Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-23-2020, 06:39 AM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
House Batteries

Good day all,
We are total newbies at RVing an need your guidance.
We have a new to us 2015 Excursion and are needing to change the house batteries. We have a residential refrigerator. We expect to use RV campgrounds, COE, City/State/NP campgrounds, etc. At this time we do not think that we will be boondocking, other than the overnight at WalMart, rest areas or CB. I can see that changing in the future although my husband says he is not interested in boondocking at all (I expect him to change his mind when he experiences the peace and quiet, views and zero/low cost of boondocking).
It is time to change our house batteries and we are not sure wether we should go with 2 lithiums or 4 sealed AGMs.
My biggest fear is if we buy the AGMs, and need to overnight (like from 5pm-9am the next day) the batteries will fall below 50% charge and we will damage them. Our battery reader does not provide a % readout so I am not sure how to make sure that the batteries are not falling below the 50% "safe" area.
If we go to Lithium, will we also need to change the inverter? What else will we need to change if we go to lithium?
Thank you in advance for the guidance.
MiamiDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!