Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2014, 09:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Shore charging 50A coach with 15 or 20 amp 120

I just bought a 2014 Expedition and will be storing it. I have been working on outfitting it in my driveway and with the Energy Management System I have been trying to plug into 120 to just charge the batteries which I should be able to do. I have set the Magnum Energy to 15A limiting and turned off heavy draw breakers, like reefer and A/C units but I still can't get it to accept the power all the time. It shows L1 0 volts and L2 118 v. Do I need voltage on both lines like 50amp service requires 120 on both hot leads 180 out of phase. How do I shore battery charge without 50Amp service? Running generator not neighborly all the time. Or should I just charge while traveling and use battery disconnects when stored? Any suggestions or experience from other Fleetwood 50A owners appreciated.
Doug Stroud
dlirious is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-18-2014, 10:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Sounds like your adapter may be the problem. I believe what you need is called a "dogbone" adapter. It adapts 30 amp to 50 amp and gives 120v on both legs. You can then adapt the 30 amp to your 20 amp. I do it all of the time at home. I ca even run one A/C unit with no problems. Make sure your extension cord is a good one or it will get hot.
__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:52 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Fleetwood Power

Thanks Cobra. I think I have dog bone plugs, I use a 50-30 then a 30 to 110. Maybe the 30 to 110 is mis-wired or my neutral is on wrong plug on the house line. Getting 50 amp installed at house next week so will be solved then. Thanks for the response. Good travels to you.
dlirious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dvmweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 1,073
As an aside, don't put the connected adaptors in the mh bay. They can get really hot, even enough to start a fire. Eventually spend the money on a real 220v 50 amp plug. You will not regret it. It only cost us about $400. The wire was the most expensive part. If you know how to do it is not that difficult.
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 09:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Yes you need voltage on both L-1 and L-2. You have two choices

One, is a dogbone adapter 15 amp plug 50 amp outlet

The other is two dog bones 50-30 and 30-15 (The second number is the plug)

You need a 50-30 anyway.

THIRD CHOICE on SOME RV's (And as it happens this works for me)

On some RV's the converter is a plug in model (Mine for eample) and I have a cord that has a 15 amp plug and a 15/20 amp outlet, since the 10 amp max load converter has a 20 amp plug on it.

So i pull the plug from the RV's outlet and plug into the cord to the hole in the building wall. Works great, and completly limits my power draw to that which the converter sucks (not much) when I need 120vac indoors (TV's and such) well.. that is what the Prosine does best. I mean the Prosine is even better at it than Consolidated Edison Duke, Blue ridge, Detroit Edison, Comsumers and the other power companies about the land.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 09:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
pagosajoe's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,549
On our 2012 Discovery, we are connected from 120 VAC to the dog bone converter to the 50 A line on the coach. Our power meter shows L1 at 0 VAC, and L2 at 120 VAC. I spoke to Fleetwood and the dealer about it, and it's "normal" they say. We've never had a problem with running the battery charger and the refrigerator over the winter with this configuration.
__________________
Joe and Debbie, Emma the Aussie Cattle Dog who adopted us
2012 Discovery 36J, Blue Ox and Air Force One, 2010 GMC Acadia Toad
USAF (Ret) WDØM https://wd0m.com
pagosajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 02:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra1 View Post
Sounds like your adapter may be the problem. I believe what you need is called a "dogbone" adapter. It adapts 30 amp to 50 amp and gives 120v on both legs. You can then adapt the 30 amp to your 20 amp. I do it all of the time at home. I ca even run one A/C unit with no problems. Make sure your extension cord is a good one or it will get hot.
Hey cobra, I need to disagree with you. The adaptor does not combine the 110v to both 110v legs of the 50 amp curcuit. That is the job of the switcher. Mine uses an intellitec unit to "split" the single leg of 110v to all curcuits in the MH. On my surge protector panel it shows 110 leg 1 and 0 leg 2 when plugged into 15,20,30 amp service.
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 02:03 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Doug, will you be parking your MH in the driveway enough to warrent a 50 amp panel installed in or on your garage? I played with the 15amp adapter untell I burnt one trying to charge batterys then installed the 50 amp box. Now I can run a/c, ref, micro and all other loads
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 05:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 278
Make sure your hot water heater is off, or switched to propane.
Common problem when we first got our coach.
I stayed plugged into a 15a circuit when ever it was parked in the driveway.

Jim
Lobstah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 08:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by stink View Post
Doug, will you be parking your MH in the driveway enough to warrent a 50 amp panel installed in or on your garage? I played with the 15amp adapter untell I burnt one trying to charge batterys then installed the 50 amp box. Now I can run a/c, ref, micro and all other loads
The best way by far is a 50 amp circuit. I may have to invest someday.
__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 09:15 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
All okay now.

Thanks to all the good comments and all true. If the dealer had not turned off the inverter switch after a small warranty repair and then not turn it back on (the big red one I did not check) it would have been okay. All good now. Putting in 50 amp RV service at my house Friday and just finished first trip with the rig and all was perfect.
dlirious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charging



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimensions 2000 Watt inverter, no battery charging, need help ASAP! FIRE UP Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 29 02-23-2014 11:36 PM
Coach Batteries Not Charging 04suncruiser Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 27 01-28-2014 05:38 PM
Charging rate malk415 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 12-16-2013 07:24 PM
RV of the Year Awarded to Thor Motor Coach Class A RUV Motorhomes DriVer RV Industry Press 0 12-12-2013 12:00 PM
New Luxury Diesel Motorhomes from THOR Motor Coach Impress DriVer RV Industry Press 1 11-27-2013 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.