Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2021, 10:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
Ignition switched power in battery bay

I’m adding a repeater for a TPMS and had planned on installing it in the battery bay. Is there an available 12V source there that is only hot when the ignition is switched on?

I could add a separate switch, but would prefer not to add one more thing to the checklist.
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-22-2021, 01:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve and Linda's APEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 245
I had the same issue. A quick call to Engineer Mike, and of course was advised of a very easy solution!
Get yourself a "Add A Fuse" at the local auto parts store. Pull the fuse for the ABS circuit. Install Add A Fuse, connect wiring to your repeater (I bought a TST). Re insert ABS fuse and mount your repeater! You've got a switched circuit for yout TPMS!
Thank you Engineer Mike!
Steve and Linda's APEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 01:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
Thanks Steve.
__________________
Alpine Coach ‘05 36MDDS
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 02:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
That was the easiest project I’ve done all year. Glad I asked, otherwise I would have done it the hard way 3 times and probably broke something as well. Also removed the 12V outlet near the drivers right knee and replaced it with a 12V/dual USB outlet for the TPMS monitor and Coachlink monitor.

Did a test run with the new tow bar set up and TPMS. Don’t you know it, the batteries barely started the coach, so now it has 2 new ones.
__________________
Alpine Coach ‘05 36MDDS
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 09:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jeep401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Gloves View Post
That was the easiest project I’ve done all year. Glad I asked, otherwise I would have done it the hard way 3 times and probably broke something as well. Also removed the 12V outlet near the drivers right knee and replaced it with a 12V/dual USB outlet for the TPMS monitor and Coachlink monitor.

Did a test run with the new tow bar set up and TPMS. Don’t you know it, the batteries barely started the coach, so now it has 2 new ones.
I've been looking at doing this also.
Where is the ABS fuse located???
__________________
Angelo & Leslie
2005 Alpine 36FDDS #75268
MARYSVILLE, WA.
Jeep401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 09:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep401 View Post
I've been looking at doing this also.
Where is the ABS fuse located???
In the black box on the inboard wall. There’s a “schematic” inside the lid, that is rotated 90 on ours. I chose the one that was labeled “IGN-ABS”. Above and to the right of the trombetta.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	892A47D4-9D19-45B6-A089-07477E32E89D.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	353.4 KB
ID:	352184  
__________________
Alpine Coach ‘05 36MDDS
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 06:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jeep401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Gloves View Post
In the black box on the inboard wall. There’s a “schematic” inside the lid, that is rotated 90 on ours. I chose the one that was labeled “IGN-ABS”. Above and to the right of the trombetta.
Thank you, I forgot that those were in there. I haven't been in that box since I bought my coach and had to replace the Trombetta.
Did you just put the repeater somewhere in the that compartment?

Marry Christmas and thanks for the info.
__________________
Angelo & Leslie
2005 Alpine 36FDDS #75268
MARYSVILLE, WA.
Jeep401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 11:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
paul65k's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 2,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Gloves View Post
In the black box on the inboard wall. There’s a “schematic” inside the lid, that is rotated 90 on ours. I chose the one that was labeled “IGN-ABS”. Above and to the right of the trombetta.
Are you using the temp sensor on those batteries?
__________________
Paul & Jean
2001 Alpine 36FDDS (74291)-1600W Solar, 13,440Wh (525Ah @24V) LiFePO4
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Hemi)
2006 Alpenlite 32RL - Sold
paul65k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 11:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep401 View Post
Thank you, I forgot that those were in there. I haven't been in that box since I bought my coach and had to replace the Trombetta.
Did you just put the repeater somewhere in the that compartment?

Marry Christmas and thanks for the info.
Yes. I just screwed it to the ceiling with the included ~1/2” screws.

Merry Christmas.
__________________
Alpine Coach ‘05 36MDDS
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 06:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Taxguy's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 60
When using an "add a circuit fuse tap" remember one side of the fuse is hot the other is load. In my Alpine the bottom side of the fuse holder was hot. Orient your fuse tape accordingly. Mine had the tape wire going up.
__________________
Tom & Marilyn Anteau
2009 Alpine 36 MDDS 425hp #75798
Anchorage, AK
Taxguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 08:17 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul65k View Post
Are you using the temp sensor on those batteries?
Just saw this question. Initially, yes. That photo was taken last June and, fortunately, cold temperatures weren’t an issue. After reviewing the temperature compensation formula, I disconnected the sensor.
__________________
Alpine Coach ‘05 36MDDS
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 06:37 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
bcbowers's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 801
My Smart Tireminder repeater came with clip leads so I can easily connect and disconnect it. You could put alligator clips on the power connections.
__________________
Bob Bowers (Surprise, AZ)
2003 Alpine Coach 40' FDTS
2014 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude
bcbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 06:40 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcbowers View Post
My Smart Tireminder repeater came with clip leads so I can easily connect and disconnect it. You could put alligator clips on the power connections.

I am not a fan of using alligator clips on anything that will be powered while driving. Too easy for them to bounce off.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 06:33 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Cuda67bnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 182
Bringing up an old thread here, but any ideas on how to do this on an 01? Mine doesn’t have that fusebox. I need to hook up a repeater for my new tpms. Not interested in using the alligator clips. And don’t want it drawing power all the time.
__________________
Jimmy……
2001 Alpine 36 mdds
Cuda67bnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, ignition, power, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside light over wet bay - where switched? aribert Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 09-12-2021 02:45 AM
Ignition-switched power for dash cam DeeGee Entegra Owner's Forum 7 02-06-2017 02:32 PM
Switched-ignition battery circuit in rear of Class C? Andy Waddell Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 05-07-2015 02:42 PM
Ignition-switched 12V power in bedroom closet bcbounders Newmar Owner's Forum 12 02-22-2015 11:49 AM
Switched power supply so47 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 07-29-2013 06:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.