Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-27-2020, 12:58 PM   #1

Adding third air conditioner?

I have been fighting this problem for over 4 years. We have a 2015 38K Expedition that has the rear bathroom. Problem is that with the hot weather like we have been having, the engine heat radiates into the bathroom and bedroom. Does not seem to do so too much while driving because the air flow removes the heat. But when you stop, the heat builds up in the bathroom rapidly. The floor reaches 98-100 degrees by the time I get set up after driving. I have tried opening the engine compartment doors on both sides to let the heat escape. This helps but the problem is still there. I have looked at mounting a fan in the engine compartment to blow cooler air onto the underside of the floor. This too, helps but does not solve the problem. I have looked at installing insulation to the underside of the floor but have decided this to be too risky. The last thing I need is for the insulation to come loose and go into the fan and radiator. Also, I would have to hire a monkey to install the insulation as a monkey is the size of a person needed to get into the space where the insulation is needed.

The only solution I can see working is to add a third air conditioner. I have checked with REV Technical Support and was told that since this coach did not offer an option for a third air conditioner they did not add any additional structural support or wiring for one and that the extra weight on the roof could be a problem.