RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2020, 07:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Red Bluff, Ca
Posts: 250
Roof A/C, Furnace, and Thermostat Control

Three weeks ago both A/C's worked normally- have had no issues in the past.

Two days ago the propane furnace worked normally-have had no issues in the past.

Yesterday afternoon neither a/c would turn on. Tried each with generator and 30 amp shore power. No results. Tripped and reset each breaker. Changed zones and demand temps, No results.

Left the shore power connected over night and the Duo-Therm control Mode set to cool and demand temp at 43F.

About 1/2 hour ago the furnace fired up on its own. Control still set for cool!
I turned the Duo-Therm control to Off. After the normal cool down the furnace turned off.

How/where do I start to trouble shoot?

I suspect that the control is "stuck" in furnace mode even though the display indicates Cool.
__________________
Gene
1998 36FDS Alpine
Red Bluff, Ca.
gmcgene is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-27-2020, 09:55 AM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Hoodsport Wa
Posts: 972
Our four button Duo Therm control has throw a fit before as well, however unplugging it and letting it sleep for a day "fixed" it. We have never been able to change the zone setting, it's stuck on zone 1, although if we set the desired temp low enough the forward ac unit comes on.
Additionally the temp setting is about 10 degrees off. Wish I had a better answer other than try to put it to sleep. My understanding is these thermostat controllers are no longer in production. Does anyone know if a new compatible replacement is available?
__________________
2000 Alpine 36 FDS #74058
04 Jeep Wrangler TJ
"On the road to find out..."
Alpine36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,055
PPL in Houston is a good source for technical information and replacement HVAC equipment....IMHO
__________________
Old Scout
2003 Alpine 40' MDTS
New Braunfels, Texas
Old Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jeep401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 341
This might be a option to look into...

https://www.ebay.com/itm/263152491868
__________________
Angelo & Leslie
2005 Alpine 36FDDS #75268
MARYSVILLE, WA.
Jeep401 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jeep401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
PPL in Houston is a good source for technical information and replacement HVAC equipment....IMHO
Yup, I got a five button from them a while back when I was having zone issues.
Wasn't the problem, go figure.
__________________
Angelo & Leslie
2005 Alpine 36FDDS #75268
MARYSVILLE, WA.
Jeep401 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 04:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
andy29847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 632
I was having some go/no go issues with my heater. It was winter so I never tried my AC. I ran my trouble to a wire splice beside the heater, under my refrigerator. The splice at the factory was made by twisting the wires together and covering with black tape. The wires were laying on the floor. The splices had corroded and were making intermittent contact.
__________________
2001 Alpine Coach 38/8
ACA 2018006
Andy
andy29847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 05:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
andy29847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 632
Here's my report form my problem with the furnace. https://www.irv2.com/forums/f104/fur...ms-468783.html
__________________
2001 Alpine Coach 38/8
ACA 2018006
Andy
andy29847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, furnace, roof, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front A/C wonít kick on and 4 button thermostat lost heat pump and furnace options. Cdr151 Monaco Owner's Forum 18 06-06-2019 03:26 PM
Remote thermostat for roof air residential thermostat swap?? supertramp Travel Trailer Discussion 6 01-12-2017 08:39 PM
Duo Therm Comfort Control Thermostat won't switch to furnace Lincolnboy2 RV Systems & Appliances 5 06-07-2016 11:30 PM
Removed roof AC - no power to furnace thermostat? Downsizer RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-16-2013 04:30 PM
Cruise Control/Wiper Control/Bright Light Control cnjcampione Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-21-2011 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.