RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2010, 06:35 PM   #1
Registered User
 
dukenrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 428
How do I know if my roof air has heat strips too?

My 2002 American Eagle T-Stat has dual zones and HEAT/AIR plus AC/GAS options. I figured I could run HEAT/AC (vs HEAT/GAS). The roof units do kick on but no heat. How do I verify that they have a heat strip?
dukenrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-12-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 33,038
Blog Entries: 1
With our Bounder, the thermostat has an "elect" & a "gas" mode. However, if I set the mode to elect but the temperature I set on the thermostat is greater than 3 degrees above the registered temperature, the elect won't come on. The gas heat will kick in first to heat up the interior until it's within that degree range, then the gas will shut off & the elect will turn on. I don't know if your thermostat control works the same, we are both Fleetwood units, but I thought I'd throw this scenario out.

Also, the elect will not heat if it's too cold outside (below about 38-40 degrees). It just blows cool air, if any. The heat pumps can't extract enough heat out of the air to provide heat inside my coach.

Lori-
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2018 Phaeton XSH 40 IH & 2014 CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
2006 Bounder 36Z, 2004 Cougar 285EFS 5-r, 2000 Aerolite 25FBR TT
There is great need for a sarcasm font.
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:35 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 23,260
Your Eagle has a/c heat pumps rather than electric heat strips. They give a modest amount of heat as long as the outside air is above about 45 degrees. It takes several minutes for warmish air to flow.

If the a/c provide does not heat, it could be that the reversing valve in the a/c is not working, but the odds that it failed in both a/c's is infinitesimal. A thermostat problem would be more likley.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:44 PM   #4
Registered User
 
dukenrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 428
Gary,

I would find it hard to believe that they wouldn't install the "heat pump" or "strip" in my MH. I pulled out the instructions for the T-Stat and I programmed it as the directions stated having a separate Air Conditioner and Furnace. By doing this, it took away the Heat/AC option on my T-Stat. I have the MH in my driveway tonight (It goes in tomorrow for Duo Blinds) so I will reprogram it to get the Heat/AC mode back. I think you are correct regarding the outside temp being the issue. (It's 18 degrees right now)
dukenrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bounder



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Winnie Roof Air LK23 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 11-06-2010 08:02 AM
Coleman Roof Air Drains Belgique Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 04-04-2010 07:54 AM
Dometic air conditioner heat strip melvonnar RV Systems & Appliances 5 09-23-2009 12:54 PM
Adding heat strips to a ducted A/C system kenkap RV Systems & Appliances 1 04-14-2009 07:20 AM
Roof Top Air - Just hums ktmnoel Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-16-2008 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.