Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > National RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2022, 03:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Posts: 66
Replace ECM/PCM

My 2005 Sea Breeze had to have the ECM replaced. The cruise control had stopped working and the diagnosis was the ECM. I rec'd a replacement (programed/plug n play). The cruise control did not work upon a test drive.
Should I have the original ECM tested?
What other things might be the problem?
ichthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-27-2022, 03:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Lansing MI
Posts: 2,531
I am always leery of mechanics that say it's the ECM or any other electronic (not electrical) device. The failure rate for the ECM and other electronics is very low and many, if not most, mechanics or technicians don't know or understand how to test them. I would have the original ECM tested but unfortunately your probably stuck with the new one as there is likely no return. Good luck.
__________________
An Old Fisherman
2017 Nexus Ghost 36DS, 2004 Ford F150 Long Bed
2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic
arcaguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 03:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Unplanned Tourist's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 5,950
Start a new post about your CC not working. You could possibly get the answer from someone that has had the same problem and has the fix.
__________________
Happy Glamping, Norman & Elna. 2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with bicycles or KLR 650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned Tourist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 10:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Julia2005's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 59
I would call Jon Brazel at Ultra RV 360-736-9497. He knows more about ECMs than anyone I know and I know a lot of smart people. Could the ECM be the cause of your CC issue, who know. Jon would know and if it is bad I highly recommend their performance ECM. I replaced mine and there was a big difference in the performance of my 8.1L.
__________________
Bruce & Zoe
2005 SeaBreeze LX 8360 - 2020 Jeep Rubicon
Full Timers
Julia2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2022, 07:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Posts: 66
I phoned and no answer. I have a local rv shop that’s going to check out the cc.
ichthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2022, 08:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 25,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichthus View Post
I phoned and no answer. I have a local rv shop thatís going to check out the cc.
JMHO; An RV repair shop isn't the place to take a powertrain ( chassis ) issue .

If your coach is on a Workhorse chassis , the problem could be a simple as a brake light switch adjustment .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2022, 11:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 3,589
As Skip426 said an RV dealer wouldn't have a clue how troubleshoot to the CC. Is your ABS light on? If the chassis is a Workhorse take to a former Workhorse dealer or GM dealer. The only Workhorse repair facility I know of is in Chino, McBride's RV. There is probably other around.
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350, F53, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags, Koni Shocks, Blue OX TruCenter, TigerTrak track bars F&R, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar, 2004 F450 Lariat Pickup 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW, 4X4, GVWR 15,000, Front GAWR 6,000, Rear GAWR 11,000, GCWR 26,000,1994 36ft Avion 5er, GVWR 13,700, 2,740 Pin Weight.
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 12:32 AM   #8
Cat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,346
Check to make sure your brake lights come on when you step on brakes and go out when you release. Brake switches have been known to go bad. If its stuck on your CC won't work. And your brake lights are on all the time. Safe Travels
Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 04:33 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
CC

Check the adjustments on the switch at the brake pedal, if it has come loose or out of alignment the CC thinks the brake is being applied and will not engage as mine did!
MICHAELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 07:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 184
I am not familiar with workhorse. I have not heard of an ECM that is plug and play. Either it was set up for your vehicle based on the VIN by the supplier or it needs to be programmed after installing. Sensors that can cause CC issues are Throttle position sensor , vehicle speed sensor and brake switch. The brake switches from the mid 2000s if made by GM sometimes had issues with CC and not with brake lights because some had 2 switches in the same package which can be identified by more than 2 wires to the switch. There could also be more than 1 switch activated by the brake pedal. I would have done alot more checking before condemning the ECM. If the throttle is controlled by drive-by-wire with no cable connection between accelerater pedal and throttle body there may be a separate module for just throttle control and cruise control. I wonder if this was the module that was replaced. There has been some issues with wiring between accelerater pedal, throttle actuator module and throttle body. Were there any diagnostic trouble codes set and were they addressed?
__________________
Fred & Darla 2000 Tropi-cal and 2016 Chevy
Sonic toad
FredV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 07:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Julia2005's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 59
All really good comments. I have nothing to add other than I am surprised you got no answer from Ultra RV.
__________________
Bruce & Zoe
2005 SeaBreeze LX 8360 - 2020 Jeep Rubicon
Full Timers
Julia2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 06:14 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Posts: 66
My rig is a F53. Anyway, the rv repair guy had worked for Ford. We'll see what he says. I checked the brake lights...they came on or worked as expected, when I pushed the brake they come on etc.
ichthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 02:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Tov61's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 129
I have a 2003 8.1 Workhorse. Replaced the ECM and TCM with Ultra Power parts. Had a local workhorse shop here in Albuquerque install them. I think the total was around $800. for the ECM and the TCM from Ultra power and 2 hours labor to install. The performance improvement was apparent and the Tranny shift points much improved. Money well spent.
Tov61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 05:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
hedhunter9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 148
Clockspring also could go bad and cause the CC not to work.. That happened on our 08 Outlaw..
Bob
__________________
2008 Damon Thor Outlaw
hedhunter9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, ecm, replace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace ECM & TCM Tov61 National RV Owner's Forum 9 01-29-2022 08:07 AM
ECM/PCM 10A Fuse Blowing ElderRambler Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 06-01-2021 06:20 PM
PCM/ECM Replacement Q's? Fredk20716 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 4 09-21-2019 09:16 AM
ECM/PCM littlecobra Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 06-16-2018 08:14 AM
Pcm/ecm location JMRAZZ Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 09-15-2015 01:46 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.