RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2020, 02:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kjon's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Peach Bottom, PA
Posts: 114
Automatic Generator Start

How can I tell if my new 33AL is equipped with AGS?
__________________
Ken & Monica
2021 Allegro RED340 33AL ISB 6.7
Jeep Cherokee, Blue Ox
Kjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-12-2020, 04:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 31
I had the same question on my '19 37BA. I downloaded the manual for the remote inverter control that is located above the driver seat. Somewhere in the menu settings is a list of versions. I found a setting showing version for AGS = 6.1 so if you find that then presumably you have AGS.

And I goggled for "MD-AGS ME-RC remote". That gave me among other hits, 3 youtube videos on setup, testing, etc. In the section on setting up auto start I set the parameter so that it would quickly reach the limit and start the generator. The generator is set for a 2 minute wait before starting.

And it worked just fine. There was nothing in my owner documentation to indicate that I have AGS.

I then reset the parameters as required for my use. It's easy to mess up the settings on that remote so keep good notes.
TiffinUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 06:37 PM   #3
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Gen starts with AGS OFF

Ever since my MH was new (about 2 years) there has been occasions where I find my generator running without being manually started (like AGS has kicked in). I researched the AGS and confirmed that it is completely OFF and everyone says there is no way the generator could be auto-starting.

It has even happened when the RV is plugged in at home. Figure that out... The last time it happened we had just driven 6 hours to get home and I parked the RV in the driveway temporarily to make room to park it. The batteries should have been fully charged. The residential fridge was on, but I was surprised to find the gene running again.

If I want the gen to run, I will start it. Any ideas?
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 06:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
2cyber71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 299
Most Energy Management Systems has a AGS setting with a on/off setting too.
My Winnie has it in the Firefly unit, the main screen in the MH.
I can turn it off, or set it for (inefficient shore power, low battery voltage, or HVAC demand)
I can even adjust at what voltage I want it to come on, I usually set it at 12.2.
The AutoGen set needs to be turned on by 2 steps, (turn on at the firefly and I must turn my ignition key to on with in 2 minutes to engage the AutoGen.
I’m sure most DPs have similar set ups
__________________
2020 Winnebago Horizon 42Q
Maxum Chassis, 450 ISL
99 Storm 30H, 04 Southwind 32 VS, 07 Ellipse 40FD
2cyber71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 07:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradS View Post
If I want the gen to run, I will start it. Any ideas?
If you have the Magnum ME-RC remote unit above the driver's seat, then: "When the gen control setting in the remote is in the OFF position, all generator autostart functions are disabled and the AGS moduleís STATUS indicator will also be off."

Press the AGS button on the remote unit. Then press the round "select" knob & rotate it to status. It should display status = off if AGS if off. If it does not say off then rotate knob to Control Menu & select off.

HTH
TiffinUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 08:41 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 169
Look in the compartment where the inverter is located. The AGS is mounted in front of the inverter near the compartment door.

David
__________________
David
2020 Tiffin Allegro RED340
dwaugh10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 05:51 AM   #7
Member
 
bsedor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montrose, PA
Posts: 97
I had my generator start once with similar circumstances. Tiffin suggested that it could be moisture in a harness that is right in front by the generator. I unplugged it, applied some dielectric grease and made sure that I used good electrical tape to reseal it.

Let me know if you want a picture of the harness.
__________________
2017 Tiffin Allegro RED 33AA, 2015 Jeep Wrangler, Barney (Chihuahua), CJ (Beagle)
2016 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour (sold)
2012 Entegra Anthem RBQ (sold)
bsedor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 09:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jkorn's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 301
AGS can be optioned to start either by low battery voltage AND OR inside temperature.
jkorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 11:29 AM   #9
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaugh10 View Post
Look in the compartment where the inverter is located. The AGS is mounted in front of the inverter near the compartment door.

David

Here is my AGS... right where you said. Note it is ready, but the status is not lit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Magnum AGS module.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	189.3 KB
ID:	301058  
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 11:38 AM   #10
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Remote AGS Status

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiffinUser View Post
If you have the Magnum ME-RC remote unit above the driver's seat, then: "When the gen control setting in the remote is in the OFF position, all generator autostart functions are disabled and the AGS moduleís STATUS indicator will also be off."

Press the AGS button on the remote unit. Then press the round "select" knob & rotate it to status. It should display status = off if AGS if off. If it does not say off then rotate knob to Control Menu & select off.

HTH

Here is my Magnum Inverter Remote Control showing the AGS status as OFF
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Magnum Inverter Remote Control.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	166.1 KB
ID:	301059  
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 11:57 AM   #11
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Current sensor readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkorn View Post
AGS can be optioned to start either by low battery voltage AND OR inside temperature.

I guess I need to check those items when I find the gen running. I checked now (using the TECH menu) and it indicated TS COLD temp and battery was 13.7 (charging). I have these options turned off as well.
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 12:14 PM   #12
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Gen Harness Plug

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsedor View Post
I had my generator start once with similar circumstances. Tiffin suggested that it could be moisture in a harness that is right in front by the generator. I unplugged it, applied some dielectric grease and made sure that I used good electrical tape to reseal it.

Let me know if you want a picture of the harness.
Thanks for your reply. I got this same message from Tiffin. I checked the plug and it seemed sealed and dry. I live in a dry climate (but it does rain sometimes).

Since it is a diesel generator, I must hold the start switch (on gen or remote) for up to 14 seconds to get it primed and the glow plugs hot. Then it will start. Seems unlikely a random short could be doing that. Also this happens very infrequently. Have you had it happen since you "fixed" it?
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 12:19 PM   #13
Member
 
BradS's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 75
Spyder

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2cyber71 View Post
Most Energy Management Systems has a AGS setting with a on/off setting too.
My Winnie has it in the Firefly unit, the main screen in the MH.
I can turn it off, or set it for (inefficient shore power, low battery voltage, or HVAC demand)
I can even adjust at what voltage I want it to come on, I usually set it at 12.2.
The AutoGen set needs to be turned on by 2 steps, (turn on at the firefly and I must turn my ignition key to on with in 2 minutes to engage the AutoGen.
Iím sure most DPs have similar set ups

Thanks for you post. I was hoping for something like this. My RV uses the Spyder system. There is a lot with that that, and nobody understands it, or their just not saying.
__________________
Brad & Dianna
2017 Allegro Bus 37AP
2015 Jeep Cherokee
BradS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 01:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Kjon's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Peach Bottom, PA
Posts: 114
Spyder controls Info

You might try the Spyder Controls website.
Customer Support | Spyder Company


The Uid is: Tiffin
The PW is: Motorhomes


Hopefully you will find what you need.
__________________
Ken & Monica
2021 Allegro RED340 33AL ISB 6.7
Jeep Cherokee, Blue Ox
Kjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic generator start system/Generator/shoreline automatic changeover switc Rac912 RV Systems & Appliances 14 01-12-2016 11:51 AM
Xanbus Automatic Generator Start (AGS) JoeMoe Fleetwood Owner's Forum 0 06-06-2015 06:17 PM
Coach Inverter Charger, Generator Automatic Start, Install Advice scoudi RV Systems & Appliances 8 05-04-2015 06:11 AM
Automatic Generator Start kbhine Tiffin Owner's Forum 2 08-23-2014 08:57 AM
What Exactly is AGS (Automatic Generator Start) Willie300s Monaco Owner's Forum 11 06-15-2013 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.