Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-20-2020, 08:20 AM   #1

Step by step electronics update/upgrade

I am new to RVING so I am hoping you guys can give me some advice.

Ultimately, in a few years, I want to invest in a large solar system, but for budget reasons I need to do it step by step but also address immediate needs.

1. In the meantime i am replacing the sketchy 12v house batteries with four new 6v flooded. (And also replacing the sketchy grp 31 chassis batteries). Essentially returning it to the way it came from the factory. Ultimately I will go lithium and stick them in the storage pocket under the bed but for now this is the best short term solution.

2. I am replacing the 20 year old Big Boy isolator relay because of chassis charging issues.

3. I want to replace the factory inverter, even though it works, because it makes a noticeable hum ( which can't be good) and again, it's 20 years old.

So here's where I need your help.
Should I just get another plug and play inverter, like upgrade to 3000W pure sine, or should I get something like the big victron inverter/charger/transfer switch combo unit? Or something in between?
Brianna is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!