RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2018, 03:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Satelite Receiver Installation

I have a new to me 2009 Mountain Aire with a Winegard Traveler satellite and Direct TV. The dish is functioning and locked on the satelites however I am trying to figure out how to install the receiver. I found the satellite feed in the mid ship cabinet but do not see any cables going back tp to the TV's other than the large round multi pin cables that do not fit the receiver. Should I have a BOMB?
MCms is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-25-2018, 06:22 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
I found the satellite feed in the mid ship cabinet but do not see any cables going back tp to the TV's other than the large round multi pin cables that do not fit the receiver. Should I have a BOMB?
MCms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 08:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rotten-Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Benton Harbor, Michigan
Posts: 841
I see you're not having much luck in getting a answer on your question, since this is the second time around you have asked them. I'm not much help either. Maybe if you can post some pictures of the cabinet and the wiring coming in from the Trav'ler someone may be able to give you some ideas on how to hook it up.
__________________
2008 Nash 25S
Rotten-Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 10:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Magredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 323
Try posting in the technology section, there's a bunch of people there who are up on Satellite TV
__________________
2015 Dutch Star 4381
Workin on the road
Currently Houston Tx
Magredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 10:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotten-Red View Post
I see you're not having much luck in getting a answer on your question, since this is the second time around you have asked them. I'm not much help either. Maybe if you can post some pictures of the cabinet and the wiring coming in from the Trav'ler someone may be able to give you some ideas on how to hook it up.
I have 2 coaches in the last 9 months. The first was a nightmare when it came to the satellite, it was a dish. My newest is direct TV with the traveler like yours. You'll need to do some tracing of your coax to get the fastest answers. The best tool I've found and have used constantly is the line Tracer tool from home depot. It's the Sperry Lan Tracer for 40 bucks. To give you a starting point trace the coax from the traveler to direct TV splitter. Unscrew the coax on the out side of the splitter hook up the Tracer tool then go to the back side of your TV to locate the correct coax for the direct TV. Hope this helps.
__________________
2008 MADP 4523
patrickemb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
FORTRIDER's Avatar
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: N Rim of the Poudre
Posts: 270
Sounds like you may be missing the box that has switches to change from Sat. to cable and connects all the TV's. Not sure what the box is called but our box has the output for the 4 different televisions and also what your input is.
__________________
2009 Essex - Bordeaux
2016 Mini Cooper S
2016 Moto Guzzi Stornello 2016 Ducati Monster 821 on a Hydralift
FORTRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discovery 40E Satelite Reciever Question rambler5860 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 03-07-2014 01:10 PM
Satilite Reciever installation Blake Sprague Fleetwood Owner's Forum 9 10-25-2007 04:29 AM
Direct TV Reciever problems Trek-Cyclist RV Systems & Appliances 3 05-08-2007 06:13 AM
Portable Satelite dish installation and Svc. max49 Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 12-23-2006 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.