RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2020, 10:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 386
No 110vac from generator

Went out to storage (no elec. hookup) to exercise generator. Started it, transfer switch kicked in, turned on three space heaters. All worked fine. Went outside to check if batteries were being charged (they were). When I went back inside, I had no 110vac. Turned off heaters, turned off generator, then restarted it--still no 110. Any ideas what might have happened? It was too cold to start checking things, so don't know if the breakers on the genny tripped or if it might be the transfer switch. Thanks for any ideas.
__________________

__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-14-2020, 10:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,188
Try flipping Off then On the breakers on the generator. Mine sometimes kicks and just have to reset.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:39 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,067
With the space heaters you use you may have fried the wiring of your transfer switch especially if the wiring inside was loose to begin with.
A couple of links to explain #1 -- #2 -- #3 -- Workhorse fuse info in this link.
High current draw is going to heat up more than your coach, the # 14 wiring will heat up also.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 05:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,495
Most likely tripped the breakers on the generator.

Is it a 7000 watt generator with 35 amp breakers ?

3, 12 amp heaters + charger amps, for low batteries, may be enough to trip them.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 06:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Most likely tripped the breakers on the generator.

Is it a 7000 watt generator with 35 amp breakers ?

3, 12 amp heaters + charger amps, for low batteries, may be enough to trip them.
Wow! How many AC amps do you think his converter will pull?
tfryman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Mr Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 54
I would also checked for a tripped breaker on your inverter ( sometimes just a reset button)
__________________
2005 Kountry Star 3742 Gas
2012 CRV
Mr Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredBob View Post
Went out to storage (no elec. hookup) to exercise generator. Started it, transfer switch kicked in, turned on three space heaters. All worked fine. Went outside to check if batteries were being charged (they were). When I went back inside, I had no 110vac. Turned off heaters, turned off generator, then restarted it--still no 110. Any ideas what might have happened? It was too cold to start checking things, so don't know if the breakers on the genny tripped or if it might be the transfer switch. Thanks for any ideas.
No 120 volts anywhere or just to the heaters?? Did you voltage check the main breaker panel? Did you voltage check the inverter. We need this info to help.

Many time folks come here and say "All My electric is out" only to find out 1 breaker or a GFI is tripped is tripped.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfryman View Post
Wow! How many AC amps do you think his converter will pull?
6 amps for a 50 amp converter doesn't seem out of range.

My 55 amp IOTA draws 8 amps under a full 55 amp load.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
6 amps for a 50 amp converter doesn't seem out of range.

My 55 amp IOTA draws 8 amps under a full 55 amp load.
So 42 AC amps distributed across two 35 Amp breakers?

Will, maybe if everything was on a single 35 Amp breaker, but unless the breakers are hard teamed he should still have 120 VAC on the other leg.
tfryman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfryman View Post
So 42 AC amps distributed across two 35 Amp breakers?

Will, maybe if everything was on a single 35 Amp breaker, but unless the breakers are hard teamed he should still have 120 VAC on the other leg.
Me thinks you are confused. Twinboat knows what he is talking about.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 09:29 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfryman View Post
So 42 AC amps distributed across two 35 Amp breakers?

Will, maybe if everything was on a single 35 Amp breaker, but unless the breakers are hard teamed he should still have 120 VAC on the other leg.
How do you know the load is spread between both breakers.

Yes, on some generators, the breakers are linked.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 06:19 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 386
Haven't had a chance to go out to check things out--wife had knee replacement a few days ago, so I've been busy.

To answer some of the questions:

No 110 anywhere.
No inverter.
__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:45 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 386
All is good. One of the breakers at the generator had tripped. I now have power. Thanks for all the input.
__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 08:46 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
hohenwald48's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Nashville, TN area
Posts: 3,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfryman View Post
So 42 AC amps distributed across two 35 Amp breakers?

Will, maybe if everything was on a single 35 Amp breaker, but unless the breakers are hard teamed he should still have 120 VAC on the other leg.
Onan 7kw gas powered generators put out about 58 amps max at 120 volt single phase. They come configured with either (2) 30 amp breakers or (1) 30 amp breaker and (1) 20 amp breaker depending on model. A 36 amp load from (3) 12 amp resistance heaters operating simultaneously would easily trip a breaker even without any additional loads from chargers or water heaters.
__________________

__________________
When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
2019 Newmar Canyon Star 3627 on a 2018 F-53 26K chassis w/6 speed transmission
2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU with Ready Brute tow system
hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Astoria 3470 110vac outlets in MBR? LEZM3 Damon 0 09-03-2013 10:42 AM
Adding a Exterior 110vac plug Dixster Fleetwood Owner's Forum 10 07-29-2012 07:34 AM
(Tech Tip) GFCI will not reset, 110vac circuit out Always-RVing iRV2.com General Discussion 0 09-23-2009 12:32 PM
No 110VAC to coach with Generator Running...possible transfer switch? gregd Thor Industries Owner's Forum 3 10-05-2008 09:19 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×