Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-29-2019, 11:13 PM   #1

Considering Tiffin Allegro Red 36BA - Concerns

We've narrowed our search down to a couple models - Tiffin Allegro Red 36BA or Newman Ventana (or LE) 3709. Both have very similar floorplans. I have a few concerns regarding the Tiffin and would appreciate anyone weighing in with thoughts.

- There is carpeting on the kitchen slide. I admit it, I am a terribly messy cook and am concerned that it will get quickly soiled.
- The windows are single pane (albeit a thicker single pane). My understanding is that both the noise reduction and the insulation value are not as good as double panes (like in the Newmar)
- The dinette with computer workstation (as I am still working) has a fixed table. I would much rather have a free standing table so I can move it into an L-shape when working and be able to reach more of the surface space.
- The standard floor is a polished porcelain. We have small dogs and am concerned it would be slippery (and we do not want to use area rugs).
- No equivalent to Comfort Drive in the Newmar. While my husband will likely do most of the driving, I would also like to be comfortable driving it in both good and bad conditions. In other words, I don't want to have to muscle the wheel.

More minor concerns:
- The windows are slide (as opposed to mid-hinge in Newmar) and therefore can't open as far or in the rain.