RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2019, 06:37 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gonna_Wander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 463
Xcite House Mode button no longer selectable

The House Mode button on our Xcite screen is now grayed out and can't be selected. I've reset the Xcite system a few times without any luck.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Ken
__________________

__________________
New Aire 3343
Gonna_Wander is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-10-2019, 07:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: LA CA
Posts: 6,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonna_Wander View Post
The House Mode button on our Xcite screen is now grayed out and can't be selected. I've reset the Xcite system a few times without any luck.



Any suggestions?



Thanks,

Ken


When you say reset, did you turn off the power to the house 12V system? Battery disconnect
__________________

__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 07:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gonna_Wander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart W View Post
When you say reset, did you turn off the power to the house 12V system? Battery disconnect
I turned the battery disconnect (salesmen switch) on and off twice and also reset the xcite system by holding the power/volume button in for a few seconds. I had this same problem in the past and both methods would restore the House Mode function, but not this time.
__________________
New Aire 3343
Gonna_Wander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 07:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: LA CA
Posts: 6,180
This is the number to RiverPark the supplier of the Radio to Newmar, they have a tech department 1 (574) 522-7781
__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:00 AM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,943
I always like to call the manufacturer, as Stuart suggested, because sometimes they'll surprise you. When I replaced my Xcite radio, I was unable to get the GPS cable out of the coach as it was tied in. It had a unit specific end, so I needed another one of their GPS cables to try and sell the unit. I called.....didn't tell them why I needed a cable, and asked if I could buy one. They sent me one for free.

So, give them a try, their tech service is friendly and helpful.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:08 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
BuckyII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonna_Wander View Post
The House Mode button on our Xcite screen is now grayed out and can't be selected. I've reset the Xcite system a few times without any luck.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Ken
Guess I’ve been missing something...curious, when / why do you use House Mode?
__________________
Gil & Susan + Dusty (Petite Goldendoodle)
2018 New Aire 3341 + 2016 Cadillac SRX / AF1
2016 Coach House 241XL (sold Nov 2017)
BuckyII is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
plane's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonna_Wander View Post
I turned the battery disconnect (salesmen switch) on and off twice and also reset the xcite system by holding the power/volume button in for a few seconds. I had this same problem in the past and both methods would restore the House Mode function, but not this time.
I would be interested in the fix, like you said reset normally fixes it,
__________________
Jim Mefford
2018 New Aire 3343
plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:47 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,385
I’ve never used “House Mode”
What is it used for?
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 01:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gonna_Wander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 463
If no one chimes in with a quick fix I will call RiverPark when I get back to the RV, thank you for the suggestion.

House Mode seems to put the xcite system to sleep. I use it to turn off the two screens when we don't want to have them on.
__________________
New Aire 3343
Gonna_Wander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 02:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ken Gluckman's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 359
I can't speak for other coaches, but in my King Aire, House Mode pipes the output to the outdoor speaker.
__________________
2018 King Aire
Ken Gluckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:34 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,899
Page 9- of manual – This option is only accessible when the parking brake is engaged. When active, house mode sends current source audio and/or video to other areas of the coach. Control can be done from LCD screens as normal or with remote device (optional item) Please note after 1 minute of no information, the LCD screen will enter into sleep. Touch the screen to wake. House mode is exited when selected again, park brake is disengaged or a power cycle is performed. And this was all I could find, above suggestion to call them is also what I would do, got excellent technical help on another issue related to GPS. They really want to help.

Now, we have switches in Bdrm, which we can turn off and on. I have not chosen “house mode” as those work when I turn them on. Also have not done a lot of playing around with this unit yet, if the WX goes horrible tomorrow as forecast, was going over to it and do some piddling around, playing with the radio with manual in hand was one of those things. If I find anything of help, I will repost it here after that.
Renipladlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 05:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Boston
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonna_Wander View Post
The House Mode button on our Xcite screen is now grayed out and can't be selected. I've reset the Xcite system a few times without any luck.



Any suggestions?



Thanks,

Ken


I sometimes have to press the brake pedal with the key in range to get that button to work.
__________________
2018 Newmar New Aire 3343 | 2018 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2D | Blue Ox Avail | RViBrake3
cinergi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 04:07 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Gonna_Wander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinergi View Post
I sometimes have to press the brake pedal with the key in range to get that button to work.
That's all it took! Thanks so much Ben.
__________________

__________________
New Aire 3343
Gonna_Wander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xcite Audio Improvements wade5979 Entegra Owner's Forum 17 04-05-2019 04:20 PM
Xcite radio with no GPS Semituff810 Newmar Owner's Forum 7 10-22-2018 08:10 PM
Solution? for "House Mode" button not working cinergi Newmar Owner's Forum 4 08-09-2018 08:38 PM
Replacing the Xcite radio with the Kenwood DNX571TR? Tranquil Jim Newmar Owner's Forum 10 04-29-2018 08:12 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×