Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2017, 11:57 AM   #1
Member
 
bcruzen's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 72
Temperature Sensors/Tank Sensors

It seems my basement temperature sensor is functioning correctly. Although, my exterior temperature sensor has been stuck at 32 for some time and has not changed. It's nowhere near 32 here in Yakima! LOL! Where is this temp sensor located? Where does it connect to the Silverleaf system? Is this the dreaded one that has been mentioned that "kills" your TM-102? I also have no tank level readings for fresh, grey and black. I have located all the connections for the tank level sensors and have cleaned them all and added a little dielectric grease. There were some connections that had the green gunk. I have also seen where people have mentioned that the TM-102 module has lights indicating power and communication activity. Where are the lights on the box? I can't see any one nor can I find where they are to confirm they are not lighting up. I have also done the zero level reset. This tank thing has me pulling my hair out.
__________________
Blake & Kim Cruzen
2006 Alpine Apex 40FDQS #75583
Yakima, WA
bcruzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-22-2017, 07:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 834
The temp sensor connects to the SL at the TM-102 in the tank bay where all the holding tanks and propane tank connect to. There is a red light on the side of the TM-102 that blinks when it's interrogated by the SL.
__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 06:01 PM   #3
Member
 
casper124's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Redding CA
Posts: 79
Blake, Try resetting by shutting down the entire electrical system for about 5 or 10 minutes. The switches can be found in the rear battery compartment most likely on the left wall. You can also try resetting the TM 102 by unplugging the power cord for several minutes and plug in back in. If that doesn't work, the last would be to find the wire for the floor temp sensor on the TM 102 and unplug it, you may have to again unplug the power plug to reset TM 102. That is what I did on my unit and corrected the problem. The sensor that reads the outside temp shorts out causing copious amounts of bad words to be expelled trying to solve issue

Silverleaf in Oregon are great to work with over the phone and will help by walking you through any issue related to Silverleaf system.

Good Luck.
__________________
Steve & Diane Davis
2006 40' Apex FDQS
casper124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 10:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 305
same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcruzen View Post
It seems my basement temperature sensor is functioning correctly. Although, my exterior temperature sensor has been stuck at 32 for some time and has not changed. It's nowhere near 32 here in Yakima! LOL! Where is this temp sensor located? Where does it connect to the Silverleaf system? Is this the dreaded one that has been mentioned that "kills" your TM-102? I also have no tank level readings for fresh, grey and black. I have located all the connections for the tank level sensors and have cleaned them all and added a little dielectric grease. There were some connections that had the green gunk. I have also seen where people have mentioned that the TM-102 module has lights indicating power and communication activity. Where are the lights on the box? I can't see any one nor can I find where they are to confirm they are not lighting up. I have also done the zero level reset. This tank thing has me pulling my hair out.
I've had the same tank reading problem as you, and haven't been able to solve it yet. Replaced all tank sensors, replaced all telephone-type mod-
ular plug-in connectors and all the little solid state thingies they plug into.
Reset all tank readings in the Silver leaf to zero, plugged and unplugged the temp sensor back close to the TM-102..... my read-outs on my S L screen are still blank, and/or erratic. TM-102 lights operate as they should,
so, what next? Replace the TM-102? I hate having a problem like this that
i can't solve.
Dudley do-right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 11:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 834
You might need a software update to the Silverleaf. There are two modules, one in the front TV cabinet and the other in the tank bay. On the big TV, use your SL remote to go to "Menu", then "Configure", then "Misc". The software version should show on the top right corner of the screen. It might be partially hidden inside the word "Apex". The latest version is 1.11
__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 04:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 305
updating silverleaf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet and Todd View Post
You might need a software update to the Silverleaf. There are two modules, one in the front TV cabinet and the other in the tank bay. On the big TV, use your SL remote to go to "Menu", then "Configure", then "Misc". The software version should show on the top right corner of the screen. It might be partially hidden inside the word "Apex". The latest version is 1.11
OK, here's the deal; As most of us have I'm sure, I replaced the original TV, which was a monitor with many connections in the back. Among them was an S-Video cable connection to the "black Box" mounted up in the corner of the rats nest compartment behind the TV. At this early point in my association with Alpines, (I never got into this area while we had our 36'er) I was only dimly aware of what that box did, and how to use the weird remote that came with the coach. So as soon as I did away with the monitor TV, I discovered that there aren't S-Video connections on the new TV's. So I got on line to an outfit called "Show Me Cables". There I ordered an adapter cable that was S-Video on one end, and as I recall, a red and green RCA jack male on the other end. I'm not sure this is correct. Anyway, I'm not able to get it to work. I can access the beginning screen by using my regular TV remote, but then I can't get anything else to happen using the special remote that came with the system. It's probably wired up incorrectly, but I don't how to correct it.......
Dudley Do-Right, '06Alpine Apex 40MDTS
Dudley do-right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 12:19 AM   #7
Member
 
bcruzen's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudley do-right View Post
OK, here's the deal; As most of us have I'm sure, I replaced the original TV, which was a monitor with many connections in the back. Among them was an S-Video cable connection to the "black Box" mounted up in the corner of the rats nest compartment behind the TV. At this early point in my association with Alpines, (I never got into this area while we had our 36'er) I was only dimly aware of what that box did, and how to use the weird remote that came with the coach. So as soon as I did away with the monitor TV, I discovered that there aren't S-Video connections on the new TV's. So I got on line to an outfit called "Show Me Cables". There I ordered an adapter cable that was S-Video on one end, and as I recall, a red and green RCA jack male on the other end. I'm not sure this is correct. Anyway, I'm not able to get it to work. I can access the beginning screen by using my regular TV remote, but then I can't get anything else to happen using the special remote that came with the system. It's probably wired up incorrectly, but I don't how to correct it.......
Dudley Do-Right, '06Alpine Apex 40MDTS


As far as I understand the HMSTV, the TV is a monitor to the SilverLeaf system. You then, at least mine does, has a IR repeater. The IR sensors are located above your front left and right speakers and blink a blue light when they are picking up the signal. This is how your remote communicates to the HMS system. Depending on your type of TV, I would have gotten an S-Video to HDMI. This is what I have looked into doing, although haven't tackled it yet. The thing that frustrates me, is that I was going to upgrade the home theater box using the same speakers, although the sub is not a powered unit and most all new receivers/amplifiers have. Sub pre-out for the subwoofer. Ug!! I have also noticed that the DVI port is utilized on my TV. Interesting. Still a lot of figuring to be done. It never ends.

Back to the sensors, it appears my fresh water is working and my gray water is working. I noticed that my diagnostics screen shows that I have a low voltage error for my black thank and a high voltage error for my propane.
__________________
Blake & Kim Cruzen
2006 Alpine Apex 40FDQS #75583
Yakima, WA
bcruzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 12:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 834
We had Bobby and Scott (Amazing Creations) upgrade our LG monitor to a Samsung TV and surround sound/Blu Ray. Bobby explained the S Video situation to us that that time and provided an adapter cable to overcome this issue.
__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sensors, tank, tm-102



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature sensors question DoggieDaddy Entegra Owner's Forum 15 01-16-2015 05:16 PM
Temperature sensors Grandpavan Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 04-30-2014 09:27 PM
Flow through sensors (507) compared to 510 Sensors Oscar Mike MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 01-13-2013 01:00 PM
Furnace Temperature sensors macstonedude National RV Owner's Forum 1 03-31-2011 08:01 PM
Travel Supreme Select 45 HVAC Temperature Sensors eymanj Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 6 11-04-2010 07:13 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.