Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2021, 11:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 801
The OTA Antenna

My OTA antenna has quit working.

We have an 8 year old DS with Dish and the adapter to run OTA channels though the Hopper. This is the 3rd RV we've had this setup on.

When we bought the DS 2.5 years ago we had the dealer install a Trav'ler, our Hopper2 with the OTA adapter. The OTA has never been really good but OK.
I did replace the power booster some time ago with little effect.

Yesterday we lost all local channels.

Does anyone know how easy/difficult it might be to run new coax from the antenna to the booster and then from the booster to cabinet above the drivers seat? Suggestions?

That would be my step one then replace the antenna as my step 2.

Thanks
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2021, 11:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 801
BTW yes, I do know I can move my local service to where I am (did that yesterday) but I would prefer to use the OTA antenna and not mess with Dish Support.
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2,708
Blog Entries: 3
I had to replace the coax that was external to the motorhome, the one going up to and thru the antenna itself. It wasn't too bad. Had to remove the plate that covered the connection on the roof, and then reseal. That's likely where your issue is.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired USAF
HarryStone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 09:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lrwinddancer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Athens, AL
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
BTW yes, I do know I can move my local service to where I am (did that yesterday) but I would prefer to use the OTA antenna and not mess with Dish Support.
When I installed my Dish Satellite, I was told I could get local channels, but have never been able to actually get that to work. If I am within a couple hundred miles of home base my local channels come in. Can you tell me how you got local to your location channels from Dish. BTW, yes I pay the extra amount to get them. Thanks
__________________
Lynn
Athens, AL 35611
2020, Dutch Star 4081, 2020 Forest River FR3 34DS
lrwinddancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 10:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrwinddancer View Post
When I installed my Dish Satellite, I was told I could get local channels, but have never been able to actually get that to work. If I am within a couple hundred miles of home base my local channels come in. Can you tell me how you got local to your location channels from Dish. BTW, yes I pay the extra amount to get them. Thanks
It's a little bit of a dance with Dish.

Go to Mydish.com
Sign In
Go to the chat in the lower right corner
type; service address (I hadn't done it in a while and was able to do it all through chat before but not now)
It popped up a window with a number to call.
I called the number and I told the lady we were traveling in our RV and would like to change our service address. She was very nice and said no problem.
I gave her the complete address of the RV Park and she said it would take a few minutes. call completed
I checked the guide about 10 minutes later and we were good.
I'll do the same when we get home.

Word of caution, this will change all of your Dish devices, so if you "have the game" setup to record at home on local channels Saturday it probably won't record it.
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 07:53 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steele's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
BTW yes, I do know I can move my local service to where I am (did that yesterday) but I would prefer to use the OTA antenna and not mess with Dish Support.


You can use the phone app to move to the local, it takes about 3 minutes and you don’t have to deal with phone non support! 🤪🤣
__________________
John and Lynn, Fulltimers
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 07:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Steele's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 742
The OTA Antenna

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrwinddancer View Post
When I installed my Dish Satellite, I was told I could get local channels, but have never been able to actually get that to work. If I am within a couple hundred miles of home base my local channels come in. Can you tell me how you got local to your location channels from Dish. BTW, yes I pay the extra amount to get them. Thanks


The locals are on “spot beam” transponders and have a smaller cone on the ground then that of the wider spots the upper channel have. The coverage area also vary slightly in different parts of the country depending on home markets. In the East they are fairly small and out west they appear to cover more ground.

As mentioned above the phone app is easy to use and takes minutes to change from one local package to the next. We’ve been using this for almost 5 years of FT travel.
__________________
John and Lynn, Fulltimers
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 08:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steele View Post
You can use the phone app to move to the local, it takes about 3 minutes and you don’t have to deal with phone non support! 🤪🤣
Specifically, which app are you speaking of?


Thanks
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 07:19 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Clemson's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 258
Download the My Dish app; establish your account; log in and go to “Manage My Channels
__________________
2022 Newmar Dutch Star 4369
2018 Jeep JL Sahara Unlimited
Clemson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 09:10 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemson View Post
Download the My Dish app; establish your account; log in and go to “Manage My Channels
Is this by chance for a Dish Outdoors account?


I have a residential account and did not find "Manage my Channels" in the app.
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2019 F150 KR
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 09:30 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
My OTA antenna has quit working.

We have an 8 year old DS with Dish and the adapter to run OTA channels though the Hopper. This is the 3rd RV we've had this setup on.

When we bought the DS 2.5 years ago we had the dealer install a Trav'ler, our Hopper2 with the OTA adapter. The OTA has never been really good but OK.
I did replace the power booster some time ago with little effect.

Yesterday we lost all local channels.

Does anyone know how easy/difficult it might be to run new coax from the antenna to the booster and then from the booster to cabinet above the drivers seat? Suggestions?

That would be my step one then replace the antenna as my step 2.

Thanks
Did you check for 12 volts at the antenna first just to verify that the replacement booster has not failed?
__________________
Brian, 2011 Winnebago Via Class A on Sprinter Chassis
Tucson, AZ
https://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/1040577.png
bigb56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 10:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
lrwinddancer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Athens, AL
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steele View Post
You can use the phone app to move to the local, it takes about 3 minutes and you don’t have to deal with phone non support! 🤪🤣
Thanks I will give this a try. I just tried it away from the Coach and it looks like it wants my TV/Receiver turned on? I did have to do a little digging to find the page to manage my local listings, but it sounds like it should not be a big deal.
__________________
Lynn
Athens, AL 35611
2020, Dutch Star 4081, 2020 Forest River FR3 34DS
lrwinddancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 10:13 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
lrwinddancer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Athens, AL
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
Is this by chance for a Dish Outdoors account?


I have a residential account and did not find "Manage my Channels" in the app.
Yes it is a Outdoors account just in my Coach.
__________________
Lynn
Athens, AL 35611
2020, Dutch Star 4081, 2020 Forest River FR3 34DS
lrwinddancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 11:29 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
Is this by chance for a Dish Outdoors account?


I have a residential account and did not find "Manage my Channels" in the app.
Yes. It is available for Dish Outdoors accounts only.

You can move from a Residential account to Dish Outdoors. When I did it several years ago, it required creating a new account.
bentjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard's Air360+ for OTA VS. Dish Wally OTA Tuner RJEV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 08-15-2020 07:16 PM
TV Antenna (OTA) Pointing Guide Route 66 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 45 06-26-2019 01:22 PM
OTA Antenna? reubenray Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 02-08-2013 12:10 PM
OTA crank up antenna Tomp4801 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 11-12-2012 04:44 PM
If I hook up an analog TV to OTA antenna... USMCRET Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 12-11-2011 07:19 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.