Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Fleetwood Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-27-2017, 06:14 PM   #1

Why so much antifreeze

I winterized the ice maker and hot water heater earlier this week. I turned the bypass on on the water heater.

Today I decided to finish the winterizing by first blowing out the lines and then filling with the pink stuff. I know, I could have stopped with just the blow out but decided to do the pink stuff too.

This is my first time winterizing my RV, or any RV.

I started with 5 gallons and quickly ran out. Back to the store for 2 more gallons and those got sucked down pretty fast. I did hold out half of the 7th gallon to pour into the drains and the washer/dryer. I was able to run all the faucets, toilet, and shower but did not have enough to finish the washer. (Ended up using the compressor to blow out the lines to the washer). Why was this taking so much antifreeze? All the low point drains were closed, nothing on the ground or on the floor in the MH. I only flushed a small bowl of pink stuff down the toilet. Since the lines were blown out, would this be the reason?

I was using a large bucket to put the pink stuff in and using the hose in the bay with the water filter to pull it into the MH by way of the water pump. I did not pour the antifreeze into the fresh water tank. I'm missing a lot of antifreeze!!!
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!