Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2021, 01:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 33
No house plugs have power on house battery

Help!!

We have a 2014 Ventana just set up from a long day on rough roads. None of the house plug are working. All the lights, fans, water pump work but not any plugs, frig or microwave. but the plugs, frig and microwave work if the generator is on. We use solar panels and not too keen to run the generator all the time. There has to be something simple like a reset of something

Regards and hopefully someone has the answer

Wayne
wavw54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-17-2021, 02:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 135
You are plugged into power or relying on inverter?
__________________
2022 Dutch Star 4369 FLiner - Hoping Nov Delivery!?
2020 Kountry Star 3709 FLiner SOLD. Towing 2016 Equinox
2016 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour
RVStitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 02:11 PM   #3
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,399
Check your power post, plug into another if possible.

Find your transfer relay. Get a voltmeter and see if you have it there.

Since things run on generator your AC breaker panel should not be a factor.

If you have an electric cord reel, move it several turns.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 02:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Capt. Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Highland,IL.
Posts: 759
If you are running off of your house batteries- reset the inverter in the basement. If you are plugged into shore power it's your transfer switch not switching over- plug into shore power & see if those receptacles get hot? If they do then it confirms your inverter needs resetting.

Happy Trails
__________________
Capt. Bill
2014 Newmar Mountain Aire Diesel 4364
2009 Ram 1500 Crew cab toad
Capt. Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 05:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 33
I am running off of batteries no shore power. Thanks for the advice the inverter trip button was ok on the unit, but toggling the breaker worked when I had the generator running.
wavw54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 06:36 AM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,399
Is this rv new to you? Did it work before??
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 09:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
96kpmjmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavw54 View Post
Help!!

We have a 2014 Ventana just set up from a long day on rough roads. None of the house plug are working. All the lights, fans, water pump work but not any plugs, frig or microwave. but the plugs, frig and microwave work if the generator is on. We use solar panels and not too keen to run the generator all the time. There has to be something simple like a reset of something

Regards and hopefully someone has the answer

Wayne
Have you checked your GFCI,s ?
__________________
Kevin
2020 London Aire 4543
2019 Dodge Ram 1500. Emerald Isle NC
96kpmjmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 11:42 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rev. Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 580
Ok, you said the lights, fans, water pump work, but those are all 12v. It sounds like the inverter is not working since everything works off the generator. I would check the reset/breaker on the inverted. I believe the Ventana only has one inverter.
Rev. Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 11:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavw54 View Post
I am running off of batteries no shore power. Thanks for the advice the inverter trip button was ok on the unit, but toggling the breaker worked when I had the generator running.
Just confirming…….you DO have an inverter?
Do you know what items work off the inverter?
Has the inverter worked before?
__________________
kenandterry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S
Bye 2010 Georgetown 330TS after 10 terrific years, as we downsize for the next phase.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 12:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dmholt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 213
In my 2012 Bay Star, if I am running on batteries only, the refrigerator and microwave will not run. I have two AC receptacles that have power trough the inverter, and my two TVs work, but none of the other receptacles have power. It's just the way the RV was set up. Perhaps yours is similar and there isn't anything wrong.
__________________
2012 Newmar Bay Star 2901, CHF, Roadmaster Steering Stabilizer, 2009 Honda CR-V toad.
dmholt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, battery



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard to plug in shore power plug Gypsy9978 MH-General Discussions & Problems 15 11-12-2018 05:43 AM
Step power 4 way plug plug harrell1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 10-20-2017 10:12 PM
No ac power at plug in cabinet below sink or at plug in right hand upper cabinet oilcan Monaco Owner's Forum 11 08-28-2017 11:18 AM
Honda CRV years 2012 or newer. Did you have to rewire power plug ctcamper Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 09-17-2013 08:57 AM
Have 04 Allegro 35DA. Anyone have burnt spark plug wire issues anderson2624 Tiffin Owner's Forum 3 02-03-2012 11:20 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.