RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2020, 11:06 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 596
Switching to Dish.

It looks like it's time to make the switch. I have the trav ler set up and have checked out the videos with what needs to be done on the satellite side to make the switch. I have some questions about setting up my account with dish. I still have a stick and brick that I'll be switching as well. My biggest question is can I get the install in my S&B then do as I have done with direct tv, just pull the equipment out of my S&B place in my coach when we are on the road? I don't want 2 accounts.
__________________

__________________
2008 MADP 4523
patrickemb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-11-2020, 12:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
reubenray's Avatar




 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Osprey RV Resort, Elberta, AL
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickemb View Post
It looks like it's time to make the switch. I have the trav ler set up and have checked out the videos with what needs to be done on the satellite side to make the switch. I have some questions about setting up my account with dish. I still have a stick and brick that I'll be switching as well. My biggest question is can I get the install in my S&B then do as I have done with direct tv, just pull the equipment out of my S&B place in my coach when we are on the road? I don't want 2 accounts.
Yep

I choose to go the Wally in the motorhome route mainly due to my setup is too hard to remove the receiver. Plus a lot of OTA recording are done on the S&B receiver when I cannot get OTA signals while traveling sometimes.

It is all on one account. I activate/deactivate the Wally as I take trips trips. A single Wally cost me $7 a month when it is activated.

[Mod Edit]
__________________

__________________
Raymond, Dee Dee and Sophie (Yorkie)
2017 Ventana LE 4037 -
2016 Chevrolet Equinox - V6 - AWD
reubenray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 05:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubenray View Post
Yep

I choose to go the Wally in the motorhome route mainly due to my setup is too hard to remove the receiver. Plus a lot of OTA recording are done on the S&B receiver when I cannot get OTA signals while traveling sometimes.

It is all on one account. I activate/deactivate the Wally as I take trips trips. A single Wally cost me $7 a month when it is activated.

[Mod Edit]
I've got 4 tv's at the s&b and 3 in the coach. Mine are easy to remove and place in the coach. All 3 in the coach have easy access as well.
__________________
2008 MADP 4523
patrickemb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 05:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 130
I have had DISH in my S&B for a decade. Just put it in the rig. I just pay the $7.00 a month for the single Wally I have powering 3 TV's. For $84.00 a year I do not even bother to turn it off with DISH but as previously stated you can turn it off and save $7.00 for that month. Not sure if you can turn it off for a partial period during a month and have it prorated. Does anyone know if that is doable? Say DISH will only charge you $3.50 if you have it on for two weeks?
__________________
2017 Newmar
Bay Star 3401
davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 08:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bucky573's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidceder View Post
I have had DISH in my S&B for a decade. Just put it in the rig. I just pay the $7.00 a month for the single Wally I have powering 3 TV's. For $84.00 a year I do not even bother to turn it off with DISH but as previously stated you can turn it off and save $7.00 for that month. Not sure if you can turn it off for a partial period during a month and have it prorated. Does anyone know if that is doable? Say DISH will only charge you $3.50 if you have it on for two weeks?


Itís month by month. No prorate for partial months.
__________________
Tom Sawyer
2010 Ventana 4333, Spartan w/Cummins ISC 360HP
Bucky573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 08:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
enjoyrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
I have the Hopper 3 receiver and two wireless Joeys. I use Hopper 3 and one Joey in stick build and the other Joey in the motorhome when RV is parked adjacent to house. When on the road I take Hopper 3 and one Joey for motorhome. We seldom use outside tv so I donít take second Joey along in motorhome. Works great.
__________________
Rich NKK19266
2010 Dutch Aire 4317
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Ecodiesel
enjoyrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 08:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,404
No reason to switch if all is working ok. I have both east and west coast network feeds, NFL package so no reason for me to switch or to ever call these clowns. Locals, not interested.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 08:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 429
Dish has 2 ways of setting up an account 1. A regular account for home 2. Dish Outdoors


If you have Dish at home all you need to do is either take your receiver outside and plug it in or buy a second receiver and leave it in it.

I'm lazy so I bought a Hopper2 off of Amazon and set it up in the MH. If for some reason we are not going to use the MH for a while I get online and have it turned off. Then when we get ready to go I just turn it back on. But I usually forget to have it turned off.

I haven't spoken to anyone at Dish in years I always use the Chat feature, it works soooooo much better.
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 03:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickemb View Post
I've got 4 tv's at the s&b and 3 in the coach. Mine are easy to remove and place in the coach. All 3 in the coach have easy access as well.
Then get a Hopper 3 and three Joeys for the S&B. Before you go RVing, just move the Hopper 3 and two of your Joeys to your RV.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 06:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 65
Switching to Dish

I have two Dish Wallys in my motorhome and recently came back from a two week trip. I had Dish turn on the two Walllys before I left and had Dish turn them off when I got home. Yesterday I received my monthly bill from Dish and the two Wallys were prorated for the two weeks they were turned on. Dish charged me $3.50 per Wally for the two weeks for a total of $7.00.

I had Directv for twenty years and was happy with them until they were purchased by AT&T. I switched to Dish for the house and motorhome and have been very satisfied.
skitcharoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 10:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 596
Thanks for all the posts. My questions were answered. Seems like all I need to do with the dish is the same as direct once I make the conversion to the satellite.
__________________
2008 MADP 4523
patrickemb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 01:14 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
MD-Keith's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Odessa, FL
Posts: 262
I see no reason not to take your home receiver on the road in the MH, but doesn't a Hopper require an internet connection, which can be problematic in RV parks?
MD-Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 01:41 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Healeyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 453
I don't know if this will work for all Dish customers, but let me tell you what I did.

I have had Dish at home for over 20 years. A couple of years ago I got a new smart phone. The phone is with Verizon and they grandfathered my old Unlimited Data plan.

At that time I installed the Dish App. on my new phone. I could watch ALL Dish programming AND my recorded (on the DVR at home) programs anywhere I was (that I had a phone signal).

A couple of months ago, I looked into sending my phone video to the TV in the RV. I may have missed some options, but it appears that there is not a simple wireless way to do that.

I already had a long HDMI cable so I bought a dongle (adapter = $15 on Amazon) that plugs into my phone and into the HDMI cable to the TV. By changing the "Input Source" on the TV, I can now see whatever is on my phone.

I have used a dozen or so times for real time Dish programming and recordings and it works great.

No Sat dish or change to the Dish account nor any change to my phone plan was necessary.

Tim
__________________

Healeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching KVH L2/S2 from Dish to DirectTV Yrachmael Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 12-31-2015 12:09 PM
DISH & DirecTV Users -- Switching Local TV Stations? TechWriter Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 09-25-2015 01:21 PM
Switching back and forth between Winegard Travler 1000 and Dish 1000.2 for Dish Net DJJ Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 05-31-2015 07:29 PM
switching Winegard satellite dish from Direct to Dish Roadweary Newmar Owner's Forum 6 11-03-2013 07:54 AM
Switching between Roof Top Dish and Tripod Dish? Zbugsii Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 02-15-2009 02:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×