RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2020, 01:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 32
Pedestal GFI Pops

I am parked in a RV storage place that has a 20 amp pedestal with a GFI outlet. When I hook it up to my 2008 allegro bus, it lasts for about 20 or 30 seconds and the GFI pops. I reset it and the same thing. the house batteries are new as of last week. I have thot of just hooking up my battery charger and charge the batteries directly, bypassing the bus inner workings. it was previously hooked up to a 50 amp outlet and no problems. Any ideas?? thanks, John
john foose is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2020, 01:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14,590
Open your AC Panel and then open each CB one at a time until GFCI doesn't trip (helps having 2 people....one opening the CBs and one resetting the GFCI)

If after ALL CBs are open and GFCI still trips...Open the RV Main CBs

Typically it will end up being a heater element ,..... fridge, water heater
They can function A-OK but 'leak' a little current...GFCI senses the imbalance and trips
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 01:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,576
If you have built in surge protection, its testing may be another item thats causing the ground fault.

GFCIs are not overload devices, they save you from becoming a conductor of electricity if it gets out of the wires, and leaks to the chassis.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 02:11 PM   #4
Member
 
hipkts2010's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 52
My suggestion is to go to your inverter control panel and turn down the available amps to 20 or 15. It is probably set to either 30 or 50. The inverter is trying to charge the batteries and drawing too much current. IMHO.
__________________
Mike & Linda Whitenton, Semi-Ret-2014, FT-2003
2010 43 QGP Allegro Bus/DEF, 2015 Buick Enclave
hipkts2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 02:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipkts2010 View Post
My suggestion is to go to your inverter control panel and turn down the available amps to 20 or 15. It is probably set to either 30 or 50. The inverter is trying to charge the batteries and drawing too much current. IMHO.
A GFCI monitors the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is any imbalance, it trips the circuit. The GFCI senses a mismatch as small as 4 or 5 milliamps, and it can react as quickly as one-thirtieth of a second.
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 03:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
garykk's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 2,274
Yours is one of many complaints about GFIs and Tiffins. They just done work together.
__________________
2018 Allegro Bus 37AP
2014 Phaeton 40 QBH (sold)
2018 Jeep Recon
garykk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 03:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipkts2010 View Post
My suggestion is to go to your inverter control panel and turn down the available amps to 20 or 15. It is probably set to either 30 or 50. The inverter is trying to charge the batteries and drawing too much current. IMHO.
If you draw to much power, the circuit breaker trips, not the GFCI receptcal. Fact.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 09:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jkorn's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 327
I have the same problem..

It has NOTHING to do with the amount of draw from the RV like several have suggested. There seems to be some leakage back on the third wire ground from the Bus that the GFI outlet does not like, then trips. This is true no matter what amperage the outlet is.

That's what a GFI does, it looks for voltage on the 3 wire ground, which should have none most of the time.

I have had this issue with 50 and 20 amp GFI outlets. At home I have to find a outlet that is not a GFI. There just do NOT work together.

Friend had a 50 amp GFI at his site that I could not connect to either. He finally swapped it to a non GFI and all good.

Jeff
__________________
2021 Tiffin Allegro Bus 45OPP
2014 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP, 450HP
2015 Jeep GC, Air Force 1, Roadmaster Nighthawk
jkorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 06:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Talloaks's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkorn View Post
I have the same problem..

I have had this issue with 50 and 20 amp GFI outlets. At home I have to find a outlet that is not a GFI. There just do NOT work together.

Friend had a 50 amp GFI at his site that I could not connect to either. He finally swapped it to a non GFI and all good.

Jeff
Jeff, have you and your friend verified that you do not actually have a ground fault condition on your rig?

The GFI receptacle tripping is designed to tell you that you have a ground fault. The subsequent steps that would confirm or dispel this symptom would be to systematically test for a ground fault. If you don't, the next indication would be when you experience the electrical shock. There is typically no other advance warning, because these ground faults, while large enough to injure or kill you or your loved one, they are not large enough to trip the actual circuit breaker, or cause any heating or odor. Your 15-20-30-50 amp circuit breakers are designed to protect the conductors that make up your electrical circuits and prevent them overheating and causing fires. They do not protect people from electrocution. Serious injury and death can result from very small currents, much smaller than what would be needed to trip your circuit breaker. That is what the GFI is for.

Changing to a non-GFI receptacle silenced the alarm that was telling you that you had a potentially lethal condition, but it did not make the condition go away.

Sometimes a GFI receptacle is faulty and needs to be replaced. That happens. But it's not a safe bet to assume the GFI is at fault.

And beware when people say "certain rigs don't play well with GFCI's." That (IMHO) is a copout for not taking the time or having the understanding to actually trace the fault. That also is not a safe bet for you and your loved ones.

Test your rigs electrical systems. It takes a little time but it's not that difficult.

Good luck.
__________________
John
2007 Country Coach Tribute; Cat C9 400; 2012 Ford Edge toad; Roadmaster Blackhawk 2 10,000 lb tow bar; Demco AF1 Braking System; 2007 BMW K1200LT Hannigan Trike Conversion; Member, IEEE, NFPA, PMI, NRC SRO (Ret).
Talloaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:39 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,928
I had this issue with my coach at home. This year I bought a US made Hubble GFCI plug, rather then the Chinese POS from Home Depot. Problem is now gone.

Is there another post you can plug into to find out if that particular outlet is the issue?
__________________
2015 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2018 Chevrolet Colorado Toad
Roadmaster Tow Setup
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert GFI to non-GFI RV Vagabond iRV2.com General Discussion 28 12-14-2016 07:55 AM
Norcold problem--not recall--pops GFI ccraig RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-03-2013 07:28 PM
Heart Freedom 20 pops house GFI craigt Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 12-13-2007 06:33 AM
Carlisle May-Pops have reared their head Todd T Travel Trailer Discussion 1 09-11-2006 07:29 PM
Heart Freedom 15 Inverter pops input circuit breaker. JB Texas MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 05-04-2005 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.