________
1999 American Dream 40DVS
Spartan Chassis, Cummins ISC 330
Meames1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 10:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meames1 View Post
Yes, I have researched this also. The MSH3012M will hook up the same as the ME2012 you currently are running. The ARC-50 remote panel uses the same data cord as the RC-50 (assuming you have the RC-50 currently as I do).

Good Luck !
Awesome, thanks!
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2018 Jeep JLU Sport 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 10:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 589
I can not speak to the ease of change over, but I can to that unit. It should be very straight forward change, but I do not know how yours is currently mounted.

I can speak about that inverter. I chose that one because many of the places we stay only have a 15 amp hook up.

The PowerShare feature is great. I usually set the incoming ARC to show 10 amps incoming.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab (Soon to be 2014 Volvo 630).
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 960w Solar.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 11:18 AM   #5
Member
 
AZDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 93
I can not speak to the details of the swap but it should be fairly simple. Check the size and mounting area to be sure it fits but the wiring locations should be close enough to work. The only potential issue is the 12v cable size. You are replacing a 2000w inverter with a 3000w unit. Depending on the current cable size and run length I would think the cables would need to be upgraded in size to get full power and prevent voltage drop and heating. Review the installation manual for recommended cable size, they are available on line.
__________________
2003 Dutch Star 3803 and 2006 Wrangler toad
AZDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 11:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,577
For a Hybrid inverter to do what it can do, your going to have to rewire the incoming power.

It can't sense the load, and supplement it, if its not in the incoming line.

Download the manual and see how its wired compared to yours.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 01:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
For a Hybrid inverter to do what it can do, your going to have to rewire the incoming power.

It can't sense the load, and supplement it, if its not in the incoming line.

Download the manual and see how its wired compared to yours.
At the inverter itself, it looks exactly the same. Large red\black wires coming in and an orange wire going out to the breaker box where the supply is made to the rest of the coach.

If it gets more complicated than this then its beyound me...but at least I can get a Pure sin inverter.
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2018 Jeep JLU Sport 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 01:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
paul65k's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,595
There will be a little re-wiring to accommodate the "Hybrid" capacity of the new inverter. It's really not that complicated and even if you had to hire a pro it would probably only be a couple of hours.

You will need to upgrade the cabling between the batteries and the inverter to 4/0 cabling to handle the additional draw of the 3000W inverter vs the 2000 currently installed which likely s using 2/0 cabling.

If this sounds overwhelming IT IS NOT just a few things to change and the benefit of having both PSW and more importantly hybrid capability will allow you to never be hampered by a 30A vs 50A shore power again.
__________________
Paul & Jean
2001 Alpine 36FDDS (74291) - 1600W Solar, 10,752 Wh (420Ah @24V) LiFePO4
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
2006 Alpenlite 32RL - Sold
paul65k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 02:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,994
Yeah to what Paul said...

The wire gauge and supply breaker for your ME2012 is too small. All of Magnum Energy’s manuals are easy to google and download. I believe you will have to run a 30A breaker in your main distribution panel...upgrade the AC power line to 10awg. The run between the batteries and the inverter will require an upgrade too. They have different recommendations based on the distance of wire..but 4/0 is what my MS3012 recommends...even though Newmar Engineers decided to use 3/0. And the catastrophic fuse will also need to be upgraded. I don’t know what inverter main, they used in your panel...but it might have to be upgraded as well...and another 10AWG run. The Inverter has at least two sets of AC power...one coming IN, which powers the charger and will “pass thru” to inverter loads...and an OUT which goes back to power the inverter sub bus...powering inverter branch circuits.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 02:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
appsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul65k View Post
There will be a little re-wiring to accommodate the "Hybrid" capacity of the new inverter. It's really not that complicated and even if you had to hire a pro it would probably only be a couple of hours.

You will need to upgrade the cabling between the batteries and the inverter to 4/0 cabling to handle the additional draw of the 3000W inverter vs the 2000 currently installed which likely s using 2/0 cabling.

If this sounds overwhelming IT IS NOT just a few things to change and the benefit of having both PSW and more importantly hybrid capability will allow you to never be hampered by a 30A vs 50A shore power again.
I had this done last year on my 2014 Palazzo. It took a total of 3.5 hours for an independent tech who is very familiar with the coach to remove the old inverter, build new custom 4/0 cables, install and test everything. Had the batteries and inverter been adjacent, as they are on some later years/models, it would have only been a couple of hours. It took more time due to the difficulty of routing the larger 4/0 power feed cables from the battery bank to the inverter, which are on opposite sides of the coach behind the rear wheels. (When I had the coach at TMC factory service earlier in the year they wouldn't even give me an estimate as they wanted engineering to spec an entire new wiring harness rather than just run new larger cables!)
__________________
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2013 Jeep Wrangler
appsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 03:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul65k View Post
There will be a little re-wiring to accommodate the "Hybrid" capacity of the new inverter. It's really not that complicated and even if you had to hire a pro it would probably only be a couple of hours.

You will need to upgrade the cabling between the batteries and the inverter to 4/0 cabling to handle the additional draw of the 3000W inverter vs the 2000 currently installed which likely s using 2/0 cabling.

If this sounds overwhelming IT IS NOT just a few things to change and the benefit of having both PSW and more importantly hybrid capability will allow you to never be hampered by a 30A vs 50A shore power again.
If the current draw is not running thru the Hybrid inverter, it can't measure it and assist it.

Without some re-wiring, the ACs and water heater load will not be measured. They are not on the inverter circuit.

So no assist for a 50 amp RV plugged into 30 amp service, except stuff on the inverter powered outlets.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 05:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
MarylandRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Laytonsville Maryland
Posts: 195
There are 2 Magnum 3012 inverters, one is the M as mentioned, the other is the RV. The difference is the RV has 2 hot in and outs, the M only has 1 hot in and out. The RV balances the charging on both legs in and allows 2 hot legs out as well if having 2 hot legs is beneficial. I wish I had known this when I installed mine a year and a half ago. It would have been closer AC wise to my old Heart inverter it replaced. Other then that a great inverter I wired in one of my roof ACs as well with a soft starter and can get up to 6 hours of AC run time on Battery. As others have said must be 4/0 battery cables. I had one 2/0 cable I thought was 4/0 and it got real hot. As soon as I realized I swapped it out as well. Runs nice and cool now.
__________________
"No matter where you go, There you are"
2002 Country Coach Affinity 42' #6063 CAT C12 505hp & Matching Featherlite Trailer or 2011 Subaru Outback Toad
MarylandRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 10:29 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 403
k, here's the wire I have to\from the inverter...

3/0 welding wire from batteries to inverter,

10awg wire from inverter to inverter breaker box and to the main breaker box back to the inverter(must be for pass thru).

The 3012 has some connection on the side which I have no "like" connections for on the ME2012, so I guess I would omit during any new install of the 3012.

I was looking via google and sounds like most wire sizes seem OK for the load, correct?

Thanks!
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2018 Jeep JLU Sport 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 10:42 AM   #14
Member
 
AZDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 93
Of course if you really only want the pure sign wave feature to support residential refer, cpap machine and other newer electronics that use switch mode power supplies then you could replace with the MS2012. This is still a 2000w inverter so no battery cable or fuse change required. Also not hybrid but does not require 120v wiring changes either. Should be a direct replacement and can use the current RC-50 controller. This is the simplest conversion if pure sine is the most important.

I find that 2000w has been enough for us the way we camp. Remember if you use that 3000w capability you will need to add batteries to keep the same time of use. Do you have room for six 6v batteries?

Just a though on how to keep it a simple plug and play. this is what I did (Xantec 2000w to MS2012) and have been very happy.
__________________
2003 Dutch Star 3803 and 2006 Wrangler toad
AZDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace, replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnum ME2012 inverter fan continuously runs. BLAZERBEAM Going Green 3 05-02-2016 11:35 PM
magnum ME2012 invertor probems remuster New Member Check-In 7 07-18-2012 05:28 AM
Magnum ME2012 replacement?? studmuffin1 RV Systems & Appliances 1 11-23-2011 04:18 PM
Magnum Energy ME2012 stuck in Float Charge pepawntx Damon 2 05-16-2010 07:01 PM
Swap or upgrade Magnum Energy ME2012 for MS2012 RJRobb Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 07-27-2007 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.