RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2013, 07:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
cptngym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Illinois For now
Posts: 115
TV issues

2002 DSDP with King Dome, hooked up my DISH box a 722 DVR. Tried everything I could think of and did not get anything on the TV so I could find a satellite and lock in. TV's have been upgraded to flat HD style. I am thinking they may have changed the wiring from the switching box when they did that. Antenna works fine but nothing from the king dome with the dish hooked up. I would have thought I would have at least seen the searching for sat screen but nothing. Ideas? Thinking of just calling a dealer and having a DISH tra'vler installed.... and moving on. Let them figure this out. King Dome is original and I suspect out of date with these new boxes.
__________________

cptngym is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2013, 07:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Which KingDome model is it? Not all recv's work with the domes.
__________________

jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,029
If you're not even seeing the Dish setup screens, then the problem is between the TV and the receiver. You might ALSO have a problem with the dome, but deal with that after you get the first problem solved.

What input are you selecting on the TV, and how did they connect the receiver to the TV (what kind of cable)?

Also - is this RV new to you? Or were you using the Dish receiver before the TVs were upgraded?
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
cptngym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Illinois For now
Posts: 115
Receiver is from the house and is in working order. Since we need it to work like the house when parked we are going to make the switch to the DISH trav'ler . the surround is not working or I have not turned on the right switches or when the TV's where upgraded the wired something funny. Coach is new to us so sorting out all of this.
cptngym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Stevegd007's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cochise County, Arizona
Posts: 766
cptngym, I have the King Dome and was using the Dish 301 receiver. When I first tried to set ever thing up I had no luck. Upon some research I found the King Dome was set up for Direct and would not work with my Dish. There is a programer device that plugs into the control box inside the RV that will quickly change and set your Kind Dome to the correct Satellite Company. Ask around for this programer, if you think that yours may be set for Direct.
I upgraded my home setup for the Dish Hopper/Joey. I found my Dish 301 was not going to work with my new HD home sets. Something Dish was doing with programing. (I now have a surplus 301...any on want it?) I was told I needed to go to a Dish 211K HD for my RV needs. Just got the 211k this week and I still need to get the receiver on line..have not done this yet. I have already checked in with King Dome CSR and the 211K will work OK with my King Dome. It has 1 LNB and will auto switch between 110, 119 and 129 depending on what you are viewing.
__________________
Steve & Leslie
Forest River 2018 Forester 3011DS
Honda 2010 CR-V "Toad"
Stevegd007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
I think you need to get satellite 72 77 and 61.5 for HD
__________________
dick & laurie (and a dog named ted) 2006 ks cummins
olivers99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivers99 View Post
I think you need to get satellite 72 77 and 61.5 for HD
That's the eastern arc. You can also use 110, 119, 129 (the western arc) for Dish.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivers99 View Post
I think you need to get satellite 72 77 and 61.5 for HD
No, Stevegd007 is correct. I have the 211K setup in my RV and it uses 110, 119 and 129. I have a KVH, but it also switches between satellites.
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikelm48 View Post
No, Stevegd007 is correct. I have the 211K setup in my RV and it uses 110, 119 and 129. I have a KVH, but it also switches between satellites.
They both work, just depends on where you are. You can't get 129 too far east.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:50 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
He says he has a 722 box and I believe he needs to get satellites 72 77 and 61.5. if he wants to get HD. Satellites 110 119 and 129 are not HD
__________________
dick & laurie (and a dog named ted) 2006 ks cummins
olivers99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by olivers99 View Post
He says he has a 722 box and I believe he needs to get satellites 72 77 and 61.5. if he wants to get HD. Satellites 110 119 and 129 are not HD
All Dish HD content is available from either arc. You might be confused because the eastern arc requires an MPEG-4 receiver, while the western arc does not.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 05:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
cptngym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Illinois For now
Posts: 115
King dome gone....Winegard Trav'ler installed all id good!
cptngym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 05:42 PM   #13
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,105
Thanks for the follow up glad all is good for you, safe travels.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×