RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Tiffin Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2011, 06:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Slide Motor Bolts breaking on Allegro Bay

Has anyone had problems with the bolts breaking on the slider motor of an allegrobay motor home. The slider has an electric motor with one inch tubing extending to a gear on each side. I have replaced several motors and many of the quater inch bolts that pin the tubing to the motor. I even took it back to the factory when it was new but whatever they did didn't fix it. Can anyone tell me how to stop this or tell me where I can get info or repair manuel?
stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-31-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 37
What sort of bolts did you use? I believe they need to be class 8 and the non-threaded portion should extend past the tubing so the stress isn't applied to that area. However, also be sure your rollers are, well rolling or something isn't interfering. It isn't a uncommon problem, but it shouldn't be happenning all the time. What model and what slide?
Gouda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 08:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,338
If the bolts are not a tight fit, perhaps they are wobbling which puts load on them in a non-perpendicular way that increases the stress in the bolt. If so, it might be possible to drill out the tubing to take a 3/8" bolt to get snug again.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:20 AM   #4
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,717
stubbs -

We had a problem with bolts breaking all the time. For me, the solution to stopping the breaking had 2 parts. The first part was to get the correct Power Gear special bolts AND nuts. The second part was to make sure the bolts are TIGHT. See the drawing of the Power Gear bolts and nuts below. Note that the proper torque is 168 in-lb (14 ft-lb). That is really tight for a 1/4" bolt, but it is what is required for this application. DO NOT try to tighten a standard 1/4-20 bolt that tight - Grade 8 only.

My theory is the original bolt broke because it became loose. I used standard Grade 8 bolts I got at Lowe's for about about 2 years with the bolts breaking about every month or two. Once I got the right bolts and nuts and tightened them to the proper torque, no more breakage.

The bolts are available directly from Power Gear or from Tiffin. You may want to order a couple of spares just in case, but I have had no further problems. I recommend checking the bolt torque a couple of times a year.

paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:14 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Breaking Slider Bolts

This is the info I was looking for, Thank you! I actually live close to Red Bay, Al where Tiffin is located. There is a surplus business located there that has everything associated with Allegro, they should have the bolts you suggested. I will post my results. Thanks again to everyone!
stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:48 AM   #6
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by stubbs View Post
This is the info I was looking for, Thank you! I actually live close to Red Bay, Al where Tiffin is located. There is a surplus business located there that has everything associated with Allegro, they should have the bolts you suggested. I will post my results. Thanks again to everyone!
They sell the bolts and nuts in the Campers Choice store at the campground by the repair center (around $1 a set, I think). If they don't have them in the store, I'm sure they can get them from the Parts Dept., or try McKinneys across the street.
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 09:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the info! Another question I have is, should the slider stop in a certain spot automatically or should it just bog down. The motor has been replaced, I didn't know if it should have mechanical or electrical stops to keep from torqueing the mechanism to much.
stubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 09:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,465
stubbs, I believe it shoud stop when it reaches a preset load on the motor via the control board. I don't know if it is adjustable. I would have a look at the board.


Mike
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 01:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,197
Our our Phaeton, the electric slide motor only stops when you take your finger off the button whether coming in or going out. When you hear the gears start to "grind", finger off! In regard to the slide bolts, first try to replace with the proper #8 grade bolt from the Tiffins Parts Store at the Service Center using the proper torque. Look for a wallowed out hole before putting the new bolt in. Some people use metal washers when replacing the bolt. If the bolt continues to break, then you may have a slide adjustment that needs to be done. This happens when the slide doesn't come in evenly on both ends causing stress on the bolt. Hope it is a simple fix for you.
__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 08:44 AM   #10
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by stubbs View Post
Thanks for all the info! Another question I have is, should the slider stop in a certain spot automatically or should it just bog down. The motor has been replaced, I didn't know if it should have mechanical or electrical stops to keep from torqueing the mechanism to much.
I think the the way the slide mechanism knows when to stop is when the load on the motor reaches a preset level, so ours sounds like it bogs down before it stops. I think there are mechanical stops, and hitting those stops is what increases the load on the motor.
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:14 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
TAB09's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Great Lone Star State
Posts: 5
Just Curious! How many slides does your coach have and is it the front slides or the rear ones if you happen to have four? I have a 09 Allegro Bay that has three out of four bolts that secure the rear slide motor, that have loosened and will no longer tighten; I believe that the threads have been damaged and will now required a larger size bolt. Is this the same issue that is being discussed by everyone, or is this a different issue?
__________________
TAB09
Bob/Dawn & Dusty
USAF Retired
TAB09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Sounds like power gear slides.. I used to buy those bolts by the dozen, still have 10 left.

What I did was (On the suggesiton of another forum member) buy LONGER bolts, bolts long enough that the NON THREADED portion of the bolt extended through the shaft.

This meant I had to stack washers up I alternated split ring lock washers (Standard ones) with I think two thick standard washers) to get the nut to tighten down, but it also means that the sold shank of the bolt, NOT the threaded part, is where the shaft hits the bolt.

To date, since putting these in.. I've not had to replace one.. YET. (been quite a while too)

The Factory original had a shorter thread, a longer "Shank" and a nut that was very thick and only threaded in part so it came down over the un-threaded shank part.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:01 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
TAB09's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Great Lone Star State
Posts: 5
I apologize I may not have explained my issue correctly. I am talking about the rear slides motor bolts. Three of the four on my motor appear to be stripped, To date I haven't had any break. Also the threads on mine seem to be internal into the frame, there isn't any nuts so to speak. My Coach is built on a Freightliner frame. Again I apologize for the confusion, Thank You.
__________________
TAB09
Bob/Dawn & Dusty
USAF Retired
TAB09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:14 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
TAB09's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Great Lone Star State
Posts: 5
I do have one additional issue that I would like to open for discussion. Has anyone ever had occasion to have to replace the dryer vent hose on a Washer/Dryer combo that is in a cabinet in the bathroom. The hose runs down into a space under the floor and through the frame and attaches to a vent mounted on the passenger side of the frame. There isn't very much space in which to work and to date I have not found any access panels or any other places which might allow easier removal and replacement of the vent hose, Thank You.
__________________
TAB09
Bob/Dawn & Dusty
USAF Retired
TAB09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
door step motor - 1994 allegro bay vidaliaman iRV2.com General Discussion 3 09-08-2011 04:44 PM
Captains Chairs in 2008 Allegro Bay Lash Tiffin Owner's Forum 0 06-01-2011 04:49 PM
Identifying differential in allegro bay heavymetal Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 0 10-10-2010 11:02 AM
slide out shear pins breaking lincolncent MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 08-11-2010 11:01 AM
Allegro & Allegro Bay FRED Craig H Tiffin Owner's Forum 8 01-23-2009 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.