RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2010, 01:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rochester, MN, USA
Posts: 371
Need thermostat wiring help

First I must describe my problem.... In my 2007 KSDP 3912, the Duo-Therm comfort control center began to malfunction. It would start the furnace and after about a minute go dormant (display go blank) and the furnace would shut down. This would repeat in about 10 minutes with the result that no appreciable heat was generated. Switching off/on did not improve the situation. Trying heat pump setting did no good because the controller would go dormant before the 2 minute wait built into the heat pumps had expired.

Step 1) Wiggling wire and reconnecting/cleaning 4 lead phone type connector did not help.
Step 2) New controller purchased. When installed displays "EE". Called Dometic help line and went through set-up steps with no help. Support person said it is a "failure to communicate" problem and the controlled units are not responding.
Step 3) Furnace has no visable connectors at all. (Removing furnace would be ugly job!)
Step 4) Each AC had a pair of 2 wire connectors and bank of dip switches for programming. Wiggled wires and toggled dip switches. No help.
Step 4) Reversed settings on both AC units. No help.
Step 5) Wiring investigation - - 4 lead phone type lead at controller was somewhat pinched behind bracket. Removed bracket and enlarged wiring slot. No help.
Step 6) 4 lead wire from controller disappears upwards in chamber housing black water tank vent. At Each AC unit a pair of 2 lead connectors arrive. Somewhere between controller and ACs/furnace there is a splitter of some kind. Where on earth is it and how to access?????

Sorry for the long post. If anyone can supply any helpful insights or information it would be greatly appreciated.
Have a nice day - Darrel
__________________

__________________
2007 3912 KSDP w/350HP ISL Cummins
2003 Grand Cherokee toad w/M&G Brake
Darrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,330
Darrel:

Here is a troubleshooting manual for the 5-button thermostats:

http://www.nwrvsupply.com/manuals/du...leshooting.pdf

According to this, the thermostat's 4-wire cable should go to the first A/C, then the first A/C's second cable should go to the second A/C. I don't know what the second cable on the second A/C does. The furnace is hooked to the front unit. Note this is the example in the manual, if your Zone 1 was the living area and zone 2 was the BR, and furnace came on in Zone 1 then your coach should be hooked up this way.

If your coach has a 3rd zone then from the second A/C should go to the third A/C. If the 3 A/C's have two phone cables then I still don't know where it goes (of course there are coaches with 4 zones)

The manual shows you how to tell which unit is which zone and which should have a furnace by looking at the DIP switches (p5).

Also, according to the manual, the furnace is connected "to the two (2) blue wires from the control box" and does not use a phone plug. Perhaps one fell off or is broken?

It sure sounds like the cable from the thermostat is bad. Maybe try disconnecting the other A/C's connectors other than zone 1 and see if the it works?

Note the manual says they are not regular phone cables, the connectors are installed so pin 1 is pin 1 on the opposite end (with phone cables, pin 1 is pin 4 on the opposite end). If you can make or modify a phone cable (involves cutting one end or a cable and crimping another RJ11 jack on the cable) you can substitute a known-good cable between the thermostat and zone 1 A/C. You may be able to get crimpers and RJ11 jacks at Radio Shack, maybe even at Home Depot or similar store. There's a picture (Fig 2 on p4) that shows you how how the cable should look when you're done.

No problems with the long post, sorry for the even longer reply.

Stewart
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410, now at a new home
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 02:46 PM   #3
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,899
Quote:
According to this, the thermostat's 4-wire cable should go to the first A/C, then the first A/C's second cable should go to the second A/C. I don't know what the second cable on the second A/C does. The furnace is hooked to the front unit. Note this is the example in the manual, if your Zone 1 was the living area and zone 2 was the BR, and furnace came on in Zone 1 then your coach should be hooked up this way.
After spending some time at the factory and talking to Norbert, Newmar's lead tech on this stuff and fridges, this is correct.

The second cable on the rear AC goes to the temperature sensor in the bedroom.

12 volts is supplied to the front AC control module which powers both AC's control modules and the CCC.

Quote:
Somewhere between controller and ACs/furnace there is a splitter of some kind. Where on earth is it and how to access?????
I don't believe there is a splitter. What led you to a splitter?
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rochester, MN, USA
Posts: 371
You guys are SUPER Obviously I was confused about how the leads were routed to the AC units and furnace. I downloaded the troubleshooting guide and it was just what I needed The day I found the IRV forum was one of the better days I have had.

Have a nice day - Darrel
__________________
2007 3912 KSDP w/350HP ISL Cummins
2003 Grand Cherokee toad w/M&G Brake
Darrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo-Therm Thermostat Replacement Problem RonWSl MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 10-20-2010 01:49 PM
Upgrade Duo-Therm thermostat to a Honeywell RTH230B Thermostat Ray Wallace RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-07-2009 08:22 PM
Tru-Air Thermostat Wiring Diagram abn Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 07-09-2008 06:13 AM
OVERCOMING WIRING GREMLINS DriVer Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 12-26-2007 06:15 PM
2006 Malibu Maxx Wiring M2Kelley Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 06-20-2007 04:58 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×