RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2016, 02:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 12
Momentary total failure

After driving for approximately one hour at freeway speed all instrument gauges stopped working for "a split second". The failure was so sudden I could not tell if the engine stopped also. I was able to continue on to my destination without any further failure. Will a Freightliner diagnostic check be able to determine the cause of failure? I am concerned that Freightliner will not be able to determine a cause unless the failure occurs while performing their diagnostics. Has anyone experienced a similar circumstance? If so, how was the problem resolved?
__________________

fshipton is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-13-2016, 03:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,197
I've never had it happen but I have read of others who have. To be honest I can't remember how it was handled. The in-depth discussion of the issue was on the Tiffinrvnetwork site so you might want to read the posts there. Wish I could help more.
__________________

__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 03:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
traveler of california's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,319
Had the same experience one time and it has not happened again after several hundred miles of driving. I did make a post on the Tiffin site but really did not get any answers.
__________________
Nick
Allegro Red 34QFA 2014
traveler of california is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 03:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,873
There is a long thread on this.
The key is "Did you need to restart your engine"?

This is important. All of the instruments run off of a common data bus (J1939). If this connection is interrupted, you normally see a "no J1939 data" message. Or if power is lost to the instruments, they all go through a reset cycle when power is restored.

Folks are thinking they have a intermittent connection, or a relay not fully seated. this have been very hard to diagnose because it starts working again.

Regards,

Dan
__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -Cave Creek, AZ.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 03:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
traveler of california's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,319
Do you recall the subject of the thread?
__________________
Nick
Allegro Red 34QFA 2014
traveler of california is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 06:06 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 174
I had the same thing occur while traveling in the left lane passing. It happened so quickly I wasn't sure if the engine quit because I had on cruise control and it quit, making me think the engine had also. I kept driving until I could pull over and call Freightliner. I had no code showing. The Freightliner tech told me he had others who had the same thing happen and they thought it was water or moisture getting into a connector. I've driven a couple thousand miles since with no issue.
__________________
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QBH
Toad - 2016 Ford F150 Lariat 4X4
Tarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 06:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
FRR2EYW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Front Royal, Va.
Posts: 391
Here is the other thread. It's in the Freightliner forum.

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f26/power...-a-260176.html
__________________
Shawn M.
2011 Fleetwood Expedition
2014 Chevy Traverse
FRR2EYW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 07:05 AM   #8
Member
 
Teacher's Pet's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On the Road
Posts: 92
WE had the problem in September in Ohio, all power at dash shut down twice while driving then came back on after 1-2 seconds. Just basically a "flash" of the dash gauges and lights. Shut down completely at a campground w/o power for 3 days. Turned out to be a bad crimp on the primary power cable at the firewall power stud in front of the point the wiring harness enters the coach under the dash. The cable was lightly crimped but only 1/4"-3/8" was in the copper lug. Basically the shrink tubing was the only thing holding it in place after 10 years it gave way.
__________________
Terry (He) & Dale (She)
Fulltimers since 9/'05
2006 Phaeton, 40' QSH, 350 Cat
Teacher's Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 12:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
traveler of california's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,319
Shawn, thanks for the link.
__________________
Nick
Allegro Red 34QFA 2014
traveler of california is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 11:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 207
I currently have this issue on my 2015 Allegro Red all dials go to 0 and then they go back on, noticed that this happened most during a bumpy road, I just got back from a 4700 trip and it did it once 250 miles away from home and then not again for another 3900 miles!! I took a video of the issue and I have sent it to my local dealer and I will be taking my MH there this coming Saturday for this and a couple of small issues. I did notice that if I moved the wire harness near the ignition switch it would do it once in a while it has to be some sort of bad contact in the area!! Since the unit was on cruise control it seems it looses power but it does not once you push the accelerator it continues as normal but this is a pain in the you know what, lets hope they could find this issue!!!
Grandcanyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 01:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandcanyon View Post
I currently have this issue on my 2015 Allegro Red all dials go to 0 and then they go back on, noticed that this happened most during a bumpy road, I just got back from a 4700 trip and it did it once 250 miles away from home and then not again for another 3900 miles!! I took a video of the issue and I have sent it to my local dealer and I will be taking my MH there this coming Saturday for this and a couple of small issues. I did notice that if I moved the wire harness near the ignition switch it would do it once in a while it has to be some sort of bad contact in the area!! Since the unit was on cruise control it seems it looses power but it does not once you push the accelerator it continues as normal but this is a pain in the you know what, lets hope they could find this issue!!!
If you jiggle the harness near the ignition switch and lose power, it's most likely what I found once, the plug from the ignition switch harness was lose to say the least. Ours was duct taped to the switch!!!,talk about good workmanship..I found ours one day , I was rerouting some wires and then the coach was dead...finally found the plug half out of the ignition switch..
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 11:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 207
Dash Board dials go blank for a second or two

Hello Again! Just to let everyone know that it looks like Freightliner solved my issue, I actually gave them a copy of the video that I took when this happened and they were able to go under the dashboard and as I thought found more then one connection lose!! This past week I took the MH on a 800 miles trip and no issues to report.
__________________

Grandcanyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACE and Front Brake Line Corrosion Failure ShadowT Thor Industries Owner's Forum 11 08-30-2015 07:19 AM
Eng Comm Failure, Trans Comm Failure DaleR Monaco Owner's Forum 7 05-29-2015 03:35 PM
Cell Phone as Power Failure Monitor redcolorado Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 05-19-2015 03:22 PM
Reese Goosebox and Lippert Frame Failure Report RRman 5th Wheel Discussion 2 04-16-2015 06:55 PM
Zone 3 Temperature Sensory Failure Swallace1 Entegra Owner's Forum 1 10-26-2013 02:50 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×