Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-22-2015, 02:12 PM   #1

Newmar Future

What a Shame
I am relative new to the Newmar world (2000 and 2007 Kountry Star). I have been RVing since 1960. Newmar has provided me with a superior product when compared to my other units (Homemade fold up, Shasta TT, Holiday Rambler TT, Air Stream TT, Avion TT, American Eagle MH).

I have been concerned about slide outs from the beginning, but felt some comfort after learning that Newmar invented slide outs and had problem-free slide out systems. My 2000 and 2007 Kountry Star units have had no problems.

I am dismayed to learn of the Newmar problems with full-wall-slide outs. There is a continuing thread about full wall slide out problems on this forum, and I have personal contact with a friend who is in deep trouble because of a Newmar full-wall-slide out problem. She is a lone female and the full-wall-slide out has malfunctioned. The problem is, maybe, being repaired by a Newmar dealer, but in the meantime, she is up the creek. No one seems to say what the problem is.

But that’s not the point of this post. The point is that Newmar now has a really large problem. There are issues with a large number of full wall slide outs from a few years ago to date. Just correcting the problem in future years won’t remove the issue. Advising existing owners to use “special” methods to get around a defect is not in Newmar’s interest. The full-wall-slide out has been a disaster, can Newmar survive? I hope so!

Good Luck!
Wil