Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2014, 08:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jrgreen's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 177
30amp works, 50 amp doesn't

My 08 FW Discovery plugged into 50 amp will show 50 amps at the coach on the Intellitec load meter and looks like everything is ok (power status shows all circuits good) but I have not power in the coach and the Magnum Energy Inverter/Charger is shows no power or charging. When I plug into 30 amps, everything works fine. When I run the generator, it provides 50 amps and everything works fine. Thoughts?
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40x
2002 Jeep Liberty
jrgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-30-2014, 08:32 PM   #2
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,595
Sounds like a connection inside the transfer switch. Disco power, open it up and check all the connections.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 217
I have had that exact thing happen two different times in two different parks and both times it was a bad 50 amp breaker in the park.

You are welcome. There is no charge for this public service I have learned the hard way after spending several days with no a/c in the front in 110 degree temps.
arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:49 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 23,519
Are you sure there is power on the pedestal? Circuit breaker may be bad on it.
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
2016 London Aire 4519, Freightliner chassis, Cummins ISX, 2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail with AF1. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jrgreen's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 177
The Intellitec 50 amp Smart Energy Management System (model 900) in the coach fires up and after a min turns on all of the main circuit lights on the Intellitec display. That should mean that I am getting power to the coach.
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40x
2002 Jeep Liberty
jrgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:57 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIX View Post

Sounds like a connection inside the transfer switch. Disco power, open it up and check all the connections.
The transfer switch is working correctly because it is transferring the 30 amp power to the coach so it should transfer the 50 amp the same which it is doing since he states that it shows up at the Intellitec load meter.


Quote:
Originally Posted by arby View Post

I have had that exact thing happen two different times in two different parks and both times it was a bad 50 amp breaker in the park.

You are welcome. There is no charge for this public service I have learned the hard way after spending several days with no a/c in the front in 110 degree temps.
This could be a possibility ONLY if the 50 amp shore power was not getting from the pedestal to the coach at all but it is because it shows up on the Intellitec Load Display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgreen View Post

My 08 FW Discovery plugged into 50 amp will show 50 amps at the coach on the Intellitec load meter and looks like everything is ok (power status shows all circuits good) but I have not power in the coach and the Magnum Energy Inverter/Charger is shows no power or charging. When I plug into 30 amps, everything works fine. When I run the generator, it provides 50 amps and everything works fine. Thoughts?
You have a different Intellitec Power System than I do but that's the first place I would look.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 04:24 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
The transfer switch is working correctly because it is transferring the 30 amp power to the coach so it should transfer the 50 amp the same which it is doing since he states that it shows up at the Intellitec load meter.
Not necessarily. Since there are separate contactors in the transfer switch for shore and for the genset, It is entirely possible that either of the contact points for the L1/L2 legs on the shore side contactor outbound side are either burnt or corroded to the point of either passing a very low voltage or none at all.

Back to the issue at hand... jrgreen, if you're comfortable working with AC voltage and the cover off of the transfer switch, if it were me, I would plug the unit into 50amp shore and with my meter, would begin checking voltages on L1 and L2 on the transfer switch wiring itself. This will also confirm your pedestal wiring. IF you have both legs being passed thru correctly, then my next step would be inside behind the breaker panel and of course the wiring for the EMS itself. This gets complex.. but many of us can walk you through testing it if you are comfortable doing so.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 04:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,124
Assuming you are in a campgrounds, move to another site and try it.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 09:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jrgreen's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 177
I found the transfer switch in a hole behind an access panel in the closet. Before I started with measurements, we had to go shopping (a happy mama bear is a happy family) so I stopped at the campground office and asked them to check to post power. Sure enough, the 50 amp is bad. It looks like it's time to buy a Surge Guard so I know right away next time. Thanks to all who responded.
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40x
2002 Jeep Liberty
jrgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 09:41 PM   #10
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP" & Lehigh Acres Fl
Posts: 21,410
Thank you for the update.
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L Workhorse W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD, 06 Lincoln Mark LT 4X4
See My Pace Arrow Upgrades
JohnRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 10:39 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,114
Until you get some electrical protection for your rig, here's a handy video on how to check pedestals. There's also a great link for all rv related electrical issues.



RV Electric
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 45 amp Charger/Converter to higher amp bproulx12 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 19 03-20-2014 09:26 AM
30 amp to 50 amp ricksrv Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 03-05-2014 10:30 AM
30 amp to 50 amp upgrade Rockwood27 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-21-2014 03:33 AM
Life on 30 amp Service on a 27N rgrimm Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 21 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
Heart Freedom 458 inverter excessive idle amp draw jm80129 RV Systems & Appliances 9 06-10-2013 03:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.