Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-18-2012, 10:45 AM   #1

Delamination OR Clearcoat Peel ?

Attached (hopefully I got the picture in this post)

is a picture of the rear side of my 2000 Bounder DP 39z

I can not seem to "get and edge" with my finger nail and was wondering what other people may think. Delamination or clearcoat peel?

I am a fairly decent mechanic (cars mostly) but bodywork is not my area of expertise. I have read some posts indicating methods of cleaning, sanding and re-coating with clear.

I do not have the money to go to a professional so anyone have advice on how to make my rig look better?

I am thinking of removing the decals with a heat gun (I have experience doing that before) then sanding the whole bus with 220? then clearcoating with a gun (I have a very large compressor at my car shop)

Anyone have experience they can share?

Ted
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	peely 002.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	119.6 KB
ID:	23654  
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!