RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2017, 07:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 4,326
Plugging into a 15A GFCI Outlet?

Has anybody with a big rig had success plugging into a 15A GFCI? What steps do you take? I have had no luck at all. Tried reducing SHORE setting, Tried bypassing the Progressive EMS. The GFCI pops immediately. No problem with a non GFCI, but they are rare.
__________________

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2019 F250 King Ranch 4x4 Powerstroke
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-03-2017, 07:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Chargerman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,399
Canít plug into a GFI outlet or it will do exactly whatís happening. Nothing you can do to make a GFI outlet work.
__________________

__________________
Steven & Laurie
2006 Moncaco Executive Rainier
Detrioit Series 60 (515HP), Allison 4000 series
Chargerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:03 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,098
Here is information for house service to keep batteries all fully charged, all you need is 110 outlet.
GFI could be recognizing a problem in coach like electric elements leaking to their casings in a Gas refrigerator for instance.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,849
Most likely your charger/inverter trips it. GFCI's and them don't work together......
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/inver...fi-147599.html
__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DrPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 969
I found this same problem with a GFI, but on a hunch I suspected a problem with the GFI. Replacement with a new one resolved the problem.
__________________
Phil and Laura (and Sam too!)
2017 DSDP 4369 on Spartan K2
2017 Unltd Rhino Rubi Recon Toad
DrPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 11,595
Open the 120V AC circuit Breaker that is for Fridge Electric element (or unplug fridge power cord)

Then try using the GFCI outlet
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Fiesta48's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,664
Had this problem at my son's house parked on the street.
0utside outlet on the porch was protected by a GFCI.
So I plugged into a garage outlet, no problem. We were there for 2 months. Try living with 15A that long. Luckily our A/C only uses 8A.
Finally ran a second long cord from the porch thru a RV window so we could run microwave, toaster, etc.
__________________
Full Timers.
2015 Fleetwood Discovery 40E on a Freightliner XCS chassis with a Cummins ISL9 pulling 1 and/or 2 motorcycles, '07 Honda Accord OR a 17' Runabout Boat.
Fiesta48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 3,133
Check your power cords. I plug my 40' MH via 50a cord, 30a extensions, over 100' into a GFCI outlet on my front porch. Have done the same with our previous 5ver, 30a cords and 30a extensions, different GFCI, no problems. Check your cords. My 30a extension cords use twist-lock connectors like the ones used on construction generators. Blade-type connectors heat up and burn up, they are junk.
__________________
Bill, Kathi and Zorro; '05 Beaver Patriot Thunder
2012 Sunnybrook Harmony 21FBS (SQEZINN)
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
cruzbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 03:55 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
winniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,979
Have the same problem when my friend comes to visit with his rv. I just plug his coach in with an extension cord that doesnt have a ground prong. It doesnt pop the gfi then. I have to do the same with my block heater on my backhoe. It will pop the gfi every time if I use an extension cord with a ground on it. I know I will get taken to task for telling you this, but gfi s are a pain in the butt most times. We have worked on boathouses, and dropped the end of the cord in the lake by accident, and it didnt trip the gfi. Next time, one drop of rain and all the gfi s are tripping.
__________________
2000 coachmen santara 370 5.9 cummins isb
winniman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,580
RVs and gfci circuits often don't get along. Best to just use a non gfci outlet.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 4,326
OK. Sounds like I'm not alone. I don't think there is anything wrong with my coach. I have a residential fridge (1.1A @ 120V). My 110V electric elements are off on the Hydro-hot. I set SHORE to 15A and have even tried going down to 5A. I use the 50 A cord all the way to the outlet. I have tried multiple adapters. As soon as I plug it in, the GFCI trips. May have to re-think this. Non GFCI, no problem. I have camped on 30A power many times. I may consider carrying an external battery charger and connecting it directly to the coach batteries, then running everything off the inverter.

Winniman, just for grins, I may try removing the ground prong on an adapter and see if works. Thanks.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2019 F250 King Ranch 4x4 Powerstroke
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
RVRon's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mid-Hudson Valley NY, USA
Posts: 1,148
Scotty, I wouldnít ignore the issue. Maybe not your problem but my Ď05 HR would do this. It was fine with a regular outlet. Went through 3 transfer switches before blowing up a 50 amp pedestal.
Turns out the invertor/charger had a short and I had 115 volts on my neutral.
A mobile RV tech diagnosed it, Magnum replaced the faulty unit and all was well but please, donít ignore the GFI issue. Could be a small or a big problem. Good luck with it. - Ron
__________________
Ron & Kathy
2008 Marathon Coach XLVII
2019 Ford F150 Limited 450hp

RVRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 383
I dont have this issue, even with a progressive industries surge protector. I put the shore setting to 10 amp, and reduced to a regular extension cord, then plug into the GFI at the storage facility.

No muss no fuss.
__________________
2016 Ventana LE 4040
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
BlueOx BP w NSA ReadyBrute
pilotspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:43 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 4,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotspike View Post
I dont have this issue, even with a progressive industries surge protector. I put the shore setting to 10 amp, and reduced to a regular extension cord, then plug into the GFI at the storage facility.

No muss no fuss.
Quote:
Scotty, I wouldn’t ignore the issue. Maybe not your problem but my ‘05 HR would do this. It was fine with a regular outlet. Went through 3 transfer switches before blowing up a 50 amp pedestal.
Turns out the invertor/charger had a short and I had 115 volts on my neutral.
A mobile RV tech diagnosed it, Magnum replaced the faulty unit and all was well but please, don’t ignore the GFI issue. Could be a small or a big problem. Good luck with it. - Ron
HMMM! I do have a new Magnum MHS 3012 (Hybrid) on the way, replacing my ME 3112 modified SW inverter. Maybe, we will see if that makes a difference once I get it installed.
__________________

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2019 F250 King Ranch 4x4 Powerstroke
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coachmen: GFCI will not reset after plugging multi plug in and connecting three other outlets i batman54 Forest River Owners Forum 4 10-16-2017 03:33 PM
Why can't 15A + 15A = 30A? F4Gary RV Systems & Appliances 68 02-12-2016 07:55 AM
Plugging into 15a at home HavingABlast Newmar Owner's Forum 40 01-02-2016 02:28 PM
Issue Plugging in at Home - GFCI vettenuts Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 07-03-2014 01:01 AM
plugging into 110 outlet bmerritt Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 02-14-2011 07:15 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×