RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 251
Inverter Question

The Dolphin owner's manual says that whenever the RV is connected to a 120-Volt AC power source or to the on-board generator, the inverter provides energy to numerous things. But it doesn't say anything about turning on the inverter switch. I'm not really clear when the inverter switch should be turned on.
__________________

Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-26-2013, 08:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,484
My inverter has never been turned off in over 6 years. But to each his own I spose.
__________________

__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now except for Charlie the Beagle.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 251
My question is that I don't understand the owners manual, it never says to flick the inverter switch to run those devices. And everything seems to be running fine on shore power without the inverter switch turned on.
Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:56 AM   #4
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 39,369
A little more info may assist in getting an answer , such as year and model Dolphin and size/ model / brand of inverter.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
... If you're plugged into 115VAC there would be no need to have the unit in "Invert" mode since the Inversion process uses the house batteries (12VDC) to create 115VAC.

When plugged into shore power the DC to AC mode is bypassed within the Inverter unit - if it's a combination Inverter/Converter, while on shore power it will simply continue on with charging your House batteries - and many, if not all inverters will not even switch to "Invert" mode when on shore power.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:22 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Resist View Post
The Dolphin owner's manual says that whenever the RV is connected to a 120-Volt AC power source or to the on-board generator, the inverter provides energy to numerous things. But it doesn't say anything about turning on the inverter switch. I'm not really clear when the inverter switch should be turned on.
As suggested, it could all be all automatic. It could be with no shore or genny, you need to turn it on to power the front TV and perhaps a few other things. What we must know is the mfg and model number of the unit.

If you want to run a test, disconnect shore. Now turn on the front TV or test the outlet for 115v. If nothing, turn inverter on to see if it now works or has power. If so, you have your answer.

Shore power = inverter off
No Shore = inverter on (providing you want 115v and knowing by doing so, it will drain your coach batteries faster)
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:18 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 872
Mine is always OFF, at the entry and on the unit. We use the campground plug or generator for 110 volt. My inverter was tiring to operate the fridge at 110 volt from my batteries when it was ON.
__________________
2004 National Sea Breeze LX8375, Towing a 2012 Liberty.
donhoward49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:33 PM   #8
lfd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Mine is on standby when it's pluged into shorepower
lfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Kliwks's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 205
I only turn my inverter switch on when I am dry camping and I want to watch a little TV before bed. If you are plugged in or running the genny, there is no need for it.
__________________
Steve & Sherrie
2003 National Seabreeze LX
Kliwks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 07:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: st.charles mo.
Posts: 1,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kliwks View Post
I only turn my inverter switch on when I am dry camping and I want to watch a little TV before bed. If you are plugged in or running the genny, there is no need for it.
X2 This is how I do it.
speed racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks for all the help, I got it figured out now. The inverter will run the TV's and outlets, but not the lights or Fridge.
__________________

Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×