Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2010, 06:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,491
Norcold Basement Freezer

Any one ever install one of these in a basement compartment?

Need advice on where/how to run the wiring to it.
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-03-2010, 06:44 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,731
You may already have a 110 outlet in a bay for TV service and 12 volts are feeding your bay lights. You could run back to load center and master 12 volt fuse panel they have spare circuit positions.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by "007" View Post
You may already have a 110 outlet in a bay for TV service and 12 volts are feeding your bay lights. You could run back to load center and master 12 volt fuse panel they have spare circuit positions.
No can do. The Norcold manual is VERY specific: freezer must be DIRECTLY connected to batteries. (They also want you to twist the wiring to reduce RF noise.) Plus, since my MADP has a 2000W modified sine wave inverter, I'll have to connect the 110V input to a non-inverter circuit (according to Norcold manual). I think the 110V source in the basement is wired through the inverter. I'll have to check.
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:24 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,731
I guess you have some work ahead of you. Can't argue with manual.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JoeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 486
I have a Norcold 1.5 cu. ft. freezer on a Kwikee slide in my Phaeton basement. This model freezer comes with both an AC plug and a DC cigar lighter plug. I leave mine plugged into DC all of the time. I brought back Halibut and Salmon from Alaska in it last year.
__________________
Joe & Loretta Fischer
2017 Roadtrek Zion SRT
JoeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 04:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT View Post
I leave mine plugged into DC all of the time.
Good to hear. That's what I plan to do too. Alaskan Halibut and Salmon? Yum! Sure beats the hot dogs we're having tonight.

Anyway, I emailed Newmar on how to run the freezer wiring and they said along the inside frame rails. Nothing I like better than working on my back in my RV basement snaking plex in 90 degree weather. Love it.
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JoeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 486
I wish it was only 90 here.
__________________
Joe & Loretta Fischer
2017 Roadtrek Zion SRT
JoeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crack in plastic of a Norcold freezer Jim13 RV Systems & Appliances 4 04-27-2010 03:13 PM
Norcold basement refrig/freezer JVR Newmar Owner's Forum 6 11-02-2009 06:12 PM
Norcold Freezer problem waterboy Newmar Owner's Forum 2 11-01-2008 05:21 PM
Norcold 4-Door Freezer Fix Radioman Newmar Owner's Forum 3 07-31-2008 12:24 PM
Norcold freezer plate. adj MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 07-12-2006 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.