Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2022, 09:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
50 amp shore power only reads 30 on monitor

I am going to apologize up front. I am new to this forum as well as a new owner of a 2001 National Islander. If this post should be somewhere else I'm sure someone will let me know, This is the first RV I have ever owned so I'm just all around new, but have learned a lot since this time last year. The problem I am focused on currently is that the MH control panel only reads 30 amps while we are plugged in to 50. This has been the case everywhere the MH has been. Since I don't understand voltage, amps, dc, ac, etc., this may be way over my head, but I thought someone here could give me a good place to at least start my investigation. Is there a breaker that I should check? Fuse? Is this an inverter issue? All my plugs work, I can run one of my a/c units, but not both. I'm in Texas, so I kind of need to run both at the same time. Anyway, any ideas you wonderful people can offer is greatly appreciated.
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-19-2022, 09:28 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 14,910
First off, Welcome to IRV2!

The most obvious question is what type of service you have, does your shore plug have three prongs or four? IF you have three prongs, you only have 30 amp service and it doesn't matter if you are plugged into a 50 amp outlet or not you will only get 30 amps. If you do have 50 amp service, then there is a problem in your EMS allowing only 30 amps to pass.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 09:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 26,937
Multiple stops with 50 amp service and EMS only shows 30 .

Here's how it works , 50 amp service uses 2 hot leads , a ground and a neutral hence the 4 prongs on the plug .

The EMS determines 50 amp rather than 30 by watching for voltage differences in the 2 hot leads ( refereed to as being " out of phase ") , sometimes the problem is with the park service being wired in correctly ; but being in multiple parks , should have eliminated that issue .
That leaves either wiring in the coach , but if the coach worked on 50 amps at any time since you purchased it that's probably not the issue .
So internal problems with the EMS ; is the big possibility .

Can you post brand name of the EMS and model info , and we'll see if there is a reset of the system possible .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 10:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,757
Turn on all circuit breakers in the main panel, even ones you know you don't need.

The 2 sense wires for the load shedding system are connected to random breakers and if one is off, it doesn't sense 240 volts and assumes 30 amp service.

One of the popular breaker they use is the washing machine, even if none in installed
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 12:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
CamJam1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,937
Not sure about the Islander, but many National coaches have a 30/50 switch to prevent the coach from drawing more than 30A when connected to 30A shore power. With my basement a/c it prevents the 2nd compressor from running when in the 30A position.

On my '04 Dolphin the switch is located in the electrical bay with the shore power cord. It's a nondescript gray switch with no writing on it from the factory to indicate what it does or even which position of the switch is which. The previous owner marked 30A/50A on it with a Sharpie.
__________________
2004 National Dolphin LX 6320, W-22, 8.1, Allison 1000, Front/rear "Trac" Bars & Anti-sway Bars, Sumo Springs, Roadmaster Reflex Steering Stabilizer, 2005 PT Cruiser Toad
CamJam1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 08:29 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,348
Following.
__________________
2008 Winnebago Sightseer 35-J
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 02:25 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 21
If it's the Xantrex panel push the Power Share button and it will change to 50 as it cycles with every press
Romil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 02:25 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Spring Hill Florida
Posts: 21
National RV Motorhome Owners group on Facebook is a great place for information on your motorhome! There are a lot of members in the group that can answer your questions about your motorhome!
Rhitch54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:09 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
Thank you for the welcome!

I have a four pronged plug.
Does Heart Interface sound like it could be my EMS?
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:10 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
Thank you for your reply. Can you tell me where to look for the EMS?

After taking another look, I think Heart Interface is my EMS type. Does this sound correct? There is a button on it labeled "power share."
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:19 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
Thank you for your response. I believe that all the breakers in the main panel are in the "on" position. Where should I look for another panel of breakers?
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:22 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romil View Post
If it's the Xantrex panel push the Power Share button and it will change to 50 as it cycles with every press
I'm not really sure about what type of EMS I have. Is this where it shows the battery state, DC volts/amps...?

Does Heart Interface sound right?
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dizcom's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by VntgIslander View Post
I am going to apologize up front. I am new to this forum as well as a new owner of a 2001 National Islander. If this post should be somewhere else I'm sure someone will let me know, This is the first RV I have ever owned so I'm just all around new, but have learned a lot since this time last year. The problem I am focused on currently is that the MH control panel only reads 30 amps while we are plugged in to 50. This has been the case everywhere the MH has been. Since I don't understand voltage, amps, dc, ac, etc., this may be way over my head, but I thought someone here could give me a good place to at least start my investigation. Is there a breaker that I should check? Fuse? Is this an inverter issue? All my plugs work, I can run one of my a/c units, but not both. I'm in Texas, so I kind of need to run both at the same time. Anyway, any ideas you wonderful people can offer is greatly appreciated.

Everything is working fine. It's showing you how many amps you're using, not how many you're getting. There's nothing to check.
__________________
2021 Holiday Rambler Armada 44LE
2021 Jeep Wrangler High Altitude toad w/Ready Brute Elite II
dizcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 04:28 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
VntgIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhitch54 View Post
National RV Motorhome Owners group on Facebook is a great place for information on your motorhome! There are a lot of members in the group that can answer your questions about your motorhome!
Thank you so much! I'll check it out.
VntgIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amp site only showing 30 amp shore power MoHoGo Entegra Owner's Forum 29 07-20-2020 08:59 AM
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 07:06 AM
Occurring issue. "Do not Shift" . Monitor reads 5 Andy M Allison Transmission Forum 10 08-28-2018 08:46 PM
8.3 Cummins tach reads 0 'til rev then reads 2000 only lkghudson Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 11-22-2014 10:14 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.