Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2022, 07:29 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 287
A/C Thermostat

Question - I have a standard Duo-Therm Dometic for my bedroom A/C. It is only an A/C (roof mount) and not a heat pump. Is there any reason why I can not change it out to a regular digital unit found at Home Depot or Lowes? I would need to find out if it's 5 or 6 wire, of course.

Al
__________________
SeaBreeze LX 8321
FLRosebud is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2022, 08:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 287
I might have just answered my own question - looks like home units are 24V, and, of course, RV units are 12V.....found one for $77 at RV Upgrades.

Al
__________________
SeaBreeze LX 8321
FLRosebud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 10:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,154
The battery operated digital thermostats don't need 12 or 24 volt power.

I have one in my RV controlling both heat and air conditioning.

There are U Tube videos on how to convert.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 03:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 32
We bought a pair of these for our two AC units:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They work great. The only issue is that you lose the "high/low" fan switch. I just twisted the high and low wires together and connected them and we only have "high" fan when it is turned on now.

There is a great installation tutorial around somewhere that I followed to show the wiring. They literally took like 10 minutes each to install.

You just cap off the old 7.5v power line with some electrical tape and the thermostat runs off a couple of AA batteries.

It is so nice to have them light up when you touch them as well. And they look much nicer.
BZLuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 03:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZLuck View Post
We bought a pair of these for our two AC units:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They work great. The only issue is that you lose the "high/low" fan switch. I just twisted the high and low wires together and connected them and we only have "high" fan when it is turned on now.

There is a great installation tutorial around somewhere that I followed to show the wiring. They literally took like 10 minutes each to install.

You just cap off the old 7.5v power line with some electrical tape and the thermostat runs off a couple of AA batteries.

It is so nice to have them light up when you touch them as well. And they look much nicer.
Thanks!! I have them in my in-basket, but we are out in the RV for 6 more weeks, so I'll have to wait to order until we get back home.

Al
__________________
SeaBreeze LX 8321
FLRosebud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 04:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,664
I swapped mine several years ago with a battery (backup) powered residential model. Wire color codes for fan, A/C and heat as used by the coach builder matched residential standard so the swap was no harder that updating the thermostat at home. I replace the batteries each spring along with the smoke detector battery. Probably the easiest upgrade I did on the coach.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190324_195019.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	215.0 KB
ID:	373164   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190324_195050.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	203.5 KB
ID:	373165  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190324_195100.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	212.9 KB
ID:	373166  
__________________
2006 Hurricane 31D built on a 2006 Ford F53
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 07:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZLuck View Post
We bought a pair of these for our two AC units:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They work great. The only issue is that you lose the "high/low" fan switch. I just twisted the high and low wires together and connected them and we only have "high" fan when it is turned on now.

There is a great installation tutorial around somewhere that I followed to show the wiring. They literally took like 10 minutes each to install.

You just cap off the old 7.5v power line with some electrical tape and the thermostat runs off a couple of AA batteries.

It is so nice to have them light up when you touch them as well. And they look much nicer.
For everything I can find on the wiring for a 2-speed fan - you donít want to connect ďHighĒ and ďLowĒ together.

My experience is electric motors donít like power being applied to intermediate windings at the same time. It tends to let the smoke out slowly, or at least it has in my experience.
__________________
Ď91 Ultrastar ChampionĎ02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
Ď03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressors kicks on without thermostat. How to wire thermostat. ColtonG RV Systems & Appliances 3 08-06-2022 04:32 PM
Replacing Duo-Therm thermostat with Hunter thermostat tpcollins Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 10-02-2018 02:10 PM
Remote thermostat for roof air residential thermostat swap?? supertramp Travel Trailer Discussion 6 01-12-2017 08:39 PM
Upgrade Duo-Therm thermostat to a Honeywell RTH230B Thermostat Ray Wallace RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-07-2009 08:22 PM
Propane thermostat vs. True-Air electronic thermostat John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-18-2005 02:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.