Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2020, 05:21 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,749
….kind of a crude test---try physically unhook the inverter in and out hot 120v wires [grounds should be bussed]…. and connect them together.....then put a load on the output circuit, eg, microwave????.....this will tell you for sure whether its the inverter by pass circuit or something else, like the ATS--but it now sounds like the inverter by-pass circuit is bad....
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2020, 06:46 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Irie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 109
I’ll try that.
Thanks very much!
__________________
Irie
2005 Alpine 40 FDTS
Tennessee
Irie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 08:09 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Irie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 109
Yep. You nailed it. Bypassed the inverter and have microwave, fridge and TV running. So, I guess itís time for a new inverter...
__________________
Irie
2005 Alpine 40 FDTS
Tennessee
Irie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 10:42 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,749
Yup--not sure there is anything repairable inside the RS2000...I have heard there is an internal fuse but that would cause a dead circuit, not low voltage....RS2000 was never my favorite--replacing it is not an entirely bad thing....love it when a plan comes to a happy ending....safe travels
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 02:09 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Irie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 109
Thanks again for the help!
__________________
Irie
2005 Alpine 40 FDTS
Tennessee
Irie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 02:28 PM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irie View Post
I may need to clarify. Both legs are fine coming in to the coach. The one that goes thru the inverter is showing 88-95 volts (this morning it was 106 when this started, has decreased throughout the day). The leg that doesn’t go thru the inverter is fine.
Where does it change to 88 volts? where is it good?
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 07:22 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Irie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 109
Voltage is good to the inverter, one leg is low after the inverter.
__________________
Irie
2005 Alpine 40 FDTS
Tennessee
Irie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 07:54 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
paul65k's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 2,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irie View Post
Voltage is good to the inverter, one leg is low after the inverter.
On the surface it sure sounds like the issue may be at or in the inverter. Did you try bypassing the inverter for testing to see if you are still getting low voltage when the in/out lines are just combined and then checked to verify that there is not a downline wiring issue?

Other than that being the issue, there is something obviously going on in the inverter I would guess.
__________________
Paul & Jean
2001 Alpine 36FDDS (74291) - 1600W Solar, 10,752 Wh (420Ah @24V) LiFePO4
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Hemi)
2006 Alpenlite 32RL - Sold
paul65k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 01:09 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,749
...technically, you only have one of the two 120v "legs" going to the inverter and even then, not all of that leg goes thru the inverter, eg, the two roof-top A/Cs are on two different 120v legs, but neither leg goes thru the inverter....if the wiring disconnect I suggested solved the issue--then I am pretty sure your inverter is the issue....
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 02:19 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
paul65k's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 2,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
...technically, you only have one of the two 120v "legs" going to the inverter and even then, not all of that leg goes thru the inverter, eg, the two roof-top A/Cs are on two different 120v legs, but neither leg goes thru the inverter....if the wiring disconnect I suggested solved the issue--then I am pretty sure your inverter is the issue....
You said that so much better than I did
__________________
Paul & Jean
2001 Alpine 36FDDS (74291) - 1600W Solar, 10,752 Wh (420Ah @24V) LiFePO4
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Hemi)
2006 Alpenlite 32RL - Sold
paul65k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2020, 10:17 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
bcbowers's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 737
Ok, my inverter (both old & new Xantrex) has 2 - 120V AC lines but that represents 1 - leg of the 240V 50amp source. One line is the IN and the other line is the OUT that is used to charge the batteries or feed the Inverter AC panel when inverting DC to AC. The other ďLEGĒ of the 240V source goes directly to the A/C units and various outlets. Atleast thatís the way my coach works and the reason why the Inverter canít run the A/C units.

The previous discussion about 2 - legs in the inverter was confusing. Just saying.
__________________
Bob Bowers (Surprise, AZ)
2003 Alpine Coach 40' FDTS
2014 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude
bcbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2020, 11:35 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcbowers View Post
Ok, my inverter (both old & new Xantrex) has 2 - 120V AC lines but that represents 1 - leg of the 240V 50amp source. One line is the IN and the other line is the OUT that is used to charge the batteries or feed the Inverter AC panel when inverting DC to AC. The other ďLEGĒ of the 240V source goes directly to the A/C units and various outlets. Atleast thatís the way my coach works and the reason why the Inverter canít run the A/C units.

The previous discussion about 2 - legs in the inverter was confusing. Just saying.
Actually, both legs go to the double 50 amp main breaker. From there a 30 amp breaker feeds the inverter/charger. Then back to the panel for some of the breakers.

Nothing goes directly to ACs and outlets, they will have branch breakers from the main double 50 amp.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2020, 08:20 PM   #27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,749
….you say potato; I say potato--its still a vegetable....think the OP has it figured out now...
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2020, 08:35 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
akeagle's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irie View Post
Been working on it since 8 am. Tightened everything multiple times. HOWEVER, just tightened neutral wires on distribution panel and it seems to be ok right now. Back up to 118 volts. Going to shut it back off and redo the connections. Iíll keep you advised.

Whenever weíre stumped I post on here and it usually gets solved. You guys are great!
Check for dirty or corroded connections?
akeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power gear power leveler issues Badge RV Systems & Appliances 2 10-04-2020 08:24 AM
HVAC power issues on shore power/not with generator Bev_n_Boose Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 07-07-2020 02:40 AM
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 07:06 AM
Wrong tires cause other issues?related topic"spring issues" hdwhitten 5th Wheel Discussion 10 12-22-2019 02:26 PM
Shore power power not providing power to air conditioner jjhenley RV Systems & Appliances 6 06-21-2016 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.