RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2021, 01:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Dugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 56
50Amp to 20Amp

Is there any issue using (other than lower amps available) an adapter on a 50amp power cord to access a 20amp 110 outlet?
Thanks for the help.
__________________
2012 Allegro Open Road 32
Fiat 500 Toad
Sold
Dugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-22-2021, 01:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,521
Nope, no problem. I do it all the time.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 01:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugan View Post
Is there any issue using (other than lower amps available) an adapter on a 50amp power cord to access a 20amp 110 outlet?
Thanks for the help.
Not at all. It's called a 50/20 dogbone. I would buy a 50/30 and a 30/20 just tocover all the bases.

https://www.amazon.com/MaxxHaul-8070...a-521808293884
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 01:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Tedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 50
Agree with everyone and I’m sure you know you won’t be able to power many things on 20 amp. There’s a guide I was given that estimates the draw of various appliances, but can’t seem to find it. Might find one on line. Unless you plan to trip the circuit breaker, would plan on just charging the batteries, powering the fridge, and as few lights as possible.
__________________
2018 Phaeton 44OH
2017 Chevy Traverse Toad
Leesburg, Florida
Tedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,387
I use a 30/20 whenever visiting family in TX. I also set my inverter/charger to 10A source to keep charging loads low. It's easy enough to overload a 30A supply, let alone a 15 or 20A, without the charger thinking it's on a larger supply than it really has.

I can actually see the charger supply current dropping as I change the setting to something lower, and go up as I increase the supply current setting.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 15,109
Have a 50A RV and when Brand New we lived in it alongside our empty house waiting for escrow to close.
Lived in it for 2 months. Course it was Feb/Mar so no A/C needed
Fridge/water heater on propane

Converter maintained batteries
We had lights at night....watched TV/DVDs
No Microwave
Managed just fine

As suggested get 30A/50aand 20-15A/30A 'dogbone' style (NO 'Pucks'---they are junk)

30A Male end/50A Female end



15A Male end /30A Female end



OR just a 15A Male to 50A Female adapter


We have BOTH and used 30A/50A at many CGs
Only used the 15A/30A when next to house and one other time at a friends place
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BillJinOR's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,392
I will add make sure the 110 extension if you are using it is as short and large as possible. You can get a big voltage drop on longer cords.
__________________
2003 Beaver Marquis
2002 Ford Escape toad
2016 CargoMate Trailer
BillJinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,838
It's also important to understand an RV 50 amp service is two 50 amp legs, 100 amps total available. So you are going from 100 amps available to 20.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 04:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Dugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 56
Thanks for all the quick responses to my question. You can't beat this forum for information.
Safe travels to all.
__________________
2012 Allegro Open Road 32
Fiat 500 Toad
Sold
Dugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 04:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
2cyber71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 542
I plugged my 07 Ellipse in a 20 amp circuit often with no problems,
Just can’t use the AC
It was nice to have propane for the furnace and fridge.
Now that I have an all electric RV it’s very difficult.
The fridge uses 6 amps, the aqua hot uses 15 amps on electric.
The induction stove top uses 13 amps.
Impossible to use only a 20 amp at a site now.
__________________
2020 Winnebago Horizon 42Q
Maxum Chassis, 450 ISL
99 Storm 30H, 04 Southwind 32 VS, 07 Ellipse 40FD
2cyber71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 09:31 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,521
Ain't all electric coaches just wonderful?
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 09:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 15,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2cyber71 View Post
I plugged my 07 Ellipse in a 20 amp circuit often with no problems,
Just canít use the AC
It was nice to have propane for the furnace and fridge.
Now that I have an all electric RV itís very difficult.
The fridge uses 6 amps, the aqua hot uses 15 amps on electric.
The induction stove top uses 13 amps.
Impossible to use only a 20 amp at a site now.

Turn off AquaHot ...use the Induction stove top then when done cooking turn AquaHot back on (things should get that cold in the time it takes to cook something)
Just a like 'amp management' and it should be doable
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 10:09 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
pacwest's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 1,145
We donít have our new Phaeton yet but on another Tiffin forum I asked if I could use my aqua hot on a 20amp? Was told to use the burner setting rather than electric.
pacwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 12:05 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
DRM901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: North Texas
Posts: 316
We've done that on our Bus for a weekend or so. We were able to run refrig, AquaHot (on electric only), inverter/charger, TV, and all lights (since they are all LED). The Magnum had to be manually set at 20 amps, since it sensed 30 amps. Which popped the circuit breaker.

But, in hind sight, I should have just plugged using 50 amp cord plus the 50/30 pig tail and 30/20 adapter (ours is just a 3" plug adapter). Most outside regular extension cords are only rated for 15 amps. It was a little warm when I unplugged it.

Switching to the burner would get you back about 10-11 amps. That would be enough to use the microwave (8-9 amps) and maybe one burner - not at the same time.

Heat pumps pull 14 amps each, so they are not viable.
__________________
2014 Tiffin Allegro Bus 37AP
DRM901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp RV with 30amp cord and 50amp adapter Jasindude1 MH-General Discussions & Problems 77 06-04-2020 02:10 AM
50amp to 30amp to 50amp SwampTrash RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-09-2010 09:23 AM
Killowatt Hour Meters (20amp rated) RedneckExpress iRV2.com General Discussion 4 10-17-2009 09:33 PM
RV Plug-In 120/20amp While In Storage MCB128 RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-16-2009 10:30 PM
Using a 30amp/20amp electrical cheater box with an Energy Management System LR Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-02-2007 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.