RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2015, 03:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,759
Outlet wiring?

We are about to order a Ventana 4037 all-electric version.

The question I have is... Are all the 110 outlets connected to the inverter?...

The reason I ask is....I really need a cabinet that has outlets for 12vdc (powered from the coaches batteries)....AND...a 110vac outlet (that is on the same AC Bus that powers the Air Conditioning Unit). If I had my dream of dreams...the cabinet would have:

* 12vdc outlet
* Split 110vac receptacle with one outlet on the same bus as the a/c unit...the other running off of the inverter.
* A CATV outlet

The reason for the CATV is for connecting a cable modem when we stay at Disney's Ft. Wilderness Campground.

The reason for the split outlet is to connect our Control Products Freeze Alarm. The Freeze Alarm system calls us whenever shore power is lost or the temperature exceeds a programmable set point. When we leave our pets in the camper...we rely on the Alarm to notify us of power failure or air conditioning failure so that we know to return quickly to rescue the pups from the Florida heat. Our setup requires the 12vdc to power a Cobra Phonelynx (Bluetooth bridge). The 110vac on the same bus as he Air Conditioner is the normal power source for the Freeze Alarm. If it senses a power outage...it will auto dial up to three numbers to report the Alarm condition. It uses w 9vdv battery as a power source in event the shore power is lost. The inverter powered 110vac outlet could keep the Bluetooth enabled cellphone charged.

I don't know where the coaches outlets get their power...and where I can power this system. I prefer to wire this to a cabinet over the sofa next to the kitchen...to keep the components out of sight.

I'm wondering if I need to talk to the factory about pre-wiring this option...or if it's something I could easily do on my own.

Thanks so much!

Charlie
__________________

C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-08-2015, 04:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,555
Hi C.Martin,
You have an excellent special request. Contact Newmar and they will do what you need done. They will also let you know the size of the inverter (more importantly the size of the inverter breaker) and which outlets are powered by the inverter.
__________________

__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 05:02 PM   #3
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Outlet wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Martin View Post
We are about to order a Ventana 4037 all-electric version.



The question I have is... Are all the 110 outlets connected to the inverter?...



The reason I ask is....I really need a cabinet that has outlets for 12vdc (powered from the coaches batteries)....AND...a 110vac outlet (that is on the same AC Bus that powers the Air Conditioning Unit). If I had my dream of dreams...the cabinet would have:



* 12vdc outlet

* Split 110vac receptacle with one outlet on the same bus as the a/c unit...the other running off of the inverter.

* A CATV outlet



The reason for the CATV is for connecting a cable modem when we stay at Disney's Ft. Wilderness Campground.



The reason for the split outlet is to connect our Control Products Freeze Alarm. The Freeze Alarm system calls us whenever shore power is lost or the temperature exceeds a programmable set point. When we leave our pets in the camper...we rely on the Alarm to notify us of power failure or air conditioning failure so that we know to return quickly to rescue the pups from the Florida heat. Our setup requires the 12vdc to power a Cobra Phonelynx (Bluetooth bridge). The 110vac on the same bus as he Air Conditioner is the normal power source for the Freeze Alarm. If it senses a power outage...it will auto dial up to three numbers to report the Alarm condition. It uses w 9vdv battery as a power source in event the shore power is lost. The inverter powered 110vac outlet could keep the Bluetooth enabled cellphone charged.



I don't know where the coaches outlets get their power...and where I can power this system. I prefer to wire this to a cabinet over the sofa next to the kitchen...to keep the components out of sight.



I'm wondering if I need to talk to the factory about pre-wiring this option...or if it's something I could easily do on my own.



Thanks so much!



Charlie

I can't say that all of the 110 volt outlets are on the inverter but I've yet to find one that isn't in our 2015 all electric Ventana 4037.
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 08:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,305
Newmar should be able to accommodate this request. You may get two duplex outlets, one off the inverter and the other off the A/C leg. The 12V and cable outlet should be easily done.
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410, now at a new home
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 08:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 3,176
I think you are over complicating things. Most of the all electric coaches like ours have the AGS option which will automatically start the generator if the power fails and the temperature in the coach gets above a temperature you set.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 09:05 PM   #6
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Algoma View Post
I think you are over complicating things. Most of the all electric coaches like ours have the AGS option which will automatically start the generator if the power fails and the temperature in the coach gets above a temperature you set.

That's exactly what I was thinking. Why not just set the AGS to start?
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 05:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,759
I am opting in for the auto start feature. Buy we like having the backup to the backup.

We can also call back to the camper for a status report, with our setup.

Charlie

I think we'll get our order going. Then I should have a little time to work with Newmar.

I still have no idea how the satellite dish is wired...amongst other things. I spoke to another member the other day who is having cable run for a tripod dish...in case the traveler is completely bicker by trees.

These are good things to think about...which I wouldn't have thought of.

Time to get my thinking cap on.

Thanks for the replies and pointers. Very much appreciated Gentlemen!!
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 07:42 AM   #8
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Martin View Post
I am opting in for the auto start feature. Buy we like having the backup to the backup.

We can also call back to the camper for a status report, with our setup.

Charlie

I think we'll get our order going. Then I should have a little time to work with Newmar.

I still have no idea how the satellite dish is wired...amongst other things. I spoke to another member the other day who is having cable run for a tripod dish...in case the traveler is completely bicker by trees.

These are good things to think about...which I wouldn't have thought of.

Time to get my thinking cap on.

Thanks for the replies and pointers. Very much appreciated Gentlemen!!
Unlike most other manufacturers, the wiring for a ground satellite is optional with Newmar. We discovered that early enough in our order to add it. Newmar adds an additional jack in the election bay and then an A/B switch in the component cabinet. We ofter have to use our portable dish when under trees.
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 02:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmarpusher View Post
Unlike most other manufacturers, the wiring for a ground satellite is optional with Newmar. We discovered that early enough in our order to add it. Newmar adds an additional jack in the election bay and then an A/B switch in the component cabinet. We ofter have to use our portable dish when under trees.
Good to know....

Thanks so much!:thumb
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 08:41 AM   #10
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,114
You should be talking to the people in this link for your specials you want done very accommodating.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 Triple E in dash air conditioning has stopped working, need wiring diagram. B Trevathan Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 09-09-2014 04:02 PM
Support for Wiring Harness - Chassis To Slideout Doc Hugh Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 08-20-2014 10:54 PM
Wiring switch for dedicated Inverter line jdpm RV Systems & Appliances 35 08-10-2014 09:21 PM
Repair Loose Wall Outlet bruceisla RV Systems & Appliances 15 03-31-2014 04:47 AM
Toilet outlet pipe & clogging myredracer Travel Trailer Discussion 31 09-03-2013 08:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×