Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2022, 11:52 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
no furnace in bedroom

Hello, we have an oaisis heater system, and while it works great in the living room/kitchen, it's no longer blowing hot air in the master bedroom. So I know the heater itself works, but I can't figure out how to get it to work in the back. The A/C and heat pump work fine, so I don't think it's a thermostat issue, so I'm wondering if there's a fuse or something I need to check. I've looked through the breakers/fuses I can see, but nothing is out of order.
Any suggestions on what to check? It was working fine on a 7 day trip, but after 3 days in one location it simply stopped blowing hot air in the bedroom, no alarms, warning lights or anything.
Newmar Ventana 4369, 2021 year.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2022, 01:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Capt. Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Highland,IL.
Posts: 907
Can you remove the grill in in front of the heat exchanger & access the leads to the blower fan & get the probes of a Volt/Ohm meter on the wires to the 12 V fan motor? See if you have 12V present there? If you have 12V there that would indicate a bad blower fan. No 12 V there means you have a blown fuse or faulty lead to that zone coming off your thermostat.

Also- have you checked your zoned thermostat setting - turn it to heat & up to 90 degrees in the bedroom zone & see if it comes on?

Happy Trails
__________________
Capt. Bill
2014 Newmar Mountain Aire Diesel 4364
2009 Ram 1500 Crew cab toad
Capt. Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2022, 04:51 PM   #3
Member
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 984
There is a silver box mounted on the right above the oasis. There are fuses behind that cover. Pull it off and check them. If the lights are on for the zones, then you have a bad pump. Which is common. You can turn on the switch at the top of that box and it will cause the other pumps to help the bedroom.
__________________
.
NATIONAL INDOOR RV CENTERS - NIRVC
Sales | Service | Indoor Storage | Wash
Collision Repair & Paint Restoration


SM Nashville 972-697-6325
Bobby Dowdle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2022, 04:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,190
It wasnít clear to me if the bedroom heat exchanger is blowing air, but itís just not hot, or if itís not blowing any air.

If itís blowing air, but itís not hot, I would agree that itís most likely the pump. If itís not blowing any air, then the problem is most likely a fuse, but it could also be internal oasis issues too (ie circuit board).
__________________
2018 Newmar Mountain Aire 4531
flyboy013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2022, 05:09 PM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 21,315
Not to insult you.....but are you turning on the Zone 2 FURNACE. Typically, Zone 1 is the front furnace and AC and Zone 2 is the rear furnace and AC.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2022, 12:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
No heat in the master bedroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Dowdle View Post
There is a silver box mounted on the right above the oasis. There are fuses behind that cover. Pull it off and check them. If the lights are on for the zones, then you have a bad pump. Which is common. You can turn on the switch at the top of that box and it will cause the other pumps to help the bedroom.
Bobby, I checked all the fuses, they are good. I can see Zone 1 turn on just fine, but when I turn on the heater in the bedroom none of the other zones light up green. they aren't red either, no signal at all.
I assume there's a fuse out somewhere, but I can't find one.
Greg
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2022, 12:20 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy013 View Post
It wasnít clear to me if the bedroom heat exchanger is blowing air, but itís just not hot, or if itís not blowing any air.

If itís blowing air, but itís not hot, I would agree that itís most likely the pump. If itís not blowing any air, then the problem is most likely a fuse, but it could also be internal oasis issues too (ie circuit board).
there is no air blowing at all from the furnace in the bedroom.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2022, 12:21 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
Not to insult you.....but are you turning on the Zone 2 FURNACE. Typically, Zone 1 is the front furnace and AC and Zone 2 is the rear furnace and AC.
This made me laugh! For two weeks I was turning on the heat pump and only eventually did I realize I had to turn on the furnace. But yes, I have the thermostat set to furnace and nothing happens.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2022, 12:21 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy013 View Post
It wasnít clear to me if the bedroom heat exchanger is blowing air, but itís just not hot, or if itís not blowing any air.

If itís blowing air, but itís not hot, I would agree that itís most likely the pump. If itís not blowing any air, then the problem is most likely a fuse, but it could also be internal oasis issues too (ie circuit board).
Nothing blowing at all.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2022, 12:09 PM   #10
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 21,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreginAZ View Post
This made me laugh! For two weeks I was turning on the heat pump and only eventually did I realize I had to turn on the furnace. But yes, I have the thermostat set to furnace and nothing happens.
Again, not to insult you, but you turned on both ZONE 1 and ZONE 2? Turning on the furnace, only turns it on in ZONE 1 until you switch the thermostat to ZONE 2 and turn it on there also.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2022, 10:07 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
Again, not to insult you, but you turned on both ZONE 1 and ZONE 2? Turning on the furnace, only turns it on in ZONE 1 until you switch the thermostat to ZONE 2 and turn it on there also.
No insult at all! I made that mistake before.
But yes, I made sure the bedroom thermostat was set to Furnace.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2022, 10:08 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy013 View Post
It wasnít clear to me if the bedroom heat exchanger is blowing air, but itís just not hot, or if itís not blowing any air.

If itís blowing air, but itís not hot, I would agree that itís most likely the pump. If itís not blowing any air, then the problem is most likely a fuse, but it could also be internal oasis issues too (ie circuit board).
It's blowing hot air in the kitchen/living room, but nothing happening in the bedroom, no air flow at all.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2022, 10:30 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,190
Since no other zone led lights up when you turn on the bedroom heat, itís sounds like the thermostat isnít telling the oasis unit that heat is being requested.

My coach has a different thermostat than yours, so Iím not sure exactly what you should be looking for, but does the thermostat give you an indication that it is requesting heat for the bedroom zone?

If so, then you would need to isolate the wire from the thermostat to the oasis unit that signals the request and troubleshoot from there.
__________________
2018 Newmar Mountain Aire 4531
flyboy013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2022, 11:38 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Dowdle View Post
There is a silver box mounted on the right above the oasis. There are fuses behind that cover. Pull it off and check them. If the lights are on for the zones, then you have a bad pump. Which is common. You can turn on the switch at the top of that box and it will cause the other pumps to help the bedroom.
Bobby, I thought I responded to your post already, but I don't see it so I'm posting again.

I checked all of the fuses, they are fine. When I turn on the furnace via the thermostat I can see the icon come on indicating it *thinks* the furnace is running, but no lights are on the distribution box. When I turn on the furnace for the kitchen, I can see lights on the box for the heater and fan, so no signal is received by the distribution box from the thermostat. I tried to check the 12v connection to the box, but it's soldered together and is difficult to check.
GreginAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing sliding bedroom door on Windsport/Hurricane master bedroom apr67 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 1 12-09-2021 03:41 PM
A front bedroom vs rear bedroom question Stevefury iRV2.com General Discussion 3 12-19-2016 05:06 PM
Allegro bus heat ducts from furnace to rear bedroom rv05busdrive Tiffin Owner's Forum 3 09-21-2014 12:38 PM
Bedroom furnace duct 96 Wideglide National RV Owner's Forum 13 10-26-2012 02:55 PM
Horizon Bedroom Furnace Thermosat! Lucchese1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 11-18-2005 02:50 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.