Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-13-2017, 07:10 PM   #1

Need basic instructions regarding power (shore/inverter/generator)

We are new RV owners and know virtually nothing about them. I'm sure you will all think we are crazy to start with a 40 ft. coach, but my hubby was a trucker, so we have that down!

Anyway, I have ZERO knowledge of how to use the inverter/shore power. So, have some questions:

1) What would be able to run if you are connected to 120? If the TV is on (with Blu-Ray player and surround sound, it will disconnect the power at various times). I have the max set to 20 amps (per the former owner). Is this correct?

2) What can you run if you are not connected to shore power and are only using the inverter?

3) If plugged in to shore power, does the inverter need to be on? Will it automatically turn on if there is a break in the power?

4) If the batteries show a full charge, should I but it on charger standby?

5) Do you need to turn off the inverter before you start the generator?

6) I don't really understand what settings I need to have in place when using "setup" on the inverter/charger ?

Hopefully, someone will be able to help me. I'm already thinking that we are in way over our head!!

BoDawg226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!