Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2022, 02:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 16
AC Shedding Problems

I have a 2002 Expedition, 5.9 cummins with a 7500 ONAN generator, 30amp rig with two Coleman Mach 3 rooftop AC's. Rear AC is less than five years old and i just replaced front AC last year. I noticed that prior to replacement of the front AC, that it would "shed" quite a bit somedays. New unit does the same thing. In sheds on shore power, it sheds on Gen power, it sheds when it is running all by itself, it sheds when running with rear ac. Sometimes it may go a few hours without shedding, but this past weekend, it shed every five minutes i bet. Just off and on all night. I'm currently checking connections in breaker panel, going to replace main/front AC breaker. (i thought it may be causing to much drag and tripping the donut amp sensor) could the donut amp sensor be bad? could my ECC be bad? i shut power off to it for a minute to reset, same result. could my EMS be causing this? I'm at a loss but very frustrating. The rear runs fine, all night and all day. If something needs to shed, the rear would shed first but it never sheds. I know this belongs somewhere else probably but im a rookie at message boards....sorry.
ballkiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-26-2022, 03:03 PM   #2
Member
 
un4givn85's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 74
do you have any way to measure amp draw? Like a surge protector or Victron equipment.
the Intellitec system uses amp draw and calculations to determine when to shed, there could be something related to the front AC causing it draw more than is should be.
__________________
Chris, Kayti and family
2001 Fleetwood Discovery 36T DP
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland EcoDiesel TOAD
un4givn85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 07:37 AM   #3
Member
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 987
Bypass the ems board in the breaker panel. Move the wire hot lead from the relay to another breaker and test functions. Be careful not to shock yourself. You really need to take this to a shop.
__________________
.
NATIONAL INDOOR RV CENTERS - NIRVC
Sales | Service | Indoor Storage | Wash
Collision Repair & Paint Restoration


SM Nashville 972-697-6325
Bobby Dowdle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 08:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 8,277
Could you describe exactly what you mean by shedding please? Does the entire air conditioner go off, or just the compressor, but the fan is still running?

I would try and remove the 12 volt fuse for the EMS system, wait a few minutes and then plug that fuse back in. I know on my coach every once in a while the EMS goes silly. In my 2006 Discovery coach, the fuse is back on the bed frame inside the fuse box.

Also, just a shot in the dark, but in my coach, I found the air conditioner control box that is mounted up in the ceiling on the air conditioner had a cord with plug that was stuffed inside a chaseway or cavity in the ceiling. Moisture had gotten to the plug and several wires had corroded off. (see picture)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170429_151429.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	188.0 KB
ID:	377435   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170429_203822.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	146.8 KB
ID:	377436  

__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 08:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 8,277
Forgot to mention, I think the EMS can be programed to shed different items first. So it could be someone programed it to shed the front first.

Assuming your coach has a EMS with a amp readout, what amp readings are you getting with the front unit running, vs rear unit running vs both running? How close to the 30 amp maximum are you getting before it sheds?
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 09:05 AM   #6
Member
 
un4givn85's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 74
Being a 2002, it is likely the Intellitec system that doesn't have a readout.
__________________
Chris, Kayti and family
2001 Fleetwood Discovery 36T DP
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland EcoDiesel TOAD
un4givn85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 09:43 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 16
when it sheds, it just shuts off the compressor to the front ac for two minutes, then kicks right back on and runs for five minutes maybe, then kicks off for two. I don't have an AMP draw read out anywhere on the coach, it is an Intellitec system. I think I may have found the problem. I changed the breaker out yesterday (the 30 amp main and 20 amp front ac combo breaker) and it ran fine for over thirty minutes. I'm going to mess with it some more today after work. How can i test amp draw at the breaker box?
ballkiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 09:48 AM   #8
Member
 
un4givn85's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 74
sounds like you may have had a bad breaker.
without throwing some money at the problem via a clamp meter or one of Waiter's new Intellitec replacements, no good way to read the amp draw.
__________________
Chris, Kayti and family
2001 Fleetwood Discovery 36T DP
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland EcoDiesel TOAD
un4givn85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 10:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 668
If the problem persists now that you’ve changed the breakers you really do need to buy or borrow an AC clamp meter. They don’t cost that much in the big picture. Then you clamp it around the wire at the breaker and get an immediate readout of amps drawn. Otherwise, from here on out, you are chasing a phantom without any data to diagnose with. You’ll also want to measure voltage at the breaker at a minimum to see what voltage you have both with AC fully engaged and with compressor shedding.
__________________
Marvin (and Eileen) - Weekend RVer On A Budget
1997 34í Gas Bounder / F53 Chassis | Towing 1996 Ford Ranger on Acme Dolly
MarvinG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 12:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 8,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarvinG View Post
If the problem persists now that youíve changed the breakers you really do need to buy or borrow an AC clamp meter. They donít cost that much in the big picture. Then you clamp it around the wire at the breaker and get an immediate readout of amps drawn. Otherwise, from here on out, you are chasing a phantom without any data to diagnose with. Youíll also want to measure voltage at the breaker at a minimum to see what voltage you have both with AC fully engaged and with compressor shedding.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 10:15 PM   #11
Member
 
VolDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 94
Read your owners manual paperwork on the Intellitec. There is a bypass switch built in that you can use to test the system. You may simply have a faulty Intellitec module.

I recently had issues with mine shedding at odd times. I had a backup module that I installed and resolved the issue. The module can be replaced or rebuilt. There is an upgrade that completely replaces the Intellitec called Waiter ECC. I've talked to a few people who have made this upgrade with great success.
__________________
2000 Fleetwood Discovery 36T
Living Life in the Foothills of East TN
Go Dawgs!
VolDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 04:20 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 27
I BET I CAN SOLVE YOUR PROBLEM!!!! I HAD SAME ISSUE AND SOLVED FOR MANY PEOPLE!! First question.. do you have Fluorescent ceiling lights? Thin-Lite or other brand?

Try turning off ALL ceiling and/or fluorescent light in RV. ALL. Then run your A/C like normal. Tell me if the Intellitec Thermostats "SHEDS" anymore.

Bet it won't.. after this test,...reply your findings and I'll "geek-out" with you and tell you why its happening!
happyseany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 04:24 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
2cyber71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,082
If I have 2 ACs running on a hot day and a third starts, it sheds one of the two for a few minutes, they they all run good. It’s the start amperage surge.
I can see one line pop over 52 amps and we get a shed for about 3-5 minutes.
Turn on a microwave and you will shed.
__________________
2020 Winnebago Horizon 42Q
2022 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited
99 Storm 30H, 04 Southwind 32 VS, 07 Ellipse 40FD
2cyber71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 04:30 PM   #14
Member
 
BC Buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 35
Following
__________________
St. Louis Missouri
Longing for retirement
BC Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ems, problem, problems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Load-shedding ain't shedding Robi.1014 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 08-25-2017 05:14 PM
Paramount Awning Not Shedding Water Pigman1 Tiffin Owner's Forum 4 04-03-2015 10:11 PM
Load shedding EMS Hooky Entegra Owner's Forum 12 06-26-2014 08:47 PM
air conditioner shedding problems pace arrow deepag1 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 1 07-09-2012 10:55 AM
Old A/C ducts shedding foam insulation.... ScenicCruiser 5th Wheel Discussion 3 06-25-2005 12:44 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.