Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2011, 08:06 PM   #1
Member
 
dynaride99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 32
50 amp EMS remote display not working

I have a 08 Fleetwood Expedition with the Intellitec 50 amp energy management system. Went to get ready for my Christmas trip and the remote display was not working. I looked in the technical manual and the trouble shooting steps are a bit limited. Everything seemed to check out fine so I was wondering if any one else has had a problem with the remote unit dying on them. There is no LED indication of amps, equipment powered or Generator running. Everything in the coach will power up and the generator will feed the whole coach. Intellitec does not provide owners with any tech support and the warranty is only 1 yr. I found a new remote for around 100 dollars but would like to rule out any issues that may have damaged the original unit before I replace it. Thanks for any help in advance.
dynaride99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-14-2011, 10:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 508
hi ride:

i had same question - so then had email correspondence with the company
below is the reply....

regards, pdq
___________________
If you Powerline unit is p/n 00-00740-xxx then we connected to 50 Amp
service the remote current display area is disabled. If your part
number is 00-00911-xxx and you are connected to 50 Amp service, the
remote current display area is disabled as well. Prior version of the
EMS would behave the same, meaning the remote display would be disabled.
__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2010 equinox tow
we're here... https://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=12260
our blog... https://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
pcurt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,295
Here is the site for the manuals.
Service Manuals

pcurt
pcurt23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:50 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,250
Only the amp (current) display should be disabled when on 50A - the other lights should still work. Or at least they do on mine.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:49 AM   #5
Member
 
dynaride99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks for the response. I will do some more trouble shooting when I can get the display unit out. Maybe there is a way to open the case. Could be a fuse or I might see a burnt spot on the board. The answers in the email don't match the way it worked when it was new as I could monitor my amp draw when plugged in and all lights would be lit when power was avail to the load shed proctected equipment. I will again check the output v of the main board and check for any grounds in the remote display wiring. If it all looks good I will buy a new remote display.
dynaride99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Catch and Release's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Woodlands Texas
Posts: 93
Had a similar problem

Had a similar problem that was solved by disconnecting both the house and chassis batteries for a couple of minutes and then reconnecting on my 2007 Fleetwood Excursion.
__________________
Retired, Twice!
I do nothing and I do it very well!
Catch and Release is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:53 PM   #7
bnb1313@aol.com
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,532
On my EMS system, I can't read the current usage when connected to 50 amp shore power, but it will display the current draw when the generator is supplying power. This is because of the way the EMS current transformers are arranged on the EMS feeds.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now, had to put Charlie the Beagle down :(.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2020 1500 GMC Sierra Denali 4x4 Crewcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:23 AM   #8
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaride99
I have a 08 Fleetwood Expedition with the Intellitec 50 amp energy management system. Went to get ready for my Christmas trip and the remote display was not working. I looked in the technical manual and the trouble shooting steps are a bit limited. Everything seemed to check out fine so I was wondering if any one else has had a problem with the remote unit dying on them. There is no LED indication of amps, equipment powered or Generator running. Everything in the coach will power up and the generator will feed the whole coach. Intellitec does not provide owners with any tech support and the warranty is only 1 yr. I found a new remote for around 100 dollars but would like to rule out any issues that may have damaged the original unit before I replace it. Thanks for any help in advance.
If one of your breakers are off or bad,you will get weird output on the ems display. Ask me how I know.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSkyBob View Post
On my EMS system, I can't read the current usage when connected to 50 amp shore power, but it will display the current draw when the generator is supplying power. This is because of the way the EMS current transformers are arranged on the EMS feeds.
Mine also works this way plus when hooked to 30 amp it will also show the draw. When hooked to 50 amps there are two lines showing only.
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BarbRN's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 305
Mine doesn't show up on 50 amp, 30 amp or generator power. It's new and we don't know how it works.
__________________
Barb Collins
Greer, SC
2014 Winnebago Aspect
BarbRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:15 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,250
You have some sort of problem, then. Could be as simply as a disconnected wire from the monitor to the panel, or as complex as a bad circuit board.

You can view a detailed service manual for your Powerline EMS here. There are several models depending on the year of the coach, but the differences are minor.
http://www.flemingsalesoem.com/intel...5322100100.pdf
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an adapter to plug 30 amp RV to 50 amp service Dmiles MH-General Discussions & Problems 45 05-16-2018 06:56 PM
Rebuilt 200 amp Leece Neville Alternator Coin-Op Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 34 05-14-2016 03:32 PM
50 Amp Cord/ One 50 Amp AC Breaker. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-28-2010 08:23 AM
30 amp power versus 50 amp question Paul T Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 07-14-2010 06:53 AM
EMS System Megawatt RV Systems & Appliances 4 01-22-2006 02:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.