Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-14-2017, 01:57 PM   #1

Minor issues with new 2017 Phaeton

Hello:

I'm a relative newbie to iRV2 but have had gas motorhomes for about 12 seasons. Since getting our new 2017 Phaeton 40AH, I have a multitude of questions about some of the issues we have had. I know I should be talking to the techs and sales staff where it was purchased but I've caught them contradicting each other and heard inconsistencies in some of the things they have told me. I bet I can get the real poop on iRV2.

I started the coach today to move it to it's normal location after giving it a good washing and the dash display indicated that a battery had low voltage. I assumed it was referring to the chassis battery because for most of the day we had it connected to a 15 amp shoreline. I asked a dealership tech about it a couple of weeks ago (it has happened before) and he said that it was normal and to ignore it. So, considering this advice as one more inconsistency, I decide to shut off the chassis battery while parked any length of time while leaving the 15 amp shoreline attached to fuel up the house batteries. Good choice?

On a related note, a sales person told me that the inverter will allow us to boondock for about 8 hours with just the fridge running while a tech told us about three days. Does anyone on here have a good answer?