RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2014, 07:30 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
fountain42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 212
Outside TV

when I turn on the TV inside it also turns on the outside TV?
__________________

__________________
Gary and Karen plus our furry kids Sable, Jetta, & Winston. 2014 Newmar DutchStar 4369 & 2013 Chevy Equinox.
Home is where we park it
fountain42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-03-2014, 09:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MI & AZ
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by fountain42 View Post
when I turn on the TV inside it also turns on the outside TV?
Is your remote for both TV's the same? Are both TV models the same? Is your remote an RF capable remote with an FCC sticker on the back? If so it is likely strong enough that the outside TV is seeing the signal and thinks you mean to turn it on. I think you can change a setting on an RF (radio Frequency) remote to change it to IR (infrared) mode so it has to be pointed t the TV. This way the outside TV wouldn't 'see' it and not turn on.

Ted
__________________

__________________
Ted & Ruth Ann Hindes - NKK AZ State Directors
2014 Newmar Ventana 4377, 1400 Watts of Solar, Air Force 1 Brake, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland
tednruthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fountain42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 212
Thanks Ted I'll have to check
__________________
Gary and Karen plus our furry kids Sable, Jetta, & Winston. 2014 Newmar DutchStar 4369 & 2013 Chevy Equinox.
Home is where we park it
fountain42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,401
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by fountain42 View Post
when I turn on the TV inside it also turns on the outside TV?
I'm confused. Are you asking "if" it does..... or "why" does it?
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:26 AM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 15,307
Gary......Your one remote will turn on all of your TV's. We usually watch the 40" above the dash, but noticed one night I was seeing some flashing from behind the fireplace where there is a TV on a televator. That TV came on when I turned the front TV on.

One night while watching TV late, I muted the TV up front and could still here a TV. I went outside and found that TV on. I'm guessing the neighbors loved it.

Here is what I did.....Stanley (tool company) sells a set of three wall plugs that you plug into an outlet and then plug the TV into that. It has a remote that allows you to turn that outlet on and off. It's a more technical version of the "Clapper".

I just got them yesterday to keep things turned off when we boondock. I installed one on the outside TV because it was hard to reach the plug under the sink and disconnect when not in use and one on the microwave. I don't like having the microwave on when boondocking. Now I can remotely turn on the things I rarely use without having to plug them back in.

Surprisingly, Harbor Freight sells the plugs.

I use our DirecTV remote to turn on the front TV and I try and make sure I'm not near the TV behind the fireplace.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 02:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3,059
Don, good idea. Our Tv did the same thing. One night we were laying in bed and turned off the bedroom Tv to go to sleep...we kept hearing people taking, it was eal faint but they sounded like they were right outside next to our RV. I looked outside and didn't see anything, it was around midnight and I thought it was just the neighbors talking. I finally went outside and checked things out only to find all the close campsites with lights out, I still heard the talking and finally opened the Outside TV storage area and the TV was on...we hadn't even used it on this particular trip. We had a good laugh......
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 07:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
slabman's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fairview TX
Posts: 2,281
I operate my LR and over dash TV's with the RF remote from my DTV Genie. Lately, I find it's about impossible to turn on the televator TV without firing up the over-the-dash TV. I don't think the Sony TV's speak RF, so it has to be seeing an IR signal from that remote. But the dash TV receives a signal even if I discreetly place my body between the remote and TV when turning it on. How does it do this?

Never have checked the basement TV...hope it's not also on.....
__________________
Slabman
2018 Newmar Ventana
2007 Lexus LX470 Toad
slabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 03:07 PM   #8
Member
 
johnnysfun's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 41
Something else to consider.

The way our Ventana is wired is that the HDMI source signal is connected to a HDMI splitter that sends the signal to all the TVs. The benefit and in this case, the disadvantage of the way HDMI works is that if a source (i.e. SAT or DVD) is sending a signal to the TV, it will turn on automatically. There are settings on the TV to change this. That may be why they all come on.
__________________
John & Becky
2012 Newmar Ventana 3433 / All Electric
2014 Jeep Cherokee
johnnysfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 07:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 122
If the plug is easily accessible why not just unplug the outside tv when not in use?
__________________
Jim and Judy - Colorado Springs
2014 Newmar Ventana LE 3634
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Toad
jimfh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:29 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
danleininger's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Wales, FL (Lake Ashton RV Community)
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by slabman View Post
I operate my LR and over dash TV's with the RF remote from my DTV Genie. Lately, I find it's about impossible to turn on the televator TV without firing up the over-the-dash TV. I don't think the Sony TV's speak RF, so it has to be seeing an IR signal from that remote. But the dash TV receives a signal even if I discreetly place my body between the remote and TV when turning it on. How does it do this?

Never have checked the basement TV...hope it's not also on.....
Slab

There should be a "Vacation" switch on the side of the Over the Dash TV. I keep that turned off except when we use it. This stops the accidental turn ons.

I believe all Sony TVs have a power switch (Usually at the top) on the side of the tv where all the channel and volume buttons are. Turning this Power button off disables the TV until it's turned back on.
__________________
Dan Leininger
2019 Mountain Aire 4534 and a 2017 Ford Expedition 4x4
danleininger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
slabman's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fairview TX
Posts: 2,281
No switch on the side of my Bravia, but I did manageto solve the problem. Go to "settings", followed by "setup", go to" Bravia Sync. Settings", then turn "TV Auto Power On" to "OFF". Ptoblem solved!
__________________
Slabman
2018 Newmar Ventana
2007 Lexus LX470 Toad
slabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 10:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
FRasco's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 739
Awesome!
__________________

__________________
Frank (RVM88), Lourdes, ChiChi and Coco!
Newmar 2016 DSDP 4381, 2016 Jeep Sahara Unlimited, Blue Ox Alladin Towbar with SMI Air Force One
FRasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×