Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-08-2021, 12:41 AM   #1

Question Newmar Brakes & Toad

I'm new to Motor Homes, long time 13K 5er and F350 6.7. Newbie questions: Bought 2022 Bay Star 3401, came with 2,100 delivery miles. I drove 50 miles home from dealer and used one foot to brake but it was a workout, a few times thought 2 feet would have been better , is that amount of force typical and even though it's new, can stopping force be improved?

Sold F350 it was a bulldozer and loved it but too heavy. I miss the pickup and considering Ford Ranger crew cab 4x4 curb weight approx. 4,500#.
Jeep Wrangler 4dr curb weight around 4,200". 90% city/hwy driving but we do like beach and places like Moab UT (nothing serious). Obviously Jeep better off road and fun but read about some brake fade and AC issues and general reliability, looking at 2018-2020 models for either. Even though a little heavier, Ranger may be better all a round but less chops for simple off road. Weight is always an issue and I believe Jeep has a good toad system and see many as toads. I drive on average 20K a years when not RVing.

Experienced opinions and info are appreciated.
Donhdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!