RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2017, 04:58 PM   #1
Member
 
jerry bies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 67
Sony TV's

HELP... 2015 Dutch Star has 4 TV's, using one remote will turn on all the tv's. I've tried tricking the little devils to just turn on one tv at a time but I have given up trying. Will welcome greatly needed fix.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Jerry & Patti 2015 Dutch Star 4369 2013 Ford F150 4X4 (toad)
jerry bies is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-22-2017, 07:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
garybtt's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 309
sony TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry bies View Post
HELP... 2015 Dutch Star has 4 TV's, using one remote will turn on all the tv's. I've tried tricking the little devils to just turn on one tv at a time but I have given up trying. Will welcome greatly needed fix.
Thanks
We have the same problem, we unplug the outside TV to keep it from going on.
__________________

__________________
2015 Dutch Starr 4018

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
garybtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 08:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 5,639
you have all of the same type tv... so therefore the same remote works all of them and the remotes are probably RF (Radio Frequency) if it controls all at once...

if you can, change the remotes from RF to IR so that it is only line of sight to control one tv at a time... (you might have to change tv settings too)

worst case scenario, go buy a universal remote that can do IR...

good luck !
__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk, 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 08:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
David D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 347
I have 4 TV's also but the only 2 that come on at the same time are the 2 front TV's . The outside and bedroom TV's have never come on when turning on the living room TV's . Maybe call Newmar CS and have them help out.
David D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 10:25 PM   #5
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by David D. View Post
I have 4 TV's also but the only 2 that come on at the same time are the 2 front TV's . The outside and bedroom TV's have never come on when turning on the living room TV's . Maybe call Newmar CS and have them help out.



IR vs. RF remotes are not the issue. It was dumb of Newmar to put 3 or 4 of the same brand TV's within several feet of each other. There is really nothing to be done other than to turn on the TV's manually with the power button behind the left edge of each TV. With only one TV on at a time, you'll be driven crazy far less.
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 08:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmarpusher View Post
IR vs. RF remotes are not the issue. It was dumb of Newmar to put 3 or 4 of the same brand TV's within several feet of each other. There is really nothing to be done other than to turn on the TV's manually with the power button behind the left edge of each TV. With only one TV on at a time, you'll be driven crazy far less.
Yup ...turn on manually and then control channels/volume/etc with the remote.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 08:44 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Newport, OR
Posts: 23
Go to Harbor Freight and get a set of remote control for electric plugs. I bought a set of four in a package and the remote. They are not expensive. You plug the module into the wall plug and then the set into that. I have one on my sat. box, the front TV, the one on the televator TV, and the outside TV. Turn off the ones you don't want. No more problem.

__________________
Capt. Walt
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 Lincoln MKX
WIngell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 3,177
I replaced my front TV with a bigger Vizio. No problems now.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 02:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 775
Hi - Our current coach has LG TVs but the same issue. If you partially cover the signal receiver on the TV it will be less sensitive and not turn on/ change channels etc. when you are intending to have the remote work a different TV. A small piece of masking tape does the job. Likely to work on your Sony as well.

Tom
__________________
Tom and Annie & Java
Fulltiming since 2011
2020 DSDP 4369 Spartan
Ricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 08:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bobsharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 274
My two front Vizios do the same thing...but, if I hold the power switch for 5 seconds (hard power-off) that TV no longer powers on with remote, at least for awhile. It will eventually resume responding. I don't know what total solution will involve other than physically blocking the IR port.
__________________
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037, 2010 Chevy Equinox LTZ
Roadmaster tow stuff, Winegard Trav'ler SWM/DirecTV
2+2 USAF Retired, 2IDGITS
bobsharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 02:21 PM   #11
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,368
Has anyone called the Vizio people for their input on a possible solution?
__________________
2010 Newmar Dutch Aire DP 4304-Cummins ISL 425hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 04:13 PM   #12
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,958
I've been doing what "WIngell" does for a couple of years. I bought the Stanley brand remote switch plugs from Harbor Freight. They worked well for a year or so, but then started having issues. I replaced them with a better set from Amazon.

I have one on the televator TV, outside TV and microwave. I like to turn my microwave off when the coach is stored. We watch our TV over the windshield 95% of the time, so I leave the large TV on the televator off. The plug to the outside TV is waaaay under my sink, so I used one of those grabbers on a pole to install that one. I mounted the remote control, with Velcro, on the inside of the cabinet door, to the left of the microwave.

I was watching late one night and kept hearing an echo. I finally turned the volume down on the inside TV to find out the outside TV was and blaring. I'm sure the people next to us appreciated it.

No more issues with TV's coming on when I don't want them on.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:16 PM   #13
Member
 
MrCosio's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 48
My experience with Sony tvs switching on by themselves wasn't related to the remote. It was because they were set to auto switch on when they sensed an hdmi connection. Go thru the setting on each tv and turn off anything to do with Bravia sync.
__________________
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3920
MrCosio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:30 PM   #14
Member
 
jerry bies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 67
A BIG THANKS to all who responded and read Sony tv post. MRCOSIA had it right on. Give it a try ,it worked for mine. Do all 4 tv's in the setting menu/peferance and turn off all Bravia Sinc .
__________________

__________________
Jerry & Patti 2015 Dutch Star 4369 2013 Ford F150 4X4 (toad)
jerry bies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Receiver Upgrade Option (Sony STR-DH550 vs STR-DH750) from Newmar as a Special CUME91 Newmar Owner's Forum 5 02-15-2016 05:45 PM
replace Sony Camera w/Voyager camera & Sony adapter DON'T DO IT okiegirl2u Fleetwood Owner's Forum 3 08-28-2015 12:09 PM
Sony sound bar system dshogman Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 12-22-2008 05:43 PM
Sony rear view camera replacement davidj2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 07-13-2007 03:51 AM
Sony Rearview Monitor Tom Williams Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 05-13-2007 05:49 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×