Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-22-2017, 08:51 AM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Minnesota cold weather coming

I bought a new 2018 Open Road 34PA, I should say that I am a newbie to the RV world.
So far we have had it out once in 2 weeks and I am trying to figure out a few things. As we go into the MN cold weather season, what do I have to do to keep from freezing up in the basement? Also the upstairs living area did not warm up as well as I thought it should. The outside temp dropped to 38 degrees overnight, and the furnace ran continuously, or at least the blower did. The bedroom has just one duct that is about 5x5 inches square, we do have the ceiling fan, I did not try running it in updraft though. My side of the bed was against the back wall, the wall and floor were cold. I see that some have posted to supplement the heat with electric heaters upstairs.
Is there something that I should be doing with the heat pump and furnace working together? The heat pump would use the ductwork from the air conditioning which has many more vents throughout the MH and do a better job of dispersing the air around the MH. I read that the heat pump is not effective after it gets too cold, does the blower still work for the ductwork to move the air around though? Does the heat pump take the 50 amp service or generator to run, or is that only when running both air conditioners?