Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2021, 09:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Norcold 1200 temp setting

Hi all

I have a norcold 1200 in our discovery 39s 2006, and when you press the temp setting button, the display doesn't change or do anything. The button does work, because I can get it into diagnostic mode, but it won't bring up the current setting.

Coupled with that, it won't cool any more. I have it on diag page 3, and the fin temp is say at room temp.

Running on AC. Any clues?

P
Lofty591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-25-2021, 10:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lofty591 View Post
Hi all



I have a norcold 1200 in our discovery 39s 2006, and when you press the temp setting button, the display doesn't change or do anything. The button does work, because I can get it into diagnostic mode, but it won't bring up the current setting.



Coupled with that, it won't cool any more. I have it on diag page 3, and the fin temp is say at room temp.



Running on AC. Any clues?



P


Probably time for a residential fridge.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 10:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mine had 2 settings, Normal and Defrost

Now have a Samsung, along with another motor home.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ice cream.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	341154   Click image for larger version

Name:	motorhome fire.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	109.8 KB
ID:	341155  

__________________
Bo
'03 Discovery
Cajun2Stepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 11:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,821
Sounds like upper display has failed

AS for lack of cooling
With that bad upper display is the AC heater elements even getting energized?
Feel the area on stack where the 2 elements are installed...both have to work in order to cool
S/B HOT

With bad upper display had to tell if cooling unit/controls work
To Test
Unplug the element leads from lower circuit board
plug them leads directly into a working 120VAC outlet
This energizes the elements continuously -----bypasses all controls
Run for 12 hrs them check freezer/food compartment temps
BOTH COLD.........cooling unit is working
Freezer cold/food not..blockage

Still have the issue with upper display
No sense in spending $$ on new upper display until you know cooling unit works
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 01:41 PM   #5
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun2Stepp View Post
Mine had 2 settings, Normal and Defrost

Now have a Samsung, along with another motor home.
DANG! Bo, your words, along with these side-by-side pictures make one heck of a lot more impact then any warning I have ever seen!

After the first recall from Norcold.... I couldn't wait to get that Samsung installed!

I just wish more people can see your post!

Bill
03 American Tradition
bneiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 04:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Sounds like upper display has failed

AS for lack of cooling
With that bad upper display is the AC heater elements even getting energized?
Feel the area on stack where the 2 elements are installed...both have to work in order to cool
S/B HOT

With bad upper display had to tell if cooling unit/controls work
To Test
Unplug the element leads from lower circuit board
plug them leads directly into a working 120VAC outlet
This energizes the elements continuously -----bypasses all controls
Run for 12 hrs them check freezer/food compartment temps
BOTH COLD.........cooling unit is working
Freezer cold/food not..blockage

Still have the issue with upper display
No sense in spending $$ on new upper display until you know cooling unit works

You have a very old refer, it works on AC but nothing else. You can replace the mother board, thermister and display board and probably get it working but if it were me, just change it out for a residential and be done with it. Either replace the dometic or add a Samsung, either way it’s gonna cost about the same, $1400+/- as for me, my 1200 was giving me fits after five years so we went to J&R refrigeration in Indiana and had them replace the whole cooling unit. You can also do it your self just sayin..🤓
Bonron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 09:16 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
VIETVET72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 13
If you like the size and fit of the Norcold you can get a 12 VDC compressor upgrade put into it, or buy a 12 VDC unit to replace it. The 12 VDC compressor units use a little less electricity than a 120V unit. And they're better if you like to boondock. https://jc-refrigeration.com/product...vac-12-24v-dc/
__________________
Howard S. Retired USAF CMSgt
2001 Southwind 32V, Ford V-10, DW & 2cats
2021 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
VIETVET72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 07:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 136
I have a 2008 discovery 40 x my problem is freezer works fine my refrigerator doesn’t get to about 55 degrees. I was thinking about replacing with new domedic 1200 are they any better built or should I just change to household refrigerator. Could anyone tell how you replaced in and out rv
mrrebel77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 07:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,398
We fought our Norcold 1200 for ~10 years, never did cool great, freezer worked some times. I installed remote temp monitor in both to be able to check and kept freezer blocks to move to fridge when it was acting up. It finally died
Installed a Samsung in 2019, works great, will drop ice all day long no matter what the temperature.

I was able to take the Norcold out the front door by taking it apart. Samsung came in through a window. Removing a window is pretty simple but it does intimidate people.



I was in Wy in July, temps were over 100F, sun beating down on side with refrigerator, Samsung never missed a beat. I would have had to have thrown all the food away with the Norcold.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:20 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 136
What model Samsung did you get
mrrebel77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:14 PM   #11
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 309
Samsung "RF 18" is the most compatible ( dimensionally )with the Norcold 1200.

Bill
bneiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
norcold



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norcold 1200 fridge issues temp fix BINGHAMD Fleetwood Owner's Forum 1 07-15-2016 10:07 PM
Norcold 1200 High temp safety unit quirks Gary.Jones Monaco Owner's Forum 39 04-06-2014 11:20 AM
Norcold 1200 Blows Fuse at Low Outside temp jollyjim RV Systems & Appliances 12 01-09-2014 10:27 AM
Norcold 1201 temp setting flashes on adjustment. Manual says Running on Backup System KB Davidson RV Systems & Appliances 4 08-01-2012 10:45 AM
Norcold 1200 temp differentials.. footdoc RV Systems & Appliances 43 07-22-2008 02:25 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.